ADP Reviews in Chicago, IL | Glassdoor

ADP Chicago Reviews

Updated June 21, 2017
133 reviews

Filter

Filter

Chicago, IL Area

3.8
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
ADP CEO Carlos A. Rodriguez
Carlos A. Rodriguez
62 Ratings

133 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Work life balance for the majority of the year is excellent (in 415 reviews)

  • Able to work from home three days out of the week (in 197 reviews)

Cons
  • Work/Life Balance leaves a bit to be desired (in 173 reviews)

  • No work life balance and hectic work schedule (in 55 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "It's challenging and no two days are the same"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    It's challenging and no two days are the same thing over and over so it's very stable here at adp

    Cons

    I'm not sure that I can tell you yet because I don't have this so I'm sorry I can't tell you much except not all units off or work from home

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing and keep the employees in the loop

    ADP Response

    May 8, 2017 – Project Specialist

    Thank you for the account of your time with ADP.


  2. "District Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - District Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADP full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great training, room for growth

    Cons

    Depends on your territory how well you do

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

  3. "Love this Place"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Elk Grove Village, IL
    Former Employee - Sales in Elk Grove Village, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ADP full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    great leadership, plenty of room for growth, work hard and get heavily rewarded!!

    Cons

    have not found any yet

    Advice to Management

    nothing, keep up the hard work!!

    ADP Response

    May 1, 2017 – Project Specialist

    Thank you for the review.


  4. "Starting a career at ADP (Revision from previous March review)"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Support Trainee in Elk Grove Village, IL
    Current Employee - Client Support Trainee in Elk Grove Village, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADP full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    If you want to continue to grow your career and you are ready to work hard, ADP looks to be a great place to start. This is my first time in a corporate environment, and I really like it so far.

    - Hiring process was very fast, faster than any corporate job I've ever applied to. I went through multiple interviews and received an offer within days of my final interview. Other companies I had to sometimes wait months just for a rejection message. ADP’s hiring process is fantastic, and I felt very important to them as a potential future employee.

    - Associates in my department are very friendly, and the atmosphere with management is great too. They have an open-door policy so I never felt nervous asking questions to my manager, let alone even to my manager's manager. Many of them make an effort to wish everyone in the department “Good morning!” directly, and some associates are starting to follow suit. I appreciate it even if I don’t always fully acknowledge it; it shows they care. Overall, the company gives off a family vibe and less of a hierarchal one which I greatly appreciate.

    - Adding to the previous point, there is a big amount of diversity among employees as well as many support groups including for LGBT, veterans, etc. It is great to see groups like these in place because it reinforces the loving and accepting environment ADP already offers.

    - The Elk Grove building has many amenities: Cafeteria, Fitness Center, and Wellness Center. Cafeteria food is pretty good, and the company ADP works with has a selection of quality food. You can use the Wellness Center to complete your biometric screening, flu shots, and daily medical concerns.

    - Information and communication is very thorough. If you have any questions, you are likely to find the answers on the employee website in some place or another. If you cannot find it, you also have an option to send an online message to the correct department for their expertise.

    - Benefits for both part time and full time employees. Enrolling in them is very simple thanks to the websites newly designed layouts.

    - Surveys. ADP is not just about giving surveys to its clients but also its employees. I’ve probably taken over a dozen at this point, but each time it was for a different area from a training course to the employee website. It’s important when a company wants to hear from its employees so often; they want to make sure they are satisfied with what they are doing..

    Cons

    - While there are lots of opportunities for employees to make an impact in the company, your impact will be as much as you put into it. To be exceptional in this company, you will need to be at many times self-motivated, disciplined, and determined to improve yourself. This amount of mental focus may not be for everyone to handle, and I have seen some new hires leave because of similar reasons.

    - Adding to my point about mental focus, there is a lot of company information you are initially exposed to. While it is thorough and greatly organized, I still see it being overwhelming for some new hires.

    - Management does make their best efforts to communicate with employees, but at times they do seem to have a lot of meetings they attend in addition to their managerial duties.

    - 14 weeks of new hire training, and the training only gets tougher as the weeks continue. Again as with my previous posts, it can be overwhelming and I've seen it happen first-hand with other new hires. I understand the training is important and we will likely appreciate it more when we finally start to implement it. Regardless, parts of the training are very dry even with our instructor giving us breaks and doing her best to make it fun.

    - Blackout dates are November through January because they are the busiest times of the year. Again, not a big issue for me because I understand the reasons why, but it can still be a bummer. It was also communicated to me multiple times before I accepted the job offer that this would be required of me, so it's only a minor con.

    - Another minor con, but I wish there was more than 1 day of volunteer paid time off. I love to know I am making a difference not just in the business but also on a personal level. There are many volunteer activities I'd love to participate in like I did before my employment here, but now I feel limited to choose when their policy is only a single day.

    Advice to Management

    No advice to give currently. It’s been great, and I am having a great experience. It is no doubt challenging, but I am handling it!


  5. "District Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - District Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADP full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Make your own schedule, employees are rewarded for hard work

    Cons

    Your success is determined by your opportunity and opportunity is not always distributed fairly.

    ADP Response

    Mar 13, 2017 – Project Specialist

    Thank you for the evaluation of ADP Chicago. Your analysis is appreciated.


  6. "Operations Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Elk Grove Village, IL
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Elk Grove Village, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADP full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great leadership and builds talent.

    Cons

    Always changing management and processes.

    ADP Response

    Mar 10, 2017 – Project Specialist

    Thank you for the review.


  7. "HRB Service Center"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Support Administrator in Elk Grove Village, IL
    Former Employee - Client Support Administrator in Elk Grove Village, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ADP part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    -401(k)
    -Networking opportunities
    -Learning experiences
    -Executives care about employees of any status

    Cons

    -People are often hired based on who they know/are related to
    -Not enough training

    Advice to Management

    Make more opportunities for growth for admin positions

    ADP Response

    Mar 3, 2017 – Project Specialist

    Thanks for your attentive review of the Elks Grove Village location.

  8. "Growth potential. Work culture is top grade. Generous benefits/compensation."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Implementation Consultant I in Elk Grove Village, IL
    Current Employee - Implementation Consultant I in Elk Grove Village, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADP full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Opportunities to move laterally and vertically are abundant. Compensation and benefits are attractive. Work life balance for the majority of the year is excellent.

    Cons

    October through January the workload can be dizzying. During this time, the amount of quality resources available to troubleshoot in a time crunch is scarce

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!!

    ADP Response

    Feb 23, 2017 – Project Specialist

    Thank you for the assessment of ADP and commentary on our busy time. We appreciate the review.


  9. "Open Enrollment Specialist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Elk Grove Village, IL
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Elk Grove Village, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ADP as a contractor (Less than a year)

    Pros

    ADP has a very good training program in place with very knowledgeable trainers. Help and resources are available to employees at all times. ADP also makes work fun. There are multiple food events with free breakfasts, lunches, or snacks to break up the daily routine. We even got to wear pajamas one day!!!

    Cons

    Some people took advantage of the food and also tardiness, longer lunches, and leaving early as there was no time clock.


  10. "Financial Analyst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Senior Staff Accountant in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Senior Staff Accountant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends

    I worked at ADP (More than a year)

    Pros

    At ADP my professional growth was always strongly encouraged.

    Cons

    Honestly, I cannot think of any bad points at this time. I left to stay at home full time with my children.

    ADP Response

    Jan 23, 2017 – Project Specialist

    Great review! We can't think of any bad points either. :)


Showing 133 of 5,176 reviews
Reset Filters