KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

ADK Electric

Engaged Employer

ADK Electric

Add a Review

ADK Electric Reviews

Updated Apr 15, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 of over 29 reviews

2.5
47%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
ADK Electric President Kit Canaday (no image)
Kit Canaday
23 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Some of the coworkers were real good people.(in 3 reviews)
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Awesome people to work with

    Mar 16, 2021 - Project Manager in Englewood, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Competitive pay, interesting projects, great people!

    Cons

    No cons found as of now.

    1 person found this review helpful

    ADK Electric Response

    Recruiter

    Dear Current Employee, We are all so happy that you joined our Team! and thank you for taking the time to tell everyone on Indeed. Thank you, Tina Laurila, PHR 303-781-7400

  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    ADK

    Apr 15, 2022 - Project Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are some talented people working there.

    Cons

    One of the owners is the largest drawback to this company.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ADK Electric Response

    Recruiter

    Hello Ryan, If you had problems with an owner you could have brought those concerns to the other owners or HR. You were a great Project Coordinator while you were here and we wish you well in your future endeavors! Tina Laurila, PHR

  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    This company was great! They treated me well and I didn't have any bad experiences with anyone in the company.

    Oct 19, 2021 - Apprentice Electrician in Englewood, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Regular raises Can communicate with office staff easily by phone, text, or email. Everyone I encountered with there was easy to work with.

    Cons

    Not always enough guys on the jobsite so there is more work to be done for everyone else. Not a fan of the clocking in and out system.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ADK Electric Response

    Recruiter

    Dear Former Electrician, Thank you for the great suggestion! I will implement this ASAP! Call me if you are ready to come back to work with the ADK Team! Tina

  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Not for people who are looking for solid career

    May 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are some really good people on the team, pay is ok, the team is very knowledgeable.

    Cons

    Honestly, there are so many I don't know where to start. Horrible management and horrible experience. There is no job security and they make you feel expendable. Communication is not a strong suite with anyone from this company either. I would not recommend this company to anyone looking for a solid career.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ADK Electric Response

    Recruiter

    Dear Former Employee, ADK Electric hires for the long term. Many of the electricians with ADK have been with us up to 24 years. The tenure, loyalty and job growth is always positive. CONTINUING EDUCATION – We partner with Independent Electrical Contractors (IECRM) to help you obtain your Journeyman's license or maintain your license all at no cost to you! And you receive raises for every quarter that you pass. ADK does not put all this money into education just to lose you. I would like to talk with you further. Please call me. Tina Laurila, PHR 303-781-7400

  5. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Apprentice at ADK

    Jan 18, 2021 - Apprentice Electrician in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They pay for your school, have options to help you purchase tools. You can also receive raises for achieving good grades in school.

    Cons

    You will find yourself doing tedious a repetitive tasks for a while unless you come into the company with a lot of know how and experience. My complaint would be that if you don’t know how to do the work instead of teaching you how they put you on a job you already know how to do.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ADK Electric Response

    Recruiter

    Dear Employee, Thank you very much for your feedback. I will deliver your message to the PM's and Foremen in the field. I appreciate you providing ADK with solutions that better support our Team. Tina

  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Too much promises, too little action

    Apr 2, 2021 - Apprentice Electrician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's the experience you earn that's worthwhile

    Cons

    Too much promises, too little action. The company gets everything they can get from you before giving you anything, to think they offered it themselves.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ADK Electric Response

    Recruiter

    Dear Former Employee, Becoming an Electrician has a learning curve like any career move one chooses to make. We partner with Independent Electrical Contractors (IECRM) to help you obtain your Journeyman's license or maintain your license all at no cost to you! And you receive raises for every quarter that you pass. The mentors in the organization have been with the Company for years and want you to succeed. I would help you further if you told me what specifically was the problem. Thank you, Tina Laurila, PHR 303-781-7400

  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Irresponsible management

    Mar 18, 2021 - Electrician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's a great company to gain experience when you're just starting your career.

    Cons

    Horrible upper management who lacked basic understanding on how to properly delegate tasks and didn't cate about the hard working employees. Mangers were beyond irresponsible, and nothing was ever good for them. There was a very high turnover because of those problems, something to keep in mind.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ADK Electric Response

    Recruiter

    Dear Former Employee - ADK Electric is family owned and operated and has been in business for over 24 years. In 2018 ADK Electric was rated as the 6th largest electrical contractor in the Denver Metro Area based on revenue. We plan to be around for another successful 24 years. The turnover at ADK is one of the lowest in the industry. When good electricians come to ADK Electric, they stay with the Company! Tina Laurila, PHR 303-781-7400

  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Doesn’t deserve the rating they have

    Sep 2, 2020 - Apprentice Electrician in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A few cool fellow employees. Paid for school up front

    Cons

    Barely competitive wage scale. Notorious for shafting employees on pet diem and travel pay. It’s a running joke around the company. Person with no electrical experience running interviews. Poorly managed with jws and aws constantly switching jobs on a regular basis. Not as much work in town as promised. You will end up forced into the mountains or all along the front range. Little chance for advancement as every job has a site favorite who’s in with the foreman and pretends to be a foreman but is a first year. Poor job conditions and lack of necessary tools and materials on job sites. Doesn’t do reviews or offer raises unless badgered. Overall not a good company to work for.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ADK Electric Response

    Recruiter

    Dear Current Apprentice Electrician, I would like to respond to each of your concerns: 1. Barely competitive wage scale? ADK Electric allows you to attend 8 semesters at IECRM at no cost to you. Each semester you have the opportunity for a $1 to $1.50 raise if your grade is 70% and above. ADK also supports your efforts to get a CO Journeyman License. ADK's pay grade is competitive with our competitors. . 2. Shafting employees on per diem and travel pay? ADK does not withhold your per diem or travel pay. It is the employee's responsibility to report any pay discrepancies with the Payroll Manager who makes the adjustments. 3. Constantly moving jobs? ADK Electric's goal during COVID19 in 2020 & 2021 is to keep all employees working. Please let us know if moving to different projects is a hardship for you. 4. Not much work in town as promised? Projects were put on hold during COVID. The projects are slowly opening back up! 5. Inexperienced Recruiter? A lot of time and effort goes into hiring, and hiring the best electricians is a group decision at ADK Electric! 6. Poor job conditions and lack of necessary tools on the job sites? ADK has the safest job sites. If there is an issue, we have our Safety Director to report any issues to. Employees are required to come to the job site with their own tools. ADK provides the all other machinery and tools. 6. Transparency with office and field workers? Thank you for providing this information. I will bring that to the information to our weekly office meeting itinerary. Thank you for taking the time to let ADK know your thoughts and ways for us to improve! Please call me if you have any questions. Tina Laurila, PHR 303-781-7400

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    ADK is a Great Company to work for!

    Jul 6, 2020 - Office Staff in Englewood, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love working with the ADK Team! The Owners are very loyal; they value the office and field employees. I have worked in the corporate world for years and love the atmosphere and family feel of this Company! Long-term employment is also a plus! We are busy even through the trying times we are faced with today.

    Cons

    I really don't have any. I see employees leave to follow the $$ but most return because of ADK's loyalty and long-term employment!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ADK Electric Response

    Recruiter

    Dear Current Employee, Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know we are a great company to work for! ADK Electric is family owned and operated for over 24 years and value our great Team Members! I wish you many more years with the Company! Tina

  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Mistakes would be always on your shoulders

    Feb 23, 2021 - Apprentice Electrician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some of the coworkers were real good people.

    Cons

    This company would lie on just about anything. They didn't care about its employees or how unhappy they were. Mistakes would be always on your shoulders. They liked to berate and blame employees for their mistakes. They had a very high turnover rate because of these bad treatments.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ADK Electric Response

    Recruiter

    Dear Former Apprentice Electrician, I would like to respond to your frustration with facts. Please see the start dates of our current employees: 04/07/1997 04/07/1997 12/08/1997 10/08/2000 04/02/2001 06/18/2001 12/09/2004 03/14/2005 05/10/2005 05/15/2006 05/22/2006 06/01/2006 09/18/2006 02/06/2007 11/20/2007 02/29/2008 07/15/2008 08/04/2008 08/18/2009 04/02/2010 06/16/2010 12/27/2010 12/27/2010 12/28/2010 03/07/2011 07/11/2011 11/07/2011 02/13/2012 06/04/2012 06/11/2012 07/23/2012 11/27/2012 04/29/2013 06/24/2013 10/28/2013 01/31/2014 04/03/2014 04/07/2014 04/21/2014 05/19/2014 07/08/2014 07/10/2014 07/22/2014 09/02/2014 09/15/2014 12/01/2014 06/16/2015 06/17/2015 08/31/2015 09/30/2015 09/30/2015 12/10/2015 01/04/2016 01/27/2016 03/24/2016 04/06/2016 05/11/2016 05/11/2016 05/11/2016 05/12/2016 08/01/2016 01/04/2017 02/02/2017 02/13/2017 03/13/2017 04/24/2017 05/11/2017 05/18/2017 06/12/2017 07/20/2017 07/24/2017 08/10/2017 08/16/2017 09/08/2017 09/13/2017 09/21/2017 01/02/2018 01/22/2018 02/19/2018 02/26/2018 02/28/2018 06/05/2018 06/29/2018 06/29/2018 07/06/2018 07/09/2018 07/17/2018 07/20/2018 07/20/2018 07/20/2018 07/30/2018 08/24/2018 09/01/2018 09/10/2018 10/12/2018 11/08/2018 11/21/2018 11/29/2018 12/27/2018 01/10/2019 02/22/2019 02/25/2019 03/04/2019 03/18/2019 03/21/2019 03/22/2019 03/28/2019 04/15/2019 05/13/2019 05/14/2019 06/14/2019 06/21/2019 07/08/2019 07/10/2019 07/12/2019 07/16/2019 07/23/2019 07/26/2019 07/30/2019 08/05/2019 08/05/2019 08/13/2019 08/19/2019 08/23/2019 08/23/2019 08/23/2019 09/03/2019 09/26/2019 10/02/2019 10/07/2019 10/07/2019 10/07/2019 10/07/2019 10/10/2019 10/15/2019 10/18/2019 11/01/2019 11/05/2019 11/06/2019 11/18/2019 11/18/2019 02/17/2020 04/13/2020 04/13/2020 04/22/2020 04/27/2020 04/27/2020 05/04/2020 05/25/2020 05/25/2020 05/26/2020 06/01/2020 06/08/2020 06/17/2020 06/22/2020 06/22/2020 07/16/2020 08/10/2020 08/10/2020 09/21/2020 09/21/2020 10/07/2020 10/19/2020 10/19/2020 02/22/2021 This tells me that our turnover rate is not 'very high' as you stated. I would also like to respond to berating and blaming for mistakes. I make all the hires and tell you specifically to talk to me, the owners or your foreman if you have any complaints. We all want to ensure that you are happy at your job. I am here if you would like to talk with me. Thank you, Tina

Viewing 1 - 10 of 29 Reviews

Popular Careers with ADK Electric Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at ADK Electric? Share Your Experiences

ADK Electric logo
or

ADK Electric Careers

Cover image for ADK Electric

Since the opening of our doors in 1997, ADK Electric has performed in a wide spectrum of commercial, institutional and industrial projects....More

  • Our Services
  • Why Choose Us
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist