A. Schulman Reviews | Glassdoor

A. Schulman Reviews

Updated Jul 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 69 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Joe Gingo
26 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay start of with at beginning(in 3 reviews)

  • "Decent pay Free Water Different Safety Items to try for your liking(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "In the last year, the lack of financial performance has shifted management to have a short-term focus(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Enjoyed coworkers and management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrician Helper in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at A. Schulman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome and caring management, steady work, competitive wages, crew leaders will help teach you trade if you are willing to learn.

    Cons

    You work outside so extreme weather

    Advice to Management

    Keep open,door policiy its important to be able to feel comfortable coming to your boss with any issues.

    A. Schulman2019-07-09
  2. "Awesome Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fairlawn, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at A. Schulman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment and flex hours

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    A. Schulman2019-05-23
  3. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at A. Schulman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Prior to acquisition of LYB employees were appreciated for their hard work and dedication

    Cons

    After acquisition and reorganization with younger management, A. Schulman-LyondellBasell promote employees who can talk and play the political game instead of the employees who can actually perform.

    A. Schulman2019-04-10
  4. "The lady that interviewed me was the rudest most non professional scumbag i ever met... they pay good and good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at A. Schulman

    Pros

    People money benefits schedule environenr

    Cons

    Thw office lady is rude and ill mannered

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of your he lady she costing u lots of goodworkers i have 8 yrs experience as operator and she thw reason i dont work there

    A. Schulman2019-03-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Job satisfaction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fairlawn, OH
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A. Schulman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Cross-functional, a lot of interaction with internal stakeholders. Room to be endorsed based on principle of empowerment. Human approach.

    Cons

    Nothing special to mention here.

    A. Schulman2019-01-19
  6. "could have been worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Press Operator in Conneaut, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at A. Schulman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    paid well vacation time health insurance 401k all that jazz

    Cons

    point system is pretty tight was told by another employee 'hope you get the good cancer' health risks working with those materials

    Advice to Management

    cut your people some slack and talk to them instead of sitting in your nice cool office all day

    A. Schulman2019-02-11
  7. "Production Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at A. Schulman full-time

    Pros

    Human Resource Department IS Very Professional And Willing To Help/Listen Employees.

    Cons

    Work Schedule was never consistent.

    A. Schulman2018-12-30
  8. "You are disposable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at A. Schulman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great peers to work with.

    Cons

    Don't believe them if they say you will be based in Akron. They were acquired by LyondellBasell, a Houston chemical company. You will be moved to Houston or separated from the company in Q3 2019. I started very recently and shortly after I started they told me I would be moved to Houston if I wanted to stay. This was directly after they told me in my interview that I would be based in Akron. Stay far away unless you are...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None.

    A. Schulman2018-12-20
  9. "Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at A. Schulman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay start of with at beginning.

    Cons

    Terrible middle management through the company.

    Advice to Management

    None at this time

    A. Schulman2018-11-12
  10. "Audit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A. Schulman for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are good. Sr. Mgmt do recognize talents.

    Cons

    ERP is a bit of a pain.

    A. Schulman2018-11-09
Found 69 reviews