ADS "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

ADS Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 68 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Jason Wallace
15 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "New HR department claims to protect employees however that remains to be seen(in 4 reviews)

  • "ask about how many sexual harassment complaints have been logged in the last 5 years(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ADS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positive work environment and employees

    Cons

    Pay is awful for money brought in

    ADS2019-06-22
  2. Helpful (8)

    "watch you back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Virginia Beach, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ADS full-time

    Pros

    Young fun work environment Great mission Great benefits (health care, gym membership, cell phone stipend) Fast paced growing company

    Cons

    Feels a little cliquish. If your not in with the “in group” you get lost. A lot of rumours about sales team and managers sleeping around. Some of the managers are “dog eat dog” meaning they will throw you under the bus and step on your throat to get ahead. I am uncomfortable going to HR to raise my concerns about my manager.

    Advice to Management

    Have your employees back. We work hard for you to make your team goal and it’s deincentivizing when we are thrown under the bus for your shortcomings. HR, please don’t retaliate when concerns are expressed.

    ADS2018-01-02

    ADS Response

    January 8, 2018VP OF HR

    As we've said in other responses, if you are unhappy in your role or have concerns, please voice them. We take every complaint seriously, investigate fully, and address any behavioral lapses accordingly. There HAVE been rumors about relationships between managers and subordinates. ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Super Proud of Our Mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Relaxed, casual work environment. Opportunity to be innovative - lots of freedom to try new things. Amazing customers. People are happy to work here.

    Cons

    High expectations - always raising the bar on goals & workload. Very fast paced and can be intense. Advancement requires a lot of independence. Career paths aren't crystal clear.

    Advice to Management

    Work harder on helping people see "next steps" - lots of people get promoted but it isn't always totally clear how to get there. Consider hiring more support. We have SO MUCH admin and sometimes it might be better not to waste productive time on it.

    ADS2017-10-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Boost Your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ADS

    Pros

    Healthy work environment with driven employees, many of which are veterans. Gain working knowledge of Government contracts and expand your network.

    Cons

    Requires extended hours during certain times of the year.

    ADS2016-10-14
  5. "ADS good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ADS for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment, small company with big reach and diversification

    Cons

    with small company, promotions often go to who plays office politics the best, not who is best for the job. Pay is low.

    ADS2016-02-12
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Great mission, good people, bad upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ADS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great mission, nice work environment

    Cons

    Few growth opportunities, frat boy self serving upper management group. Sexual harassment is highly tolerated and winked at. For instance, one employee who was let go for sexual harassment retains an office (?!) and still occasionally roams the office kissing female employees. Another was demoted but still carries on with highly offensive remarks but is protected. Common denominator is their relationship to the owner.

    Advice to Management

    You are not invisible, your employees see more than you think they do. Sacred cow employees who retain jobs because of who they know, are related to, or are sleeping with are a drain on the payroll and the morale of other employees. You have many really great people who are tired of being told there isn't any money for raises while the owners and posse of favorites line their own pockets and reward their favorites....

    Show More
    ADS2014-11-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Phenomenal. I absolutely love our mission and our goal to help our nation's defense."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Database Integrity in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing work environment. Great group of people to work with. I enjoy coming into work each day!!

    Cons

    No cons to mention. I love our culture and our values!!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work. I love working ADS.

    ADS2014-07-01
Found 68 reviews