A/Z Reviews | Glassdoor

A/Z Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
A/Z CEO Perry Lorenz
Perry Lorenz
15 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Lots of process and procedure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Project Manager in Westborough, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at A/Z full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of process and procedure. “there is a department for that” - CT office is a well oiled machine, the preferred office to work out of for sure. - Some of the best talent in the industry reside here. - They utilize Procore!! - High on the compensation scale for the new England area. - Repeat clients who love to work with A/Z. - The best office "Bling" I have ever encountered in the industry. Perry... knows how to take care of his employees. - Thorough and extensive on-boarding process where you get to meet all the great talented people who work here.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Westborough is literally a satellite office being almost vacant where most if not everyone is in the field. - it's a 10 Hr day, and THEY'RE NOT KIDDING. No work/life balance here, but if you’re reading this you probably are already use to that :) - There is a process for everything you do so management and field are constantly being held up on executing basic procedures. - CT looks at Westborough as a... problem child. The communication gap is a real issue. - They utilize Procore, but fail to utilize the financial capabilities of the tool due to the tremendous amount of Sage 300 customizations they’ve required prior to Procure being rolled out. Lots of double entry and laborious unwarranted steps to complete basic tasks. - Lots of turnover in the lower tier positions (PE’s, APM’s and entry PM’s). A/Z does things a bit differently than any other GC you typically will encounter. - Almost all of the Westborough office is newly hired. Yikes! - Once on boarding is complete you’re basically a loaner left to sink or swim for 10 hrs a day.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You’re replaceable! Go home at a reasonable hour

    A/Z2018-11-08
  2. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in North Stonington, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at A/Z full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a nice office environment

    Cons

    There are some long hours

    A/Z2019-07-17
  3. "Excellent company with great benefits that needs to work on a few things"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at A/Z full-time

    Pros

    -A/Z is beloved in the construction community and often receives excellent reviews from clients, vendors, etc. -I was treated very well by managers and other staff/employees from the beginning, up until I was let go. There isn't an unkind person in that company. -Amazing benefits, including a well-equipped fitness center, paid time off and vacation hours, and insurance plans (which are optional).... -Beautifully-furnished offices and office building with a welcoming atmosphere. -Social events and fundraisers are commonplace. -Intelligent, passionate, hard-working people who are committed to the values of the company.

    Show More

    Cons

    -Not all employees recycle, and with all the paper and such that is utilized, this would be in its best interest. This conflicts with the company's adherence to environmentalism and sustainability for construction projects. -The pay was not great for the level of experience I possessed, and for the work that I was doing (although the benefits were excellent). -I was laid off with no warning whatsoever, in the... middle of the week, shortly before a social gathering was to occur. The reasoning behind the lay-off was confusing and completely a surprise. It was in regards to performance; I had been previously told that there would be a six-month performance check-up, which never occurred. -Communication within a particular department and among various departments needs to improve in order for all parties to be successful. -There was no room for growth in my position, and no mention of such. -I was sometimes busy, but often it felt as though there wasn't nearly enough for me to do.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Check-in with new hires on occasion, and not just to ask them how everything is going. Give each person feedback and criticism on a regular basis, not just in emails and while working on specific tasks. Some people, like myself, can work independently but also need to be know if their work performance is where it needs to be in order to succeed.

    A/Z2018-09-13
  4. "asst director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at A/Z part-time

    Pros

    work life balance great benefits

    Cons

    too much work hate the job

    A/Z2018-08-21
  5. "director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Basking Ridge, NJ

    I worked at A/Z full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    nice working environment and nice colleagues

    Cons

    pay is not good. The opportunity for growth is limited

    Advice to Management

    change the plan; start new management

    A/Z2018-05-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Very professional work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pipefitter Apprentice in North Stonington, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A/Z full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Clean, safe, organized, well staffed

    Cons

    Per Diem on rare occasions

    Advice to Management

    We want hoodies with pockets

    A/Z2017-11-20
  7. Helpful (2)

    "good interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in India, TX

    I worked at A/Z for more than a year

    Pros

    work environment is good here

    Cons

    nothing much about the company

    A/Z2017-11-06
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Mechanic in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at A/Z full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Loved working for AZ. Good work. Great Benefits. Great CEO/Owner

    Cons

    Can't think of any. Really enjoyed my job there.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    A/Z2017-11-03
  9. Helpful (4)

    "An Employer That Cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Project Manager in Uncasville, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A/Z full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It is always clear and evident that you as an employee are valued and a part of the companies' success. Senior management is very involved with advancing young careers and providing certain opportunities that you can not find in other employers. I go to work every day feeling appreciated. I know that my hard work is always recognized and will be rewarded. A/Z cares about you as an individual, not just... another employee.

    Show More

    Cons

    There really are minimal if any A/Z specific negative attributes.

    Advice to Management

    Continue open communication with employees. I feel knowing how one's performance is being seen, either positively or negatively, is critical in maintaining workplace drive and happiness.

    A/Z2017-07-31
  10. Helpful (2)

    "A/Z Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A/Z full-time

    Pros

    Great people, great environment, great projects!

    Cons

    I have not found any yet.

    A/Z2017-07-24
Found 29 reviews
</>Embed