AAR Reviews in Indianapolis, IN | Glassdoor

AAR Indianapolis Reviews

Updated October 2, 2017
25 reviews

Filter

Filter

Indianapolis, IN

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
AAR Chairman and CEO David P. Storch
David P. Storch
10 Ratings

25 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Great place to work if you like a quick pace company with many challenges (in 11 reviews)

  • Amazing work environment and energy (in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • ve heard remarks from upper management that are borderline harassment and unappropriated for a workplace (in 17 reviews)

  • low pay compared to major airlines (in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Cool Facility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AAR full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    State-of-the-art maintenance facility. Good group of people to work with.

    Cons

    Need more mechanics in the workforce.

    AAR Response

    Oct 3, 2017 – Director of TA Strategy

    Greetings & thank-you for your review. So happy that you enjoy your Indy crew! Will continue to hustle as hard as I/we can to add to the skilled workforce, there at your station, as well as across... More


  2. "If you have too"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AAR full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    You're not homeless any more

    Cons

    far too many cons to list

    Advice to Management

    freedom isn't free

    AAR Response

    Sep 13, 2017 – Director of TA Strategy

    Hello, & thanks for post. Not sure how to respond, yet want to try & help, so give me a call at 630-227-2074 when convenient on your end, & we can visit. On this end, have utilized your... More

  3. "Needs more direction."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Aircraft Mechanic in Indianapolis, IN
    Current Contractor - Aircraft Mechanic in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AAR as a contractor (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Easy to get into if you're prior military and have some aircraft experience. Haven't been overworked (yet).

    Cons

    Could use more/better training (especially for those of us who are still new to aviation). Very little communication with higher ups. Unpredictable work schedule. Chance of being told to go home due to lack of work (possibly for over a month straight). Meeting deadlines seems to be, by far, the most important thing around here.

    Advice to Management

    If you want us to be more productive, please put more effort into making sure we know what we're doing. Also, why hire us if you're just going to turn around and send us home so often?


  4. Helpful (3)

    "A&P Mechanic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - A&P Mechanic in Indianapolis, IN
    Former Employee - A&P Mechanic in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AAR full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    They have a paycheck you can cash for goods and services.

    Cons

    Management, unhealthy environment and noise levels, carcinogens in the air, an us versus them mentality.

    Advice to Management

    Get out of your glass palace and do a day on the floor working on the aircraft. Fire the Assistant GM.

    AAR Response

    Aug 18, 2017 – Director of TA Strategy

    Wanted to reach out, as phone is (630) 227-2074 here at HQ.

    V/R,

    G-Man


  5. Helpful (4)

    "Good place for building experience on a resume....other than that, get out ASAP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - A&P Technician in Indianapolis, IN
    Current Employee - A&P Technician in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AAR full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Time off
    Insurance is okay.
    The requirement is 20 words, and I really have no other pros to say so I'm filling up space.

    Cons

    Pay
    Schedule
    Lack of leadership
    Morale
    Micromanagment
    Lack of experienced mechanics to learn from
    Time constraints and budget force leadership to rely on the few experienced individuals to carry the load while the inexperienced fall further behind and learn nothing.

    Advice to Management

    There's really nothing to say, because as they have proven time and time again, they listen to no one. Nothing changes. It has steadily gone downhill for the past 4 years and has made no strides in progress from an employee stand point. In about 10 years ALL their best employees will be gone to better and higher paying companies that are willing to compete and only then will AAR (maybe) change their business structure to retain their valued employees. By then it will be too late.

    AAR Response

    Aug 18, 2017 – Director of TA Strategy

    Thank-you for review, as been with the Company 7 years now, so call (630) 227-2074 to discuss if you want.

    Let's keep 'em Flying everybody,

    G-Man


  6. Helpful (2)

    "LOL this place is a cluster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AAR full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    4 10's, lots Vets, pushes you do better yourself so you can leave for a better job.

    Cons

    place is full of miserable people. When I was ARMY aviation I wanted to do it forever. AAR made me get my masters so that I NEVER have to deal with an organization like it again.

    Advice to Management

    get a clue.

    AAR Response

    Aug 18, 2017 – Director of TA Strategy

    Not sure how to reply, yet always open to trying to do my best. One item is the Veteran platform, as have worked hard on that.

    V/R,

    G-Man


  7. Helpful (6)

    "Good ol boys club"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sheet Metal Mechanic in Indianapolis, IN
    Former Employee - Sheet Metal Mechanic in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AAR full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    You will get hours if you're direct.

    Cons

    You will be treated like shot if you are not in the cool kids club

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the buddy promotion system.

    AAR Response

    Aug 18, 2017 – Director of TA Strategy

    Got it, & THX.

    Blue skies.

    G-Man

  8. "Indianapolis"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Mechanic in Indianapolis, IN
    Former Employee - Lead Mechanic in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AAR full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great climate controlled facility, great co-workers, some room for advancement, Indianapolis is a pretty nice city, has a Symphony Orchestra, great Museum Of Art, excellent triple A baseball team, pro football, pro basketball, and of course, great racing.

    Cons

    Long walk from the parking lot to the work dock, tooling is not too good, upper management has forgotten what it's like to be a worker on the floor (if they were ever there)

    Advice to Management

    Listen to Lead Mechanics and Supervisors more. They are the ones who know what is going on down where the rubber meets the road. Some of the Project Managers know what it is like on the floor but most do not.

    AAR Response

    Aug 20, 2017 – Director of TA Strategy

    Thank-you for your post/review. Agree on walk to hangar, especially in January! One item that always like to drive is education tie-ups with VU, Ivy Tech, & AIM. On this end, encouraging more to... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Avionics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AAR full-time

    Pros

    Periods of heavy overtime, great coworkers

    Cons

    Minimal Pay, complete lack of communication at all levels, employees refered to as numbers, training program with no trainers, if you work to get an aircraft out early expect to be at home until the next one on your line shows up.

    Advice to Management

    Hire quality experienced mechanics and pay them equivalent to their experience and create a real training program.


  10. "AAR corp."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aircraft Mechanic in Indianapolis, IN
    Current Employee - Aircraft Mechanic in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AAR (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Climate controlled hangers, many veteren mechanics to learn from, decent 401k contributions and medical (dental and vision) plans, offers tuition assistance (with 2 yr contract)

    Cons

    Extended periods of required overtime with no specified end date, tool department lacking many of the nessecary tools and equipment, lack of management organization on projects


Showing 25 of 243 reviews
Reset Filters