ADS Reviews | Glassdoor

ADS Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 68 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Jason Wallace
15 Ratings
  1. Helpful (9)

    "Super Proud of Our Mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Relaxed, casual work environment. Opportunity to be innovative - lots of freedom to try new things. Amazing customers. People are happy to work here.

    Cons

    High expectations - always raising the bar on goals & workload. Very fast paced and can be intense. Advancement requires a lot of independence. Career paths aren't crystal clear.

    Advice to Management

    Work harder on helping people see "next steps" - lots of people get promoted but it isn't always totally clear how to get there. Consider hiring more support. We have SO MUCH admin and sometimes it might be better not to waste productive time on it.

    ADS2017-10-03
  2. Helpful (4)

    "A Really Special Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Everyone here is committed to taking care of those who serve our country. That belief impacts everything we do and sets the tone our culture. We work incredibly hard because our customers deserve nothing else. I can't think of a more fulfilling way to spend a career.

    Cons

    None that come to mind.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    ADS2017-10-03
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Truly Committed to Serving our Customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ADS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    ADS has fun group of energetic and motivated employees who work together well as a team. Clear and defined mission of excellent customer service.

    Cons

    Perhaps I haven't been here long enough but can't think of any glaring cons.

    ADS2017-10-04
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Quick Interview Process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADS full-time

    Pros

    They do a great job of vetting their team members.

    Cons

    If you don't fit the culture of a work hard company, it's not really for you.

    ADS2017-10-03
  5. Helpful (4)

    "If you're not sales, you don't matter at this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ADS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flex time , relaxed dress code

    Cons

    Company focus is on sales. I am not in sales, and my comp plans are laughable. I am paid @ $7,000 below industry standard. I watch the sales floor and upper management earn bonuses and commissions while the rest of the company is ignored. Everything here is about MARGIN. And if you question the company's focus, you are suddenly not a patriotic American. Watch the movie "War Dogs" and it pretty much sums up this...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to those core values you have all over the walls. Because your "do as I say, not as I do" mentality, will catch up with you....eventually.

    ADS2017-09-22

    ADS Response

    October 3, 2017VP OF HR

    We definitely are a sales organization - I know it can be frustrating sometimes to see how much attention is paid to that part of our business. I assure you, though, that every member of ADS is critical to us helping fulfill our customers needs and make sure the men and women in ...

    Show More
  6. "Manager at ADS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at ADS full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, great people, high pay and comprehensive benefit packages.

    Cons

    None that come to mind.

    ADS2017-03-24
  7. "good starter job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at ADS

    Pros

    free lunches, pet friendly, the energy is great overall

    Cons

    some favoritism.. it can get quite cliquish really

    ADS2017-01-21
  8. "Learned a lot about government contracting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - OUTSIDE SALES 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ADS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Autonomy to make your own schedule for outside reps, they pay per diem, mileage, etc.. Bonuses paid to sales force

    Cons

    Young inexperienced people placed in leadership positions who know corporate processes and procedures but really don't know their market well or lack fundamental leadership skills.. but they are aggressive "go-getters" the senior bosses like.

    Advice to Management

    Place people with real leadership skills in those roles, everything else will fall in place.

    ADS2016-12-20
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great Mission - Muddled processes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ADS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    We support the greatest customers in the world. We have a fun, progressive team that honestly like to work here and help our customers get the equipment they need to succeed at their jobs.

    Cons

    The company doesn't stick with anything for very long because there is always a better idea, or a new priority supplier. It's hard to really move up the ladder because the company is still pretty small.

    Advice to Management

    Make long-term plans; communicate the plan to the team; stick to the plan. Our customers need us to be flexible but we still have to follow through.

    ADS2016-11-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Boost Your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ADS

    Pros

    Healthy work environment with driven employees, many of which are veterans. Gain working knowledge of Government contracts and expand your network.

    Cons

    Requires extended hours during certain times of the year.

    ADS2016-10-14
Found 68 reviews