AAR Reviews | Glassdoor

AAR Reviews

Updated September 8, 2017
194 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

194 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Good people and good middle management, it's a mid-sized company that acts like a small company, Senior management is insulated from the actual work (in 10 reviews)

  • Great place to work if you like a quick pace company with many challenges (in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • ve heard remarks from upper management that are borderline harassment and unappropriated for a workplace (in 17 reviews)

  • Management has no respect for their employees (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (2)

    "Past employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cadillac, MI
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cadillac, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AAR full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good place to work. It took a while to move up the ranks, but was meaningful.

    Cons

    Some management personnel was not in it for the company, only for themselves. They would do anything to "self promote".

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course, clean out the deadwood periodically, and persevere.

    AAR Response

    Aug 17, 2017 – Director of TA Strategy

    THX. Very much appreciate.

    V/R,

    G-Man


  2. "Logistics Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AAR full-time

    Pros

    Easy flexibility with my schedule

    Cons

    no opportunity for advancement at location

    AAR Response

    Aug 17, 2017 – Director of TA Strategy

    Appreciate the post.

    Straight ahead everybody,

    G-Man

  3. Helpful (8)

    "I want to love this job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Duluth, MN
    Current Employee - Technician in Duluth, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AAR full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great coworkers, always willing to help out, which is good because there is no on the job training and no direction from leaders -there is a real 'figure it out or be shown the door' mentality from management which is dangerous when putting the lives of airline passengers on the line. Airplanes are complicated and nobody is an expert at all tasks.

    Cons

    One particular manager is single handedly going to shut down the MRO. All of the good technicians and team leads have fled the company within the last 3 weeks due to his mismanagement. Our planes go out weeks late and when they go out they come back the same day with problems, which are usually unethically and illegally jury-rigged.
    Pay is very poor for the field.
    Managers and supervisors seem to be unhinged, emotionally unstable, unpredictable maniacs and are either your best friend or at risk of physically assaulting you at any given time. Verbal abuse is the norm. Forced mandatory overtime and 12 to 14 hour days have burnt out the few people who actually cared about their work. In addition to the Duluth facility losing 20-30 of their best employees of maybe 300 some employees, a handful of career ending injuries and heart attacks have cost even more.
    I wouldn't be caught dead on an Air Canada or United plane... well... I suppose there is a really good chance I'd be dead if I ever flew on one these disasters.

    AAR Response

    Aug 17, 2017 – Director of TA Strategy

    Give me a buzz at 630-227-2074.

    Blue skies all,

    G-Man


  4. Helpful (3)

    "A&P Mechanic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - A&P Mechanic in Indianapolis, IN
    Former Employee - A&P Mechanic in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AAR full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    They have a paycheck you can cash for goods and services.

    Cons

    Management, unhealthy environment and noise levels, carcinogens in the air, an us versus them mentality.

    Advice to Management

    Get out of your glass palace and do a day on the floor working on the aircraft. Fire the Assistant GM.

    AAR Response

    Aug 18, 2017 – Director of TA Strategy

    Wanted to reach out, as phone is (630) 227-2074 here at HQ.

    V/R,

    G-Man


  5. Helpful (4)

    "Good place for building experience on a resume....other than that, get out ASAP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - A&P Technician in Indianapolis, IN
    Current Employee - A&P Technician in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AAR full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Time off
    Insurance is okay.
    The requirement is 20 words, and I really have no other pros to say so I'm filling up space.

    Cons

    Pay
    Schedule
    Lack of leadership
    Morale
    Micromanagment
    Lack of experienced mechanics to learn from
    Time constraints and budget force leadership to rely on the few experienced individuals to carry the load while the inexperienced fall further behind and learn nothing.

    Advice to Management

    There's really nothing to say, because as they have proven time and time again, they listen to no one. Nothing changes. It has steadily gone downhill for the past 4 years and has made no strides in progress from an employee stand point. In about 10 years ALL their best employees will be gone to better and higher paying companies that are willing to compete and only then will AAR (maybe) change their business structure to retain their valued employees. By then it will be too late.

    AAR Response

    Aug 18, 2017 – Director of TA Strategy

    Thank-you for review, as been with the Company 7 years now, so call (630) 227-2074 to discuss if you want.

    Let's keep 'em Flying everybody,

    G-Man


  6. "Great place to grow at any level in your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AAR full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    These are smart and driven people. They value sharing your ideas and give you the tools get your job done.

    Cons

    Not really a "con" but be prepared to work and be challenged.

    AAR Response

    Aug 18, 2017 – Director of TA Strategy

    Thank-you. Love aviation, as requires a stout heart & much optimism.

    Blue skies everybody,

    G-Man


  7. Helpful (2)

    "LOL this place is a cluster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AAR full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    4 10's, lots Vets, pushes you do better yourself so you can leave for a better job.

    Cons

    place is full of miserable people. When I was ARMY aviation I wanted to do it forever. AAR made me get my masters so that I NEVER have to deal with an organization like it again.

    Advice to Management

    get a clue.

    AAR Response

    Aug 18, 2017 – Director of TA Strategy

    Not sure how to reply, yet always open to trying to do my best. One item is the Veteran platform, as have worked hard on that.

    V/R,

    G-Man

  8. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Aircraft Inspector in Wood Dale, IL
    Current Employee - Aircraft Inspector in Wood Dale, IL

    I have been working at AAR full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good people Plenty of overtime

    Cons

    Large percentage of mechanics are contractors. High turnover.

    Advice to Management

    None

    AAR Response

    Aug 18, 2017 – Director of TA Strategy

    Thank-you for review, as will work harder to balance workforce.

    Blue skies,

    G-Man


  9. "Pilot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AAR full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great pay and site rotations

    Cons

    Communication disconnect from home base to all overseas locations

    Advice to Management

    Reconnect with your oconus employees

    AAR Response

    Aug 18, 2017 – Director of TA Strategy

    THX for the update, especially around OCONUS team.

    Safe travels,

    G-Man


  10. "Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Florid, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Florid, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great place to work thank you

    Cons

    None at this time thank you

    AAR Response

    Aug 18, 2017 – Director of TA Strategy

    Appreciate review.

    Straight ahead,

    G-Man


Showing 194 of 213 reviews
Reset Filters