ABC Fine Wine and Spirits Assistant Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

ABC Fine Wine and Spirits Assistant Manager Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
97%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Charles E. Bailes III
7 Ratings
  1. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ABC Fine Wine and Spirits

    Pros

    You get a closer relationship with the higher ups as you get higher in the company. It's night and day compared to being an associate. You get to see a lot of different sides of the company that you take for granted.

    Cons

    You get dealt bad hand with getting a bad manager :(. If you've been around for a while, you may not be disciplined like you should.

    Advice to Management

    Keep improving :)

    ABC Fine Wine and Spirits2015-05-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Enoyable Working Environment- Opportunities for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ABC Fine Wine and Spirits full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I have to say, this is one of the most stress free positions I have had in all my career. I've learned so much about the retail environment in the 2 years I have been here. The owners are approachable, humble, upstanding individuals who I am grateful to have met on more than one occasion. Having over 100 stores in the state of Florida, I'm sure it is no easy task. The opportunity to learn whatever you choose about the...

    Show More

    Cons

    Everyone always desires to make more money. I believe the company recognizes this. Over time they are working on improving this area.

    Advice to Management

    The company always emphasizes increasing the basket size, which I am a proponent of. I would like to see more consistency amongst the stores in how this is accomplished. Like the waiter who asks "Would you like dessert?" or the fast food, "Would you like fries?" I believe ABC needs to adopt a script other that "Do you have an ABC card?"

    ABC Fine Wine and Spirits2018-11-04

    ABC Fine Wine and Spirits Response

    November 13, 2018CEO

    I agree that we need to greet guests at the counter differently. Hopefully guests are greeted as they enter a store or are approached while they are shopping the floor. At checkout, we suggest you ask "did you find everything you were looking for?" this may cause a guest to remember ...

    Show More
  3. "So far so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Cape Canaveral, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ABC Fine Wine and Spirits for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Easy job and some customers can be really nice. Enjoy learning about wine and the many different types. Lots of employee classes to attend which are fun

    Cons

    Customers can be a bit rude. Have to deal with a lot of nefarious people and bums. Pay isn't very good.

    Advice to Management

    Don't be friends with employees

    ABC Fine Wine and Spirits2017-10-22
  4. "good people, low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ABC Fine Wine and Spirits

    Pros

    good perks, atmosphere, employees, pay to train you

    Cons

    low pay, redundant protocalls. need to work on new bonus system for stores.

    Advice to Management

    streamline ordering and bonus programs

    ABC Fine Wine and Spirits2016-11-30
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Let them eat cake"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ABC Fine Wine and Spirits full-time

    Pros

    Some really nice people as teammates. Occasional classes.

    Cons

    Long hours. Heavy lifting. Low pay. Management is all family. They have private jets. Employees get a few dollars above poverty wages.

    Advice to Management

    Stand for something bigger than low prices. If "celebration" is really the flag you salute, then walk the talk for your employees. Make it fun for your people to work there. Employees will work for low wages if they see your slogan as something more than advertising. It's not mgmt fault that consumers care mainly about prices. Mgmt can't change that. But they can change the culture to be one that makes both employees...

    Show More
    ABC Fine Wine and Spirits2016-01-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Cannot take it anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ABC Fine Wine and Spirits full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good coworkers. Decent, hardworking people. Many have become hard drinkers because as an ABC employee there is no consistency of work schedules, no time for outside life, and no money to pay for basics of American life. Good people trying to do right, who are beaten down by lousy regional management that lies to everyone with a dream.

    Cons

    Regional management keeps promising things will get better. My pay will soon be increasing. More people will be hired. Better people will be hired. I will be fairly compensated. But those of us with degrees do not get pay increases, and even with sales incentives, do not get paid much more than cashiers with GED. Many managers and wind consultants have quit in frustration as work load increases, sales incentives are...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Talk to the peons who faithfully make you your millions. Let us know what is really going on. Tell us where you are vulnerable and make us part of the solution. Profit share and share the burden. Unless the burden is unwise investment and careless, entitled generational excess.

    ABC Fine Wine and Spirits2015-08-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Although grateful for the job, not worthwhile."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ABC Fine Wine and Spirits full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    The best parts of ABC were working with my coworkers, taking selling classes, and working events.

    Cons

    The worst parts were the unpredictable schedule, Shift work, unbearable customers, and low compensation. I understand that truck days are routine in retail, however there were many days that I would arrive to work at 3:30am to find that the truck want coming, was running late, or was loaded incorrectly. They expected everything from their employees, but were not at all understanding when unforseen events would happen.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your employees. The job is much more difficult than it looks. Reward good work. Promote people to management that deserve it, not just based on seniority.

    ABC Fine Wine and Spirits2014-08-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ABC Fine Wine and Spirits full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Great way to get into management as most managers start out as cashiers and work their way up. On the job training in the classroom and as you work from day to day. Regional managers can be a lot of help if you have a good one.

    Cons

    Customers can be challenging, pay and benefits not the best, can be stuck working short handed and working over salary hours to fill in when short handed since the hiring process for new employees is slow. It can be difficult getting your promo #'s if products not in line with your customer base and there is a big push for you to reach these quotas.

    ABC Fine Wine and Spirits2014-08-04
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Under paid, over worked and in the dark"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ABC Fine Wine and Spirits full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    paid time off and Vacation hours, and wine/liquor training

    Cons

    Upper MGMT always gives you the run around. Under paid for the work they expect. Doesn't pay you enough to use your benefits ( Medical/ Dental) Corporate makes sure you know as little as possible

    Advice to Management

    Be more open with employees. pay better.

    ABC Fine Wine and Spirits2014-07-16
Found 9 reviews