KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

ADK Electric

Engaged Employer

ADK Electric

Add a Review

ADK Electric Reviews

Updated May 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 of over 27 reviews

2.3
32%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
ADK Electric President Kit Canaday (no image)
Kit Canaday
21 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Awesome people to work with

    Mar 16, 2021 - Project Manager in Englewood, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Competitive pay, interesting projects, great people!

    Cons

    No cons found as of now.

    1 person found this review helpful

    ADK Electric Response

    Recruiter

    Dear Current Employee, We are all so happy that you joined our Team! and thank you for taking the time to tell everyone on Indeed. Thank you, Tina Laurila, PHR 303-781-7400

  2. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Not for people who are looking for solid career

    May 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are some really good people on the team, pay is ok, the team is very knowledgeable.

    Cons

    Honestly, there are so many I don't know where to start. Horrible management and horrible experience. There is no job security and they make you feel expendable. Communication is not a strong suite with anyone from this company either. I would not recommend this company to anyone looking for a solid career.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ADK Electric Response

    Recruiter

    Dear Former Employee, ADK Electric hires for the long term. Many of the electricians with ADK have been with us up to 24 years. The tenure, loyalty and job growth is always positive. CONTINUING EDUCATION – We partner with Independent Electrical Contractors (IECRM) to help you obtain your Journeyman's license or maintain your license all at no cost to you! And you receive raises for every quarter that you pass. ADK does not put all this money into education just to lose you. I would like to talk with you further. Please call me. Tina Laurila, PHR 303-781-7400

  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Too much promises, too little action

    Apr 2, 2021 - Apprentice Electrician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's the experience you earn that's worthwhile

    Cons

    Too much promises, too little action. The company gets everything they can get from you before giving you anything, to think they offered it themselves.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ADK Electric Response

    Recruiter

    Dear Former Employee, Becoming an Electrician has a learning curve like any career move one chooses to make. We partner with Independent Electrical Contractors (IECRM) to help you obtain your Journeyman's license or maintain your license all at no cost to you! And you receive raises for every quarter that you pass. The mentors in the organization have been with the Company for years and want you to succeed. I would help you further if you told me what specifically was the problem. Thank you, Tina Laurila, PHR 303-781-7400

  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Irresponsible management

    Mar 18, 2021 - Electrician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's a great company to gain experience when you're just starting your career.

    Cons

    Horrible upper management who lacked basic understanding on how to properly delegate tasks and didn't cate about the hard working employees. Mangers were beyond irresponsible, and nothing was ever good for them. There was a very high turnover because of those problems, something to keep in mind.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ADK Electric Response

    Recruiter

    Dear Former Employee - ADK Electric is family owned and operated and has been in business for over 24 years. In 2018 ADK Electric was rated as the 6th largest electrical contractor in the Denver Metro Area based on revenue. We plan to be around for another successful 24 years. The turnover at ADK is one of the lowest in the industry. When good electricians come to ADK Electric, they stay with the Company! Tina Laurila, PHR 303-781-7400

  5. 1.0
    Former Employee

    A lot of constant layoffs

    Mar 2, 2021 - Office Staff 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They pay you. Reliable equipment.

    Cons

    Management has no clear strategy other than constant layoffs. They have a recurring pattern of laying off employees who have worked there long enough to make decent wages. Do not work for this company with the expectation of working your way up because you will be replaced.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ADK Electric Response

    Recruiter

    Dear Former Employee, It looks like you have worked at the ADK office. I can assure you that ADK has never laid anyone off in the office. We have let a couple office staff go due to performance, never because of pay grade. ADK has had 2 layoffs in the field in the last 11 years with the most recent due to COVID. ADK Electric's owners are by far the best people I have ever worked for. I say that because I know what they have done for their office and field staff. If you would like to talk with me directly, please call me. Thank you, Tina

  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Mistakes would be always on your shoulders

    Feb 23, 2021 - Apprentice Electrician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some of the coworkers were real good people.

    Cons

    This company would lie on just about anything. They didn't care about its employees or how unhappy they were. Mistakes would be always on your shoulders. They liked to berate and blame employees for their mistakes. They had a very high turnover rate because of these bad treatments.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ADK Electric Response

    Recruiter

    Dear Former Apprentice Electrician, I would like to respond to your frustration with facts. Please see the start dates of our current employees: 04/07/1997 04/07/1997 12/08/1997 10/08/2000 04/02/2001 06/18/2001 12/09/2004 03/14/2005 05/10/2005 05/15/2006 05/22/2006 06/01/2006 09/18/2006 02/06/2007 11/20/2007 02/29/2008 07/15/2008 08/04/2008 08/18/2009 04/02/2010 06/16/2010 12/27/2010 12/27/2010 12/28/2010 03/07/2011 07/11/2011 11/07/2011 02/13/2012 06/04/2012 06/11/2012 07/23/2012 11/27/2012 04/29/2013 06/24/2013 10/28/2013 01/31/2014 04/03/2014 04/07/2014 04/21/2014 05/19/2014 07/08/2014 07/10/2014 07/22/2014 09/02/2014 09/15/2014 12/01/2014 06/16/2015 06/17/2015 08/31/2015 09/30/2015 09/30/2015 12/10/2015 01/04/2016 01/27/2016 03/24/2016 04/06/2016 05/11/2016 05/11/2016 05/11/2016 05/12/2016 08/01/2016 01/04/2017 02/02/2017 02/13/2017 03/13/2017 04/24/2017 05/11/2017 05/18/2017 06/12/2017 07/20/2017 07/24/2017 08/10/2017 08/16/2017 09/08/2017 09/13/2017 09/21/2017 01/02/2018 01/22/2018 02/19/2018 02/26/2018 02/28/2018 06/05/2018 06/29/2018 06/29/2018 07/06/2018 07/09/2018 07/17/2018 07/20/2018 07/20/2018 07/20/2018 07/30/2018 08/24/2018 09/01/2018 09/10/2018 10/12/2018 11/08/2018 11/21/2018 11/29/2018 12/27/2018 01/10/2019 02/22/2019 02/25/2019 03/04/2019 03/18/2019 03/21/2019 03/22/2019 03/28/2019 04/15/2019 05/13/2019 05/14/2019 06/14/2019 06/21/2019 07/08/2019 07/10/2019 07/12/2019 07/16/2019 07/23/2019 07/26/2019 07/30/2019 08/05/2019 08/05/2019 08/13/2019 08/19/2019 08/23/2019 08/23/2019 08/23/2019 09/03/2019 09/26/2019 10/02/2019 10/07/2019 10/07/2019 10/07/2019 10/07/2019 10/10/2019 10/15/2019 10/18/2019 11/01/2019 11/05/2019 11/06/2019 11/18/2019 11/18/2019 02/17/2020 04/13/2020 04/13/2020 04/22/2020 04/27/2020 04/27/2020 05/04/2020 05/25/2020 05/25/2020 05/26/2020 06/01/2020 06/08/2020 06/17/2020 06/22/2020 06/22/2020 07/16/2020 08/10/2020 08/10/2020 09/21/2020 09/21/2020 10/07/2020 10/19/2020 10/19/2020 02/22/2021 This tells me that our turnover rate is not 'very high' as you stated. I would also like to respond to berating and blaming for mistakes. I make all the hires and tell you specifically to talk to me, the owners or your foreman if you have any complaints. We all want to ensure that you are happy at your job. I am here if you would like to talk with me. Thank you, Tina

  7. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Apprentice at ADK

    Jan 18, 2021 - Apprentice Electrician in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They pay for your school, have options to help you purchase tools. You can also receive raises for achieving good grades in school.

    Cons

    You will find yourself doing tedious a repetitive tasks for a while unless you come into the company with a lot of know how and experience. My complaint would be that if you don’t know how to do the work instead of teaching you how they put you on a job you already know how to do.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ADK Electric Response

    Recruiter

    Dear Employee, Thank you very much for your feedback. I will deliver your message to the PM's and Foremen in the field. I appreciate you providing ADK with solutions that better support our Team. Tina

  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Time and physically demanding

    Dec 22, 2020 - Apprentice Electrician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is released bi-weekly which is what I needed when I was starting.

    Cons

    The job demands for your personal time, and is physically demanding as well. The regular offer of a pay raise is not real for normal employees, it's only for those attending a special training.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ADK Electric Response

    Recruiter

    Dear Former Apprentice, Let me respond by saying that Construction Industry is physically demanding. Overtime is offered (not required). ADK encourages employees to go to IECRM for 8 semesters which is paid for by the Company. Performance raises are are given when an individual's attendance, knowledge, skills, and abilities are recognized by the Team. ADK rewards excellence! All electricians are informed of school and the pay structure at the time of hire. Paid schooling is a wonderful benefit provided to ADK Electric's Apprentice Electricians! Please call me if you want to discuss further. Thank you, Tina

  9. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Lots of OT poof culture

    Oct 3, 2020 - Electrician in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of hours but poor culture will hire any warm body man power is poor. Decent tenured employees but little room for advancement

    Cons

    Summer hours are unrealistic, no family time

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ADK Electric Response

    Recruiter

    Dear Former Electrician, Let me respond by saying that Construction Industry is physically demanding. Overtime is offered (not required). ADK encourages employees to go to IECRM for 8 semesters which is paid for by the Company so that everyone has an opportunity to advance. Performance raises are are given when an individual's attendance, knowledge, skills, and abilities are recognized by the Team. ADK rewards excellence! Paid schooling is a wonderful benefit provided to ADK Electric's Apprentice Electricians! ADK does not 'hire any warm body'. References are called and research is done prior to any hire at ADK Electric because we want to hire the BEST long-term employees. Please call me if you want to discuss further. Thank you, Tina

  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Deadlines can be crazy

    Oct 8, 2020 - Project Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company has a lot of projects to work on

    Cons

    The deadlines can be crazy here. You need not just to give your best but also ensure that everyone working under you is doing their best too. The pressure can get to you. I decided I wanted to do more than chase deadlines throughout my life.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ADK Electric Response

    Recruiter

    Dear Former Project Manager, ADK Electric continually provides excellent service to our GC's and long-term customers. Deadlines can be crazy and pressure exists at all levels of the organization. However, we meet our deadlines! As a PM and a leader within the Company, your job is to manage projects and lead your direct reports to be the best. The PM Team and Owners are always available throughout the week/ends and PM's have weekly meetings to discuss deadlines and man-power needs. Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts. Please feel free to call me at any time. Tina

Viewing 1 - 10 of 27 Reviews

Popular Careers with ADK Electric Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at ADK Electric? Share Your Experiences

ADK Electric logo
or