A.S. Watson Group Reviews | Glassdoor

A.S. Watson Group Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 84 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
A.S. Watson Group CEO Dominic K. M. Lai (no image)
Dominic K. M. Lai
29 Ratings
  1. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Officer in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    One of the biggest retail in HK

    Cons

    Not ever BU is a decent place to work

    A.S. Watson Group2019-04-30
  2. "Not an option for ambitious employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Buying 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working environment is fine. Big company. Benefits are fine. Trainings are provided. Good for people looking for a steady job.

    Cons

    Common issues in large company. Low transperancy , unfairness, unwise policies. Too much politics when you are here longer. Lower grades become the victims of the politics and unwise policies. Definitely not for ambitious people. Your hard work will not be recognised. I give 2 star since there were quite a lot of unwise opinions.

    A.S. Watson Group2019-05-06
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great Platform to learn and develop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sha Tin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Colleagues are knowledgeable Very well governed with internal policies

    Cons

    Changes are rather hard to push, given the size of the organisation Too many meetings Too many policies to follow

    A.S. Watson Group2019-02-13
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Average and boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good workforce diversity at work place. I can't believe I am saying anything good about HR but actually local HR team are not bad. They are tightly controlled by HK head office but they are trying their best. Good location in Battersea, right next to the park. HR makes good effort to educate western employees on Chinese culture.

    Cons

    At local senior level company tends to hire on paper credentials but those people turn out pretty average. So you get bunch of fat cats not doing much. Managers hire to increase span of control and not because they actually need a resource. As a result, most of the time I had nothing to do. In the end I got bored of being bored, so I left. Cheapness and low cost culture is all around you: pay below industry... standard, no canteen, no place to have lunch, tight desk space, overcrowded office, cheap Christmas parties and list goes on.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Monitor what senior management does all day. You may be surprised with what you find.

    A.S. Watson Group2019-01-23
  5. "System Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time

    Pros

    Good package and friendly teammate. Have a chance to explore trendy technology.

    Cons

    Not enough human resource to implement projects

    Advice to Management

    Increase human resource to support many creative initiatives.

    A.S. Watson Group2018-12-26

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    December 30, 2018Comms Manager

    Hello and thank you for your feedback – we really appreciate it and are working very hard to ensure we have enough resources across our organisation, so everyone can reach their true potential and do their job to the best of their ability. Again, thank you for your candid comments ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good team spirit and plenty of development opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sha Tin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Depends on which department you work in. People are genuine and team spirit is great. As long as you have the will, there are other opportunities for you to develop your career and grow. The company also offer lots of fun staff activities.

    Cons

    Really fast-paced. You are expected to be proactive and be really hands on as soon as you start. So it may not suit everyone especially those with lesser experience and prefer to have more direction

    A.S. Watson Group2018-10-23

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    November 5, 2018Comms Manager

    Hi there and thank you so much for your review. We’re extremely happy to see you’re enjoying your time with us and glad to hear your comments about our strong team spirit – it means the world to us! We’re also grateful to hear the constructive part of your feedback too, and will work ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (6)

    "HK IT is a mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Engineer in Hong Kong
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible internal procedure (Cons too) Global project reach Good fit if you are aggressive type, but not progressive type

    Cons

    Long working hour ( you are sold to this company) No respect from management ( slave type) Chaos internal procedure . Crazy project timeline and workload. Blame culture. Finger pointing style

    Advice to Management

    Respect your employee Be realistic in project timeline Take engineer advice seriously and not from PM

    A.S. Watson Group2018-09-08

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    October 12, 2018Comms Manager

    Thank you for your comments. We appreciate if you could share more information about your experience with us. Kindly get in touch with our Group HR team on iSuggest@aswatson.com who will ensure your case is properly looked after. We are looking forward to hearing from you.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "e-commerce administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time

    Pros

    Great company culture, great benefits, opportunities to learn

    Cons

    Facilities could be slightly better

    A.S. Watson Group2018-08-24

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    August 30, 2018Comms Manager

    Thanks a lot for your review! We're very happy you're enjoying your time with us. Your feedback means a lot, and we're delighted to hear you're rating our culture, benefits and development opportunities so highly! We're also very keen to hear the constructive part of all the reviews ...

    Show More
  9. "It's a brilliant company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Summer Intern in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management wants you to succeed.

    Cons

    No cons. Continue doing what you are doing.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    A.S. Watson Group2018-08-09

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    August 17, 2018

    Hi there and thanks a lot for your feedback! We’re very happy you rate your experience with us so highly, and would like to wish you all the best for the future.

  10. "Great company - a career full of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time

    Pros

    - Great people - Variety of development opportunities - Fast pace environment - A company with innovation at heart - There's always a number of new and exciting projects you can get involved in

    Cons

    Can't think of any so far :)

    A.S. Watson Group2018-07-31

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    August 2, 2018

    Hi there and thanks for your review. We're extremely happy you're enjoying your journey with us! We're very proud of our innovative nature and are always glad to hear our people appreciate it it too.

Found 84 reviews