A1 Solar Power Reviews | Glassdoor

A1 Solar Power Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 52 reviews

2.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
27%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
David Malka
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company is fast growing start up mode , in the solar industry(in 5 reviews)

  • "All that A1 Solar requires of it's employees is that our work is completed in a timely manner(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "No benefits for employees but thanks for adding PTO(in 10 reviews)

  • "They spend too much money flying upper management around from branch to branch when there is very little benefit that comes from the visit(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales Rep-Project manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at A1 Solar Power

    Pros

    Good people work there. The focus is on doing what's right for the Customers

    Cons

    Communications are not efficient, there are too many variables in how info is shared

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to web presence and follow up with happy customers to gain positive web audience

    A1 Solar Power2016-03-24
  2. "Site Inspector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at A1 Solar Power full-time

      Pros

      the company has good management

      Cons

      the company has poor pay for certain positions

      A1 Solar Power2018-08-03
    • "A1 Solar Power"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at A1 Solar Power full-time

      Pros

      Great environment. Friendly managers lots of young people

      Cons

      Music was too loud. Lots of felons and former addicts

      Advice to Management

      Turn down music

      A1 Solar Power2017-11-26
    • "Sales representative selling solar systems"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Representative in San Jose, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at A1 Solar Power full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      i was busy selling solar systems

      Cons

      There commission compensation was not what they said it would be.

      A1 Solar Power2017-02-15
    • "Keep it Real"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Sales Representative in Van Nuys, CA

      I have been working at A1 Solar Power

      Pros

      Management is Smart Industry is Interesting Work is varied and diversified No bureaucracy

      Cons

      No Benefits (since its 1099)Management is also immature No benefits Financial status murky Old Employees need to be rewarded vs new consultants

      Advice to Management

      Allow more input from managers; youd be suprised

      A1 Solar Power2016-09-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "Representative"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at A1 Solar Power full-time

        Pros

        nothing good. i wish i could give 0 star

        Cons

        stay away, scam people. complete mismanagement

        A1 Solar Power2016-10-14
      • Helpful (1)

        "Disorganized, predatory, and morally challenged"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Northridge, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at A1 Solar Power full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Dedicated team of employees (excluding upper management and sales).

        Cons

        Everything else. Childish management, greedy & scam-like sales practices, and the company's financial status was murky.

        Advice to Management

        Get your principles, morals and business ethics straight. Treat your employees and long-term assets and not short-term liabilities.

        A1 Solar Power2016-06-25
      • Helpful (1)

        "Stay away"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales Representative/They Call This Project Manager in San Jose, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at A1 Solar Power full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        They will hire anyone, con men and convicts step to the front of the line!

        Cons

        Yes lots of convicts are here! This company does not license salesman!

        Advice to Management

        Get some morals. Sell like you would to a family member, the people you trick and steal from have families....

        A1 Solar Power2016-02-12
      • "A1 Solar ROCKS!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Accounting Department in Van Nuys, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at A1 Solar Power

        Pros

        I have been working in the Accounting department for almost a year and I LOVE it! I work under a wonderful Controller. Not only is she a great and strict boss but she is also a wonderful friend. We work under a new CFO who is leading the company in the right direction. I truly enjoy my time here. We are not micro-managed; we have flexibility with work schedules and lunches. All that A1 Solar requires of it's employees...

        Show More

        Cons

        I'll re-post when I have something to complain about. :)

        Advice to Management

        I content with the way things are changing. Let's keep moving in the right direction and make A1 Solar Power the #1 solar company!

        A1 Solar Power2015-09-19
      • Helpful (4)

        "A Large Boat at Drifts in Deep Ocean"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Manager in Van Nuys, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at A1 Solar Power full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Most of the employees are good and hard workers.

        Cons

        Owners/ Executives are not good people. They have a total disregard for the employees and the opinions of the management. The sales operations is border line legal (predatory style) They loose 60% of all sales in the first three days. Then the owners/executives blame the employees

        Advice to Management

        Hard to say since they don't care about any recommendation that will interfere with the style they choose. But, I will say get help, bring someone to help you and let him or her help you

        A1 Solar Power2015-10-21
      Found 52 reviews