ACR Homes Reviews | Glassdoor

ACR Homes Reviews

Updated Nov 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
96%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
ACR Homes CEO James Nelson  (no image)
James Nelson
146 Ratings
Pros
  • "Just to list a few: welcoming/positive work environment, flexible hours, direct care experience(in 26 reviews)

  • "Patient care experience, rewarding, flexible schedule(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, emotionally draining at times(in 15 reviews)

  • "Some houses are worse (or better) than others(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I will probably never leave this company, even after I graduate as a nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Weekend Supervisor in Roseville, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ACR Homes part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I’ve been working for ACR Homes for about 1 1/2 years and have loved every second of it. I’ve loved developing relationships with residents, their families, and staff. I started my position as a DCP during my time as an undergraduate and gained great patient care experience for nursing school. As nursing school has a very demanding schedule, I’ve been so thankful that ACR Homes has been very reasonable with my busy... life! ACR Homes has competitive pay, flexible hours, and has prepared me for my career path in nursing. My residents are one of my greatest blessings in my life.

    Show More

    Cons

    You will get attached to residents and never want to leave

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    ACR Homes2019-11-22
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct Patient Care Provider in Coon Rapids, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ACR Homes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great co-workers and environment

    Cons

    The pay rate and the pay increase that you get staying there for so long.

    Advice to Management

    Pay their employees more. What the employees are paid is not comparable to the work.

    ACR Homes2019-11-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Direct Care Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Roseville, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ACR Homes part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Unique relationships with great employees Bond formed between staff and residents Getting payed to do life with people Medical experience Parallels to being a parent and gaining similar experience Employee incentives given frequently

    Cons

    I do think we could be payed more for what we do. The incentives are nice but base pay is just okay.

    ACR Homes2019-10-26
  4. "Thank you ACR!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ACR Homes

    Pros

    ACR Homes has given me endless opportunities and truly gives exceptional care to the residents in the homes. The residents have changed my life and I care deeply for them, as do all of the staff.

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to say!

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for all you do!

    ACR Homes2019-10-15
  5. "Servant Leadership at its Finest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Residential Supervisor in Roseville, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ACR Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *Unbeatable medical experience *Gaining a community of supportive servant leaders *Makes you a better person *Truly make a difference in others' lives

    Cons

    *Staffing crisis = shortage of staff

    ACR Homes2019-10-06
  6. "ACR is great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct Care Professional in Saint Paul, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ACR Homes part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been an employee for ACR Homes for 10 months now and it is honestly one of my best-made decisions. I am able to serve people in a matter that helps them to feel valued and cared for. Not only will this job give you satisfaction after every shift, I have also solidifed my career choice in Nursing. I don't know what major I would be pursuing if it wasn't for ACR. Lastly, I have attained an even greater love for... people and the very act of service. So if you want a great job or a great place for your family member who has a disability, you should definitely have ACR at the top of your list!

    Show More

    Cons

    Scheduling can be hard with school but supervisors are easy to work with.

    ACR Homes2019-10-04
  7. "Good direct care work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct Care Professional 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ACR Homes part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's very hands on and you get to interact with your residents and create great relationships with them. Do hands on things like dispensing medications. Pay is pretty decent since it is different on weekends and overnight shift. Shifts are very accommodating since it's your house's RS that schedules it, so they make sure you aren't scheduled when you requested that time off. It's only a 6 month minimum requirement... that you need to stay, which really isn't that long and it goes by pretty quickly.

    Show More

    Cons

    Did not tell us that we would be doing dirty work like cleaning up BM. There is not a lot of variety because you're working in the same home, so it's just like a routine and there's not anything special once you get into a routine.

    ACR Homes2019-10-16
  8. "Fantastic Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Weekend Supervisor in Roseville, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ACR Homes part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone truly cares about the residents, and employees are treated with respect. Many awesome opportunities for students looking to go into a Healthcare field

    Cons

    Low hourly pay for Direct care employees

    ACR Homes2019-09-24
  9. "Great job for college students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Direct Care Professional 

    I worked at ACR Homes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great experience for student looking to gain experience in medicine.

    Cons

    High stress and low pay for the work required.

    ACR Homes2019-10-07
  10. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Direct Care Professional 

    I worked at ACR Homes part-time

    Pros

    Working with residents Different everyday Medical experience without having higher education

    Cons

    management long hours required overnights and weekends

    ACR Homes2019-10-03
Found 213 reviews