A.S. Watson Group Reviews | Glassdoor

A.S. Watson Group Reviews

Updated Jul 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 80 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Dominic K. M. Lai
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great team spirit in Zurich and regular team building activities(in 5 reviews)

  • "Stable long-term opportunity, safe working environment(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "Demanding workload, fast-paced environment, wages slightly below industry average(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Getzville, NY

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly employee and comfortable environment

    Cons

    Lower average market wage than others

    A.S. Watson Group2016-08-14

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    August 25, 2017

    Thank you for leaving us a review. At A.S. Watson we actually don’t hold any of our operations in America henceforth it’s extremely difficult for us to ensure your feedback gets to the right place. We’re very sorry we couldn’t be of much help this time.

  2. "Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time

    Pros

    Fellow Designers were a great team to work alongside.

    Cons

    Unappreciative managers. Seniors look down on other staff. Long hours. Always backlogs. Not paid enough for the work we do.

    A.S. Watson Group2017-08-24

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    August 29, 2017

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear about your experience. Your feedback will be forwarded in the right direction. We would like to wish you all the best in your future endeavours.

  3. "Good, friendly work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - E-commerce Administrator in London, England

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly teams with team members willing to help, lots of exciting projects to get involved in. Many group events like summer bbq

    Cons

    Not much opportunity for development

    A.S. Watson Group2019-07-08
  4. "Business analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time

    Pros

    Good company environment little politics

    Cons

    May need to OT occasionally

    A.S. Watson Group2019-06-24
  5. "customer executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Executive in Changi Village, East

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good job progression great learning eviroment

    Cons

    long working time and insufficient manpower

    A.S. Watson Group2019-06-24
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Assistant Manager in Hong Kong
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Perfect Company to work on with brilliant smart Human Resources Staff Sales Skills. You will able to learn how to understand what is the definition of the best company in Hong Kong and love to stay in it 7 x 24. Management level is very good at polish Malina idea and have strong skill set on promoting people who can overcome their esteem to complete mission. Overall it is perfect.

    Cons

    Not much to complain. But if the air condition and elevator can be improved will make it perfect.

    A.S. Watson Group2019-06-04
  7. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Officer in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    One of the biggest retail in HK

    Cons

    Not ever BU is a decent place to work

    A.S. Watson Group2019-04-30
  8. "Not an option for ambitious employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Buying 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working environment is fine. Big company. Benefits are fine. Trainings are provided. Good for people looking for a steady job.

    Cons

    Common issues in large company. Low transperancy , unfairness, unwise policies. Too much politics when you are here longer. Lower grades become the victims of the politics and unwise policies. Definitely not for ambitious people. Your hard work will not be recognised. I give 2 star since there were quite a lot of unwise opinions.

    A.S. Watson Group2019-05-06
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great Platform to learn and develop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sha Tin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Colleagues are knowledgeable Very well governed with internal policies

    Cons

    Changes are rather hard to push, given the size of the organisation Too many meetings Too many policies to follow

    A.S. Watson Group2019-02-13
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Average and boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good workforce diversity at work place. I can't believe I am saying anything good about HR but actually local HR team are not bad. They are tightly controlled by HK head office but they are trying their best. Good location in Battersea, right next to the park. HR makes good effort to educate western employees on Chinese culture.

    Cons

    At local senior level company tends to hire on paper credentials but those people turn out pretty average. So you get bunch of fat cats not doing much. Managers hire to increase span of control and not because they actually need a resource. As a result, most of the time I had nothing to do. In the end I got bored of being bored, so I left. Cheapness and low cost culture is all around you: pay below industry standard,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Monitor what senior management does all day. You may be surprised with what you find.

    A.S. Watson Group2019-01-23
Found 80 reviews