ABC Fine Wine and Spirits Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

ABC Fine Wine and Spirits Store Manager Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
97%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Charles E. Bailes III
7 Ratings
  1. "A company that cares!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Store Manager in Boca Raton, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at ABC Fine Wine and Spirits full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Good Benefits Great Senior Management Enjoyable Work environment Culture is really good I've work for ABC for almost 13 yrs and really have enjoyed my time there. The company is growing and continue to go in a positive direction.

      Cons

      None for me at all.

      ABC Fine Wine and Spirits2019-04-29

      ABC Fine Wine and Spirits Response

      April 29, 2019VP, Team Member Services

      Thank you for the kind words! We are doing our best to give our Team Members a fulfilling and rewarding experience. Thank you for your 13 years of service and cheers to the future!

    • Helpful (1)

      "Enoyable Working Environment- Opportunities for growth"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Jacksonville, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at ABC Fine Wine and Spirits full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      I have to say, this is one of the most stress free positions I have had in all my career. I've learned so much about the retail environment in the 2 years I have been here. The owners are approachable, humble, upstanding individuals who I am grateful to have met on more than one occasion. Having over 100 stores in the state of Florida, I'm sure it is no easy task. The opportunity to learn whatever you choose about the...

      Show More

      Cons

      Everyone always desires to make more money. I believe the company recognizes this. Over time they are working on improving this area.

      Advice to Management

      The company always emphasizes increasing the basket size, which I am a proponent of. I would like to see more consistency amongst the stores in how this is accomplished. Like the waiter who asks "Would you like dessert?" or the fast food, "Would you like fries?" I believe ABC needs to adopt a script other that "Do you have an ABC card?"

      ABC Fine Wine and Spirits2018-11-04

      ABC Fine Wine and Spirits Response

      November 13, 2018CEO

      I agree that we need to greet guests at the counter differently. Hopefully guests are greeted as they enter a store or are approached while they are shopping the floor. At checkout, we suggest you ask "did you find everything you were looking for?" this may cause a guest to remember ...

      Show More
    • "So far so good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Cape Canaveral, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at ABC Fine Wine and Spirits for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Easy job and some customers can be really nice. Enjoy learning about wine and the many different types. Lots of employee classes to attend which are fun

      Cons

      Customers can be a bit rude. Have to deal with a lot of nefarious people and bums. Pay isn't very good.

      Advice to Management

      Don't be friends with employees

      ABC Fine Wine and Spirits2017-10-22
    • Helpful (1)

      "You are the jack of all trades without the pay to prove it."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Retail Store Manager in Tampa, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at ABC Fine Wine and Spirits full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Ability to climb the retail rank quickly if you try. Consistent number of hours.

      Cons

      Upper Management. Low wage for the work effort.

      Advice to Management

      Pay employees a higher wage for the high expectations.

      ABC Fine Wine and Spirits2017-03-16
    • "Manager in Training"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Store Manager in Orlando, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at ABC Fine Wine and Spirits full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Very well run business organization.

      Cons

      Very low salary! Also very little upward mobility available. Management roles are few and far between.

      Advice to Management

      Trust your people.

      ABC Fine Wine and Spirits2016-10-13
    • Helpful (2)

      "Don't expect too much"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Store Manager in Tampa, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at ABC Fine Wine and Spirits full-time

      Pros

      Product samples and education, generally fun environment, free stuff.

      Cons

      Poor compensation, little opportunity for advancement, bad work/home balance, very poor direction from out of touch executives, you need to be related to the owners to advance past a certain point.

      Advice to Management

      Have some consistency and integrity. Don't issue contradictory policies. If you peach that your employees are your biggest asset I would recommend investing in them.

      ABC Fine Wine and Spirits2016-03-11
    • Helpful (3)

      "Not for someone who needs work life balance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Store Manager in Jacksonville, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at ABC Fine Wine and Spirits full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      good medical coverage, more earning potential based on your ability to sell, you can move up quickly if you show initiative, a lot of great training on products and job

      Cons

      very long hours, minimal pay, a lot of hard labor, centralized purchasing,

      Advice to Management

      if you want quality managers (employees in general) you'll need to pay them more, especially if they are salary and putting in 60+ hours a week

      ABC Fine Wine and Spirits2016-02-21
    • Helpful (1)

      "Store Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at ABC Fine Wine and Spirits full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Great way to get into management as most managers start out as cashiers and work their way up. On the job training in the classroom and as you work from day to day. Regional managers can be a lot of help if you have a good one.

      Cons

      Customers can be challenging, pay and benefits not the best, can be stuck working short handed and working over salary hours to fill in when short handed since the hiring process for new employees is slow. It can be difficult getting your promo #'s if products not in line with your customer base and there is a big push for you to reach these quotas.

      ABC Fine Wine and Spirits2014-08-04
    • Helpful (2)

      "Under paid, over worked and in the dark"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at ABC Fine Wine and Spirits full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      paid time off and Vacation hours, and wine/liquor training

      Cons

      Upper MGMT always gives you the run around. Under paid for the work they expect. Doesn't pay you enough to use your benefits ( Medical/ Dental) Corporate makes sure you know as little as possible

      Advice to Management

      Be more open with employees. pay better.

      ABC Fine Wine and Spirits2014-07-16
    • "Promotes from within. Upper management very involved."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Store Manager in Tampa, FL
      Recommends

      I worked at ABC Fine Wine and Spirits

      Pros

      Decent pay. Somewhat accomodating with hours. Good Benefits. Regional manager did a good job getting everyone up to speed. Very pleasant experience.

      Cons

      You really have to "toot your own horn " to ensure any recognition from headquarters. Some of the executives are out of touch. Most store managers are white males. Not much diversity.

      Advice to Management

      Promote diversity. Try and be even more proactive when it comes to new products and sales trends. More training specialized training for hourly staff.

      ABC Fine Wine and Spirits2011-03-10
    Found 10 reviews