KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

ABC Fine Wine and Spirits

Is this your company?

ABC Fine Wine and Spirits

Add a Review

ABC Fine Wine and Spirits Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Apr 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 of over 253 reviews

3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
ABC Fine Wine and Spirits Chairman and CEO Charles E. Bailes III (no image)
Charles E. Bailes III
132 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of ABC Fine Wine and Spirits and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Employee BEWARE!! they use you then screw you

    Jul 3, 2022 - Assistant Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy to get hired. Get paid weekly.

    Cons

    No break room or break time. Eat at register. Upper Management complain why things aren't done running skeleton crew(minimal employees). Commission structure non-existent (not like it was in the past) When inventory is short(trust me, it will be), you will be accused of drug use and get tested because if you smoke weed you're criminal and steal. No power to stop shoplifting. Not allowed to confront the shoplifting but you will be blamed for it; either way you get written up. The company lies about wanting you to succeed, but sets you up to fail.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Horrible Pay

    Feb 15, 2019 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Paid Vacations was about it

    Cons

    The salary is a joke for management. Even mom and pop liquor stores pay better than what they do here. Going from MIT to Manager only gets you a raise of under a dollar an hour. Almost impossible to earn raises through merit. Managers leave because every process you go through is flawed and the pay is trash, store managers are clueless and promoted off bias instead of hard work. ABCFWS will respond saying that's not true, but if every review here says it, it must hold some weight, don't you think? Also on this specific site, MIT's are listed to having an average pay of 40k, meanwhile you really pay managers around 25k, and I see small shops pay their managers 35k minimum, which makes this the worst liquor store to work at as a manager salary wise. Salary is flat out unreasonably low for that job title and for being an almost half a billion dollar company paying nearly $20,000 lower than the national average for an MIT position anywhere. Upper management only pays attention to people they like and credits them for the work of other people just to give excuses to praise and promote them instead of the people actually busting their rear ends every day.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    ABC Fine Wine and Spirits Response

    VP, Team Member Services

    We are the first to admit we aren’t a perfect company. We have this as a goal, but are humble enough to know we aren’t there. We are an open book company, meaning, if you want to discuss why our pay levels are what they are, ask! Why people feel the need to criticize on social media sites is confusing; we are happy to discuss anything with our team members. To address some of your comments... We will soon implement a new performance management program that will give much larger annual increases to top performers. Additionally, we are soon launching new training that will included salary increases upon successful completions. Our pay is ok, we know that. However, we have other great perks to the job including competitive benefits, job security and working for an employer that cares about all its team members. I am sorry we failed you. Thanks for your comments.

  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Experience!

    Aug 9, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is a huge, family owned liquor chain that more often than not succeeds in making you feel like part of the family. They are constantly working to improve their business model and offer a massive amount of training on product knowledge and sales. This job has been the most fun I've ever had! Upper management is always available to listen to any questions or concerns you have. You will learn a lot about wine, spirits, and beer.

    Cons

    It's 8 hours on your feet constantly and the stores are always staffed as minimally as possible. In a busy store this means little time for breaks and many times you feel like you can't keep up. The pay, while fair, doesn't always draw the best talent, leading to high turnover as many employees leave for better opportunities elsewhere. The bonus structure changes every few months, so as soon as you think you have it figured out they change something to make it even harder succeed.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good Employer!

    Dec 4, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Training classes to help learn more about product. Strong upper management Full benefits Opportunities to move up in company

    Cons

    The pay scale is an issue but they are working on fixing that. Need to get rid of all the employees that are complaining.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    ABC Fine Wine and Spirits Response

    Company Representative

    Thank you for your review! We are dedicated to keeping our team members happy and remaining competitive in the marketplace and we definitely want to keep guest service a priority. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback and thank you for being part of the ABC team!

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    good people bad pay

    Jan 28, 2020 - Associate Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    lots of really nice people. good hours.

    Cons

    not good pay. upper management is kinds lacking

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Favoritism is the key word.

    Aug 8, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The customers are generally amiable as opposed to other retail stores, save for the occasional rich snob who treats you like dirt. You do learn some interesting things in the classes and just working the floor, and learning to sell is a plus for any job.

    Cons

    Everyone is in it to win it. People will backstab you in this company like nothing I've ever seen. You can take whatever someone said, even if it's positive, out of context and twist it around to get them in trouble. Be careful of EVERYONE you talk to, because a lot of people (INCLUDING the beer distributors and the delivery guys) will talk trash on you. Everyone wants that pay bump and the managers will play favorites to their little pets. Don't even joke around with these people because it will blast their fragile egos to bits. Most store managers are not fit for the job they are doing. They will lie to you to get you to do what they want. They will bully you and guilt trip you. God forbid you need a day off to spend with your kid while they aren't in school, or to finish that big project before your exams, you'll get your hours cut in a heartbeat. The commission system is a joke. You'd be having to work at the company for years to get a fraction of what the senior staff get out of it. It doesn't promote a good work environment and actually puts their employees at odds with one another. The commissions are barely anything and it is based on not just your rank within the store, but how much the upper management likes you. If you meet and exceed your quotas for selling their brands, then they like you a lot. If you are honest with the customers and actually give them what they want, then not so much.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Decent

    Jul 22, 2013 - Key Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent pay, commission was a way to get money for working hard.

    Cons

    Weird upper management. They make it a point to let you know they are watching you on camera. Rough hours, early morning trucks were killer.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great people

    Oct 8, 2015 - Sales Associate in Orlando, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people were great to work with. They have programs to move you up in the company and are always teaching something new within the beverage industry. Upper management was great.

    Cons

    The pay is not great at the entry level but like I said you can move up quickly.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee

    DO NOT TRUST THIS COMPANY!

    Oct 24, 2014 - Management in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Stores are endlessly busy. You will have plenty of customers to interact with. You will be required to attend classes to learn about liquor and wine. Employees are paid weekly, though at wages well below industry standards).

    Cons

    This is honest! Please protect your family and your career and avoid this company! Low, non-competitive pay, barely above minimum wage, negligible annual raises if any at all, very long hours, high (often unreasonable) demands, high employee turnover rate, frequently called/forced to come in on days off due to understaffing problem. Do not involve yourself with this company if you want to be treated fairly by corporate and with respect. The company (which claims to be family owned) doesn't treat its employees like family--more like dispensable products. No breaks, no overtime for salaried employees (and overtime for hourly employees is highly frowned upon), no holiday bonuses, long outrageous hours (ie, trucks at 4 a.m and...if your aim is for management...expect 12 to 14 hour shifts at times and 50-55 hrs/week). Upper management (regional, district) is untrustworthy, incompetent, unwilling to invest in the success of their managers or mobilize resources capably to guarantee success. They do not stand behind their word and have no sense of character--can and will fire you for no reason during first 90 days, and they will even fire established managers for no reason and with no warning. (Please note this goes against their posted 'discipline without punishment' policy.) Lack of fairness and integrity; corporate gives employees (especially store managers) very little autonomy and all too often stifles new strategies for growth that are proposed by employees. Regional managers are not above literally yelling at you if they don't like what they see--as a manager, expect phone calls at all hours--and yet these same regional managers will provide little cooperation or actual assistance to provide the resources needed to resolve the issue; they just pass the blame. Company does not work to empower its employees. Just recently their new policy was to 'allow' managers to treat their employees with cakes, cookies, or pizza from time to time. Work really hard as a team to fundraise for pediatric cancer? Expect a pizza party or a bottle of wine in return (which you may never get).Terrible (also expensive) benefits coverage, does not pay to relocate employees who are offered promotions, no discounts, no coverage if you are a tobacco user. Managers expected to work 6 day weeks at times over the holidays and to perform product transfers on their own dime (no gas reimbursement). Cannot keep the stores staffed--do we wonder why? Everything is to save a buck. If they can find someone to work in your place for less, they will. If you have no other recourse right now than to work for this company, your only hope is to find a decent store manager who cares because corporate never will and they'll never change...oh, but lately they've started firing these kinds of decent hard-working managers of character...too much burden on payroll to pay people who build the brand any part of what they deserve.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    What a mixed bag

    Oct 14, 2016 - Shift Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked at three locations during my 3.5 years with them, and the one constant, the customers are usually awesome. If you're a shift manager like I was, its really easy. You have a routine in the morning, at close, and during shift changes, as well as a few set things you do for Bank pick up, truck day, and deliveries. It's all pretty simple. As a clerk, your job is also really easy, though its a lot of busy work on some days. About once a month, you get to go to wine and liquor tastings to learn to sell what you tasted.

    Cons

    Upper management aren't always there because they're the best people for the job. Actually, same can be said about the clerks too. They're just the ones who stayed long enough for promotions. Consistently, they are either mean, crazy, or lazy, or some combo of those. Busy work. Cleaning, cleaning, and more cleaning. No discount, directly, instead you have access to the same membership card as anyone else. You might have to call the cops every once in awhile, due to the nature of selling booze. They didn't like me taking classes, and while they wouldn't schedule me for work during class time, they'd expect me to skip college to go to a wine tasting (which you only get paid minimum wage for). No head room. None. Upper management is picked either outside the company, or you have to wait in line for sometime 10 years of being lower management (shift manager, assistant manager) before you can even interview for anything higher.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 18 of 18 English Reviews

Popular Careers with ABC Fine Wine and Spirits Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at ABC Fine Wine and Spirits? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

ABC Fine Wine and Spirits Photos

+ Add Photo
ABC Fine Wine and Spirits photo of: ABC Fine Wine & Spirits
ABC Fine Wine and Spirits photo of: Our outstanding Sales Consultant in Brandon!
ABC Fine Wine and Spirits photo of: Coompete for cool trips around the world to visit ABC supplier / partner vineyards, distilleries, and more. Here, five ABC Team members are visiting Chateau Ausone.
ABC Fine Wine and Spirits photo of: Our Fabulous Purchasing Department!
ABC Fine Wine and Spirits photo of: The Dream Team!
ABC Fine Wine and Spirits photo of: We wish great success for our team members in all their future endeavors!
ABC Fine Wine and Spirits photo of: You will love working here!
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

ABC Fine Wine and Spirits Job Seekers Also Viewed

Total Wine & More Logo
Total Wine & More

3.3

1,572 Reviews
Compare