KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

ACES ABA

Engaged Employer

ACES ABA

Add a Review

ACES ABA Employee Reviews about "hour"

Updated Sep 22, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 of over 780 reviews

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
ACES ABA CEO        Kristin Farmer
Kristin Farmer
250 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,930

973 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The supervisors are great and teach you so much in order to help individuals on the autism spectrum.(in 79 reviews)
  • "Very flexible hours that accommodate to your needs IF you area student currently going to school and don't need a lot of hours.(in 42 reviews)
  • "Great training very thorough.(in 38 reviews)
  • "Great team, flexible schedule, average billable(in 25 reviews)
  • "Friendly staff and cool social groups(in 22 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of ACES ABA and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "hour"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    disorganized, needs more cohesion

    Sep 15, 2021 - Behavior Interventionist in City of Industry, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -flexible schedule, can be a student -Decent pay per hour, if you can get enough hours - working with kiddos -paid training -opportunities for advancement

    Cons

    --I've learned so much about myself through working with the wonderful kids whom I feel so bad for because this is support to be a service for them, but it's usually more of the parents trying to get to fit certain markers rather than actually helping the kids reach independence and healthy well-being. Typically, in my experience, both the parents and the supervisors are too busy appeasing insurance requirements and social expectations of how children should act to actually meet the child where they are developmentally ordered to help, they also rarely understand their sensory needs, and therefore won't get very far at helping these children (in my opinion and experience.) -supervisors who miscorrect the way you are conducting goal ABA but then are not even familiar with the goals they created or are in charge of for the child -never getting consistent hours -feeling like I had to pretend to know more than I did appease parents -because of how many different individuals are involved with each child case, there is no cohesion in terms of understanding the child individual triggers, how environmental factors impact each individual session, the BCBA don't spend enough time face to face with the kid (if they ever do come face to face, many only do telehealth) to have any understanding of the unique facets of each child that I think matters a lot to what the goals should be in order for the ABA to be effective and not aversive. Also, BIs as are constantly leaving cases because of availability or changing jobs, and each time that happens for the BI they have to rebuild rapport, get to know the goals, and progress can be hindered or even go backward during all those transitions, especially if the supervisors already don't have a realistic view of how the kiddo is actually doing because they mostly just see data (which may or may not be even accurate!) -going to work every day feeling like I'm forcing them to become something that's painful to become that they don't even want to become when I feel that play-based interventions would be much more effective because if their will/inherent desire isn't in a good amount of the goals and program they aren't really learning anything or even in any state but flight or flight or burning out trying to recover from what they're literally being forced (physically prompted) to do.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Use this place to get certified, then immediately leave if you can

    Aug 31, 2021 - RBT - Registered Behavior Technician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Will hire almost anyone, even to supervisory roles - Pays for training and gives further certs while you work (CPI, ETC) - Constant need for subs means there's as many hours as you want

    Cons

    - Will absolutely abuse your scheduling. Expect two three hour shifts 7 hours apart on your weekends. I'm working 6 days a week but only 29 hours, although hours constantly fluctuate. - Horrific work culture. I've had a supervisor roll their eyes and snort at me for taking a day off work after being attacked by a homeless man outside their office. Supervisors are patronizing, rude, and will treat you horribly if they can get away with it. Other RBTS may or may not treat you terribly, but if you're looking to reach a supervisory role be prepared to play politics and stab a few people in the back. - Clients constantly cancel and you're not compensated at all if they do, so it might be best to keep a second job if you work here. Most RBT's do. - Pays only 40 cents per mile when paying for mileage. - Communication is incredibly slow even on time sensitive or important matters.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Individual Aide

    Nov 14, 2018 - Individual Aide in Hamden, CT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good pay compared to other para positions good co-workers

    Cons

    Only give you 29.5 hour to avoid giving health insurance

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Behavior Interventionist (RBT)

    May 20, 2018 - Behavior Therapist in Santa Cruz, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -I have had some truly fabulous and inspiring Supervisors -I receive regular praise and recognition for my hard work -I have felt and still feel genuine appreciation from the families we serve; it's an extremely fulfilling role -When you describe what you do to others, you feel very proud of helping others in a meaningful way! -The company and SV's provide ample training and address concerns/desire for support; it's awesome to talk with experienced people who really understand what your going through -Working one-to-one in family's homes gives you a lot of autonomy over how to structure a session and incentivize your client; you can dress fairly comfortably; and it's really fun to get creative with art and play! -There is generally a lot of flexibility with schedule; this is especially useful to those who need to work around a school schedule or a second job -There are absolutely opportunities for advancement, but you have to be the type of person who will seek it out/network/ask the right people/ and demonstrate the work ethic; a promotion will NOT just be handed to you (Anecdotal: I'm in the process of trying to become an SV and was just admitted to graduate school, you need to continue your education beyond a BA if you want to move up in this field) -ACES has a mission statement and values that an employee can truly rally behind and the can really galvanize a team

    Cons

    -Unfortunately, I have seen several really great SV's leave ACES. For some their complaints have been of upper management and the stress of billable hour expectations, while others simply received competitive offers from other companies -This turnover (which is even higher amongst BI's) has a negative effect on client's/families including disrupting progress, unclear plan for client goals, and even lapses in services (Anecdotal: when I was removed from a case to be assigned to another due to scheduling, I watched a mother brought to tears over fear of going more time without the services for her son; additionally BI's often leave without much notice and it can be very upsetting to our clients) -The pay is low and if you want a raise you really have to go out of your way to seek it out; annual reviews are not automatic; when your raise is approved it takes a few months to hear back/for it to go through -Working in the home doing one-to-one sessions can sometimes feel lonely (no co-workers, 10 min breaks in your car, lunch breaks at a local Starbucks that's in between clients, lack of connection to others who understand daily challenges) -During the school year it can be very difficult to maintain full time hours due to the lack of morning/ midday clients and if a case is terminated or you switch clients you might go a few weeks without work; this can be stressful when you have bills to pay! -Your resilience is really tested by the more physical/aggressive clients; even with CPI training, it might feel like you are outmatched (Anecdotal: I am currently subbing for a client who is can be very aggressive and is physically stronger than me, while I am receiving a lot of one on one support from the BCBA on the case - which is very valuable- I have a lot of anxiety over working with this client On a personal note, the physicality and emotional toll that this position has really really warrants medical benefits, but ACES makes it really challenging to qualify; this in combination with minimal connection with coworkers makes this difficult to sustain! I have seen a lot of employees (good and not so good) leave.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Misleading all around

    Oct 27, 2021 - Behavior Interventionist in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The clinical by-hour pay is higher than the industry rate. Monthly feedback from supervisors

    Cons

    Psuedo professionalism. The company culture is guilt-trippy, passive, and will throw BI's under the bus at any chance. You will receive incentives for not taking off any time, however, the contingencies make it impossible. They expect BI's to carry out more prep work, and caregiver communication without receiving pay for it. Despite being a large company, fewer of the administrative to-do's are automated and expected to be carried out by the BI. For instance, you have to request access to a client le. More emphasis is placed on "results" than BI-client rapport. There is little flexibility. You are allowed to change your schedule twice a year. This is not a job for a college student or anyone who needs flexibility. My hiring process was misleading. I was told I would receive one of my bonuses after a certain amount of time when it was actually later down the line. They also do NOT give you an offer letter.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Disorganized and Unnecessarily Complicated

    Sep 6, 2020 - Behavioral Interventionist in San Fernando, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Seeing the kids' progress and growth is the most rewarding thing. After working with them for a while, you begin to form a bond with the kids. Seeing their smile after they've accomplished something they've been working hard at is the best. If you are a psychology student looking to gain good clinical experience during your undergrad, this is a great position. It's hands-on, the supervisors guide you through how to handle different situations, and the kids are growing through your guidance (which is awesome!) You also have the freedom to create your own schedule, which is great if you're a college student, a parent, and/or working another job. Also, if you already have experience working in ABA, they will give you a higher starting pay.

    Cons

    When I applied, it was for their San Fernando Valley, CA location. It wasn't until after I accepted the job offer during the interview that I found out there is no SFV office; the closest office was 57 miles away in City of Industry. Thankfully I only went there when I first started the job a total of 4 times for training (and I was paid for it since it was over 30 miles), but it was too much. Once the in-person training was done, a 40-hour set of training modules for Registered Behavior Technicians had to be completed at home. This wouldn't have been an issue... except I wasn't trying to become an RBT. I asked why we had to complete this training if we weren't becoming an RBT, but the trainer just said it was a part of training. I understand that at the end of training, you have to take a test to become a BI (this is also what they did at the last ABA company I worked for), but it would have been much more efficient and convenient for those not trying to be an RBT if they just took the test on the material that was taught during the in-person training. The iPad given for taking data during sessions had too many apps on it for things that could have easily been combined into one app, making tasks that should be simple, complicated. The actual work itself is, like mentioned previously, rewarding! But it can be exhausting. To thrive in this position, you must be patient. If you're 'okay' with kids or not looking to enter the ABA field as an actual career, this job may be more difficult. When I put in my two weeks notice, I was expecting to drive back to City of Industry to drop off my iPad and badge since that was the closest office. Instead, I was told to go to the Cerritos office, which was a few miles further. I was also told I'd get my last paycheck when I went, but the employee there said they didn't have it. I never ended up receiving it and at this point, I just felt exhausted with how disorganized and complicated this company is. The experience may have been different for me if they actually had a physical office in SFV, but all I know is I wouldn't recommend for anyone to work there. The only thing really making it all worth it were the kids.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Poorly run, with little to no regard for the people working the hardest

    Feb 19, 2019 - Behavior Interventionist (RBT( in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Connections and friendships with other BI's Helping and growing to care about to the clients you work with

    Cons

    Incompetent management, payroll, and scheduling Supervisors' blatant refusal to admit when they are wrong, instead blaming the BI for lack of adequate training Never enough hours Only pays for travel between clients, not for total travel time expended; for example, I could spend an hour in traffic back and forth traveling 14 miles to a client but not get any reimbursement for my time because it was between clients.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 Reviews

Popular Careers with ACES ABA Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews