KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

ABC Carpet & Home

Is this your company?

ABC Carpet & Home

Add a Review

ABC Carpet & Home Reviews

Updated Aug 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 77 of over 82 reviews

2.7
27%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
ABC Carpet & Home CEO Aaron Rose (no image)
Aaron Rose
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "union square(in 3 reviews)

  • "It's a nice work place to be in, the people are nice to work with, they'er like a family(in 2 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "High employee turn over except at upper management and executive level(in 11 reviews)

  • "There is no one person in charge you can get answer to your question or to make any decision(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Excellent place to work

      Apr 16, 2021 - Office Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very creative environment to work in. Nice people working there.

      Cons

      Can't think of any cons.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee

      A lot of autonomy, extremely unorganized

      Aug 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you want to get experience fast, and have ownership over your job this is the perfect place, v much functions like a start up, majority of people are nice

      Cons

      No transparency, very disorganized, team is not data driven, opinions rule a lot of decisions, meetings tend to be about visibility rather what’s best for the business…

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee

      1

      Jun 23, 2021 - Email Marketing Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice team members, everyone is helpful and nice

      Cons

      Overworked and long hours. Two person job for one person

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Nice People

      Jun 7, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Hours good location Great Customers

      Cons

      time off is very limited

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Idealism sometimes outweighs business acumen

      May 25, 2021 - Marketing 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great culture overall, very supportive of new ideas generally (perhaps too supportive, see below)

      Cons

      oftentimes it seemed marketing decisions by management were made based on personal opinions or ideals without the specific intent of driving or improving sales targets.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Job experience from working here

      Apr 1, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I loved this job so much

      Cons

      no cons at all it was a great job

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee

      look elsewhere

      Feb 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great vision, nice discount, beautiful store

      Cons

      so many problems- no growth

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Not good but not terrible either

      Sep 17, 2020 - Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lower end staff is really friendly

      Cons

      No room for advancement, it’s a cut throat environment between coworkers

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Embarrassingly Incompetent, Financially Unstable

      Aug 11, 2020 - Buyer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Beautiful and unique assortment, amazing restaurants, and inspirational messaging.

      Cons

      Leadership makes decisions based on personal preference instead of data or facts, which results in poor economics for the company's cash flow and general financial trauma for years on end, even before the covid-19 impact. Processes are created to reduce mistakes, save money, and streamline procedures to improve productivity and efficiency, but no one follows these SOP, and if you try to explain why it's important, they blame you for the company culture of negligence. In general, people who work hard and do a good job helping the company stay financially afloat are regarded as annoying and troublesome, and instead people who are the so called favorites but do a terrible job and have little experience are publicly praised, despite their actions that sometimes even cause harm to the company's bottom line. There is no consistent process for performance reviews, concrete job descriptions, or any goal setting for personal. As a person who received consistently highly rated performance reviews, I was also verbally berated and made to believe I was worthless and as a human being, so it was very unclear if my career path had any viable future.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      TOTAL NIGHTMARE, UNSAFE WORKING CONDITIONS

      Mar 6, 2020 - E-Commerce Merchandiser in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      none, the worst "professional" experience of my life

      Cons

      Where do I begin, JOB SPECIFIC CONCERNS: From my experience- extremely abusive upper management, I was belittled, made fun of, and slandered by my boss. I would be blamed for their mistakes in her day to day - Thankfully I was aware of their actions and would always keep documentation of everything so I could prove that I did not do anything wrong. This is a common trend with all upper management, another common complaint on these reviews. The upper management often time makes mistakes and does not work toward improving operational systems which is unfortunately, in my opinion, why the company has been failing and will continue to fail. I give the company 5 more years of business. I was told by people who worked at the company for over 5 years and was personal witness to HR not doing anything or investigating inappropriate manager behavior toward employees. When I brought up my concerns about a manager- HR did not conduct a further investigation and proceeded to let me go with no explanation or reason. I was let go and the manager who has only been there for 4 years and has been reported numerous times did not get reprimanded for her wrong doing and abusive behavior. When I was let go I did not get paid for my vacation days that I was owed. I had to argue with HR to get my money. They also never mentioned this upon letting me go so I had to read my own contract and claim my money. COMPANY WIDE CONCERNS: ABC markets itself as an almost zen, type company that cares about social issues and health. Personally speaking, in the inner workings of the office, this could not be further from the truth. The health insurance plans is the worst I have ever seen at any company, no summer Fridays, and the worst part is that there has been construction going on for about a year and counting. Not only is the construction distracting but it is unsafe to be exposed to construction dusts and fumes, so they company is openly putting their employees and customers at risk because the HQ is above the store. Lastly, I was told by someone working at the company for over 10 years that current department lead had inappropriate behaviors towards women and had an affair with 2 women at the company, resulting in one of them being fired but of course the lead is still working and terrorizing people at the company til this day.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 77 Reviews

    Popular Careers with ABC Carpet & Home Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at ABC Carpet & Home? Share Your Experiences

    ABC Carpet & Home logo
    or