A&W Restaurants Reviews | Glassdoor

A&W Restaurants Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 230 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Emil J. Brolick
51 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Working downtown means a lot of people and working for minimum wage(in 12 reviews)

  • "Not many hours available, low pay(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "The best in the us by far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Floor Scrubber in Redlands, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at A&W Restaurants part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    the culture is that of the best

    Cons

    no cons man none at all all love

    A&W Restaurants2018-11-06
  2. "Wonderful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at A&W Restaurants

    Pros

    Flexible hours, and fun environment

    Cons

    Not many hours available, low pay

    Advice to Management

    Great management

    A&W Restaurants2019-04-26
  3. "Awesome management!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at A&W Restaurants part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can be fast paced and enjoyable!

    Cons

    Lots of down time space rate of pay was extremely low.

    A&W Restaurants2019-04-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Yum"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at A&W Restaurants part-time

    Pros

    Free food during your break

    Cons

    Could not think of any

    A&W Restaurants2018-10-07
  5. "Kitchen Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lexington, KY

    I worked at A&W Restaurants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All kitchen activities and cleanliness

    Cons

    Operating Long hours plus connectivity

    A&W Restaurants2018-09-18
  6. "An Absolute Mistake For Anyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at A&W Restaurants part-time

    Pros

    The only reason to work here is for discounted food. Or if you're a masochist.

    Cons

    WHOOO BOI I could probably write a novel Tiny location=constantly tripping over coworkers SKETCHY as all heck. Abused a loophole saying that training for a MINIMUM WAGE FAST FOOD PLACE took THREE MONTHS. Also the location was SEASONAL. Using the loophole, they could legally pay $4.25 per hour. That's before taxes btw. Also my location was extremely conservative... so if you wanted to enjoy your childhood and have...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be actual role models. Don't throw an emotional tantrum because apparently Employee A sent out a wrong order even though you had them in the ware house off grounds. Treat your employee as actual humans and at least give a standard minimum wage.

    A&W Restaurants2018-05-20
  7. "Good Place for High School Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at A&W Restaurants

    Pros

    Flexible Scheduling - decent pay

    Cons

    You smell like food going home.

    A&W Restaurants2018-03-12
  8. "Good Pay!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at A&W Restaurants full-time

    Pros

    - Hourly Wages - Food Discount

    Cons

    The only con is that there are not many healthy items on the menu to use for your discount. Great place to work though!

    A&W Restaurants2018-01-21
  9. "Has its dings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Team Member in Barron, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at A&W Restaurants part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities to get raises, friendly people

    Cons

    The manager does nothing when a situation arises. Too many young hires who don't do their job. Scheduling is not flexible, and I sometimes get scheduled full-time hours when I'm marked as a part-time high school employee. Overall because of poor management

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, and try to make it a good environment.

    A&W Restaurants2018-01-07
  10. "Crew leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at A&W Restaurants full-time

    Pros

    Great environment great ppl job not hard boss amazing and fun all around great place to work

    Cons

    To many young kids to many bad rehires no communication between crew leaders and cheap pay

    Advice to Management

    Loose the kids raise the pay for the trouble crew leaders deal with and stop rehiring the ones that obviously don't wanna be there

    A&W Restaurants2017-12-01
Found 230 reviews