ADT Security Services "install" Reviews | Glassdoor

ADT Security Services Employee Reviews about "install"

Updated Nov 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
42%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
ADT Security Services CEO Jim DeVries (no image)
Jim DeVries
114 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lots of room to move up with the company-Great training-good benefits(in 156 reviews)

  • "ADT offers very competitive wages to all employees along with great benefits(in 94 reviews)

Cons
  • "There was pressure to close on deals and force an install date on a potential(in 120 reviews)

  • "Need to give a base to sales reps(in 91 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "install"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADT Security Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This company will PAY YOU for hard work. Bi-weekly pay, Bonuses EVERY week if you can manage your time and be productive. Commission on sales made, even as a Technician.

    Cons

    They are going away from "Install" and "Service" technician titles, so now "A technician is a technician" This stinks for those of us in the industry, but for someone new, they wouldn't care much.

    ADT Security Services2018-06-03
  2. "Bullies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at ADT Security Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, holidays off, hour lunch breaks

    Cons

    There was pressure to close on deals and force an install date on a potential install.

    ADT Security Services2019-11-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Stay away if you want to get paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ADT Security Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The training is very good and decent training pay. Benefits are good

    Cons

    Long install time. It take 3+ months to get your clientele built up so you can start making money. Company leads are scarce and inconsistent. Straight commission but you get micro managed like you are on salary. Unethical and dishonest management. I left and am still owed pay and expenses 2 months later

    Advice to Management

    Stop micro managing and pay your employees and be honest and act with integrity.

    ADT Security Services2019-09-23
  4. "Don't do it.. you'll thank me later"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ADT Security Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay at best is okay

    Cons

    ADT has one of the most shadiest business practices I've ever seen. Everything from having 3rd party contractors install the alarm system keeping the customer confused to its annual rate increases without letting the customer know. ADT is by far the worst place I have ever had the misfortune of working at.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe if you actually listened to your employees things wouldn't be so horrible there.

    ADT Security Services2019-06-13
  5. "Terrible support for employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adt Security Sales in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ADT Security Services full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    work from home mostly; can make money if you hustle

    Cons

    steals leads and gives them to third party dealers; fight for commissions; little support for employees; installers don't have right parts, middle and upper management are worried about passing the buck

    Advice to Management

    stop stealing leads and supporting third party dealers, stop phone sellers from selling incorrect systems over the phone

    ADT Security Services2019-05-29
  6. "Work all day, and you don't get paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Promotional Consultant in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ADT Security Services for less than a year

    Pros

    -Was in Downtown/ South Knoxville -Decent chances for promotion - Did have company cars

    Cons

    - Was only compensated when we made sales, which was rare - Worked all day in the hot sun - Got attacked by a dog, stopped by cops, and threatened by homeowners. -Was upsold by installers which made us look terrible - No benefits

    ADT Security Services2019-03-02
  7. "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Shoreview, MN
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ADT Security Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and incentives No micro-managing

    Cons

    Need more install technicians Cold calling

    ADT Security Services2018-11-01
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Small Business Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Shoreview, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ADT Security Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have a good manager and you get some company-provided leads. Casual atmosphere. Enjoyable day-to-day work process. Mostly you are working in the field from home. It's a sales job so for the most part you make of it what you put into it.

    Cons

    The company as a whole seems very disorganized. I had to start late because someone delayed running my background report. Someone fudged my address so I never got my health HSA card, it was sent to a wrong address. I've never been fully paid my travel benefits because no one seems to know how I am supposed to sign up to receive them. Most questions regarding compensation or benefits involve me becoming a ping pong ball between the HR Manager and my Sales Manager. I am customer service and am expected to hunt down a payment when a customer has a billing issue or a tech problem. The company actively attempts to pay you as little as possible. You don't get a salary in this role, it's commission only. Rather than assigning all phone or internet inquiries to you to help make of for this fact, the company always sells the new system or add-on parts over the phone/online to cut you out of a commission, then the installers complain it was sold all wrong as no one visited the site and couldn't have known what to sell. There is absolutely 0 team atmosphere, no one introduced themselves to me. You get the gist pretty quickly, it's a revolving door and the few veteran sales guys aren't your friends. Everyone is defensive, there are only a few team players holding down the fort. There is a ton of fishy business with who gets what company-provided leads and why. The sales rep that has been there for over 10 years gets 3x more leads than anyone else, and you aren't supposed to talk about it or ask questions, you won't get an answer. It's tough to compete in this role with such an increasingly competitive environment in this industry and the company from the top down seems focused on what worked in the past.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do more team building efforts. Either pay an hourly wage or provide all leads to your reps fairly rather than doing inefficient phone sales to allow your reps to make a realistic living while building personal relationships with your customers.

    ADT Security Services2018-09-26
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Not like the commercials"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Small Business Sales Representative in Melville, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ADT Security Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relative freedom, no territories, quick commission payouts

    Cons

    Baaaad customer service and install department

    Advice to Management

    Make the install department do their jobs. There's no point in selling a job if it doesn't get installed because an hourly union installer doesn't feel like working today.

    ADT Security Services2018-10-10
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Custom Home Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Custom Homes Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ADT Security Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Create your own schedule. Good commission rates. Good health insurance rates.

    Cons

    Local branch management is very out of touch. Appointments flow is very poor and many appointments are a waste of time. Call center makes appointments on wrong day and / or with clients who don't even want appointments. Since it is commission only this is a huge source of frustration. Appointments are made for sales with little to no commission potential then large scale jobs are sold by phone which supposedly isn't supposed to happen. You can sell a job and then the tech can go to do the install and talk the customer out of it and there goes your commission. Expected to get self generated sales but lead flow is very weak and poor. Not what I expected at all. Very disappointed how things are ran. Also the car allowance and mileage system is a joke. The car issue alone has me searching out new job opportunities.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give the appointments to sales professionals instead of being sold over the phone if you want to keep good commission only sales people. PLEASE train NSC better. Appointments can be a real mess frequently.

    ADT Security Services2018-10-04
Found 120 reviews