ADS Sales Reviews | Glassdoor

ADS Sales Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
97%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Jason Wallace
3 Ratings
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ADS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positive work environment and employees

    Cons

    Pay is awful for money brought in

    ADS2019-06-22
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Lawsuit waiting to Happen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to rocket up the corporate ladder if you are an attractive young female willing to work "long nights" and travel with executives.

    Cons

    -Blatant sexual harrasment occuring daily by management. -Company routinely hires former military for their contacts and then disposes of them once their rolodex has been exploited. -Non compete essentially traps employees, preventing them from being able to leave and work within the industry. -Multiple complaints to HR from multiple employees have not been addressed other than the promotion of HR executives....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Purge upper management. Bring in legit executives who can lead from experience not blackmail.

    ADS2018-03-14
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Best Place In VB to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADS full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Few companies have such a strong purpose. We support the men and women who defend our country. It makes coming to work much more meaningful. I appreciate the efforts to the make the company better. They are never satisfied with the status quo.

    Cons

    ADS is a small company so it can be difficult to quickly promote. You have to be patient, work hard, and wait for an opportunity to promote. People are typically in a role for 3-4 years before they advance to the next position.

    Advice to Management

    Overall I am very happy with the management. Ensuring the employees know why a decision was made is important. Sometimes decisions are made without much communication.

    ADS2018-01-22

    ADS Response

    May 16, 2018Digital Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We pride ourselves on working for the men and women serving this country. Happy you're apart of it as well.

  4. Helpful (4)

    "Clear up misinformed reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been at ADS for a couple of years now and find these recent reviews to be total crap! This is an absolutely great place to work and the digs that the individual(s) are taking in the last few negative reviews are obviously from someone who is a disgruntled former employee. While yes, ADS is not perfect, the company as a whole has always done what is right by the individuals who make this place great. The organization...

    Show More

    Cons

    NONE. Be reasonable in your expectations if you're going to work for the best in the business. Late hours and long travel sometimes comes with the territory but I will attest that the leadership team does what is right for the individuals who put in the effort required for the job.

    Advice to Management

    Keep making the changes and putting forth the effort to make this place a great environment to work in.

    ADS2018-01-08
  5. "Learned a lot about government contracting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - OUTSIDE SALES 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ADS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Autonomy to make your own schedule for outside reps, they pay per diem, mileage, etc.. Bonuses paid to sales force

    Cons

    Young inexperienced people placed in leadership positions who know corporate processes and procedures but really don't know their market well or lack fundamental leadership skills.. but they are aggressive "go-getters" the senior bosses like.

    Advice to Management

    Place people with real leadership skills in those roles, everything else will fall in place.

    ADS2016-12-20
  6. "Be careful of wolves in sheeps clothing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ADS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a high energy environment with a casual atmosphere that plays to a younger demographic. A lot of non-monetary perks to the job as management is very generous ensuring that it employees are happy and productive.

    Cons

    If you are an outsider, be careful of managers that have an agenda. Such a small company does not allow for much protection. Its still a small company that is trying to act like a big company in some ways but wont take that next step and professionalize.

    Advice to Management

    Hire communicative leaders that are part of the solution and don't have their own agendas.

    ADS2014-11-03
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not what I expected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Virginia Beach, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ADS for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people below the management level; great benefits; enjoyable office setting and spaces.

    Cons

    Long uncompensated for working hours near end of fiscal year: do as I say, not as I do mentality; upper management is a club few may enter which discourages upward mobility; 30% turnover rate of personnel (i.e. "Town Meetings" are held, new employees show up and during a "How we're growing" speech, they're asked to raise their hands, they do, but don't realize that they are the replacements to the 30% or so people management...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do the right thing; treat your people like you want to be treated; your actions are obvious and employees notice when you hold yourselves above them.

    ADS2013-10-14
  8. "ADS is the Greatest Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Manager in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADS full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The employees and customers are second to none and are what makes work exciting. The competitive atmosphere forces me to become a better manager, leader, and person everyday. The executive management only have the best interest of ADS employees at heart and strive to make the company better every day.

    Cons

    Nobody could go wrong with working for this company.

    Advice to Management

    The Kool-aid could have a little more sugar in it:)

    ADS2013-04-30
  9. "Low pay and slashed commission and bonus plans"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ADS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great group of colleagues, free workout facility, some travel and you do get to work with some of the best customers in the world and help make a difference in their procurement process.

    Cons

    ADS has recently become very top-heavy and has recently changed their comp plan for all of inside sales. They view you more as a customer service order taker than the account manager you really are and in some events manage the territory better than your outside rep that gets paid 2x-3x what you do. With the new comp plan, they slashed commission and bonuses, so even if you have the best year ever and work the hardest...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't take the "MBA" approach, pay the reps that have been with your company for years and earned you millions of dollars what they deserve.

    ADS2013-04-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Employment was a great stepping stone in the government industry."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Sales Manager in
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at ADS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The networking opportunity is unmatched

    Cons

    The company will go through great lengths to avoid paying commissions.

    ADS2012-09-27
Found 10 reviews