ADT Security Services "sales reps" Reviews | Glassdoor

ADT Security Services Employee Reviews about "sales reps"

Updated Nov 22, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
42%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
ADT Security Services CEO Jim DeVries (no image)
Jim DeVries
114 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lots of room to move up with the company-Great training-good benefits(in 156 reviews)

  • "ADT offers very competitive wages to all employees along with great benefits(in 94 reviews)

Cons
  • "There was pressure to close on deals and force an install date on a potential(in 120 reviews)

  • "Need to give a base to sales reps(in 91 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "sales reps"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Residential Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ADT Security Services

    Pros

    excellent pay, awesome local management team that helps with problems and goes to bat for employees. Fantastic benefits and a truly enjoyable job for those that thrive in a sales environment. the quotas are easily manageable with hard work and good people skills. If you are truly good at sales and treat your customers with respect and care it will highly benefit you. There is always more to learn and I love that ADT is always moving forward, providing tools and resources for us to improve. Customers love the experience of a face to face with a sales rep who will work to meet their present and future needs and not just be a one time cold call on the phone.

    Show More

    Cons

    Upper level management bureaucracy can be frustrating. There are too many times when upper management only looks at results as a whole, from each branch office or region, and sends down additional or new activity requirements that should really only be applied to reps who are not performing to company sales standards. Also the company has put a major focus and push on self generated business, rather than company leads, which in itself is not a bad thing- but there are reps who skate by by pulling in a minimum amount of self generated business but still not actually meeting their sales quotas month after month after month. But they are still employed because they get that minimum amount of self generated business. Our particular area could be performing much better as a whole if we had reps that put their all into it and met their quotas, but we are holding onto sub par sales reps instead of replacing them. it is not local management that is the cause of that problem, it is upper level compant leadership that is allowing this to become the new standard.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on training reps to truly be Customer Obsessed. There are too many reps who don't understand what that means and are only concerned about their paycheck. Go back to putting reps on PIPs if they don't perform to the requirements of our sales agreement, coach and teach them to do better, and if they don't- drop the dead weight and hire people who will. There are too many people out there looking for a job who would be an awesome asset to ADT to keep people around who skate by just to pay their bills. Also, allow local management the jurisdiction to decide when extra requirements might not need to apply for reps that are performing above and beyond to standard. Recognize the importance from a customer's viewpoint of having these face to face sales meetings, rather than trying to shove every customer possible through the phone sales channel, and then kicking it to field sales only if it can't be sold by phone. No matter how far we go with technology, nothing will ever replace the feeling of personal one on one customer service.

    Show More
    ADT Security Services2016-05-16
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Dumpster Fire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ADT Security Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have restrooms that you can use.

    Cons

    The whole thing is a con. Worst leadership I have ever seen in a recruiting department. Ran like a recruiting agency without the money. Leadership of the sales recruiting department is comical and completely unqualified. Over promise, under deliver. Complete lack of talent. Was there for close to a year and saw 30 people come and go on our team. Trying to recruit and hire commission only residential sales reps with ADT's horrible reputation is difficult as it is. Add leadership who are completely clueless and couldn't do the job themselves makes it mind numbing.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to recruit. Learn how to actually lead people. Learn how to motivate people. Stop offering a pizza party as a reward for an unreachable goal. These are adults working for you and they can buy their own pizza. Also, stop flying to Denver. Nobody liked your stupid stories.

    ADT Security Services2018-11-22
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Small Business Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Shoreview, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ADT Security Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have a good manager and you get some company-provided leads. Casual atmosphere. Enjoyable day-to-day work process. Mostly you are working in the field from home. It's a sales job so for the most part you make of it what you put into it.

    Cons

    The company as a whole seems very disorganized. I had to start late because someone delayed running my background report. Someone fudged my address so I never got my health HSA card, it was sent to a wrong address. I've never been fully paid my travel benefits because no one seems to know how I am supposed to sign up to receive them. Most questions regarding compensation or benefits involve me becoming a ping pong ball between the HR Manager and my Sales Manager. I am customer service and am expected to hunt down a payment when a customer has a billing issue or a tech problem. The company actively attempts to pay you as little as possible. You don't get a salary in this role, it's commission only. Rather than assigning all phone or internet inquiries to you to help make of for this fact, the company always sells the new system or add-on parts over the phone/online to cut you out of a commission, then the installers complain it was sold all wrong as no one visited the site and couldn't have known what to sell. There is absolutely 0 team atmosphere, no one introduced themselves to me. You get the gist pretty quickly, it's a revolving door and the few veteran sales guys aren't your friends. Everyone is defensive, there are only a few team players holding down the fort. There is a ton of fishy business with who gets what company-provided leads and why. The sales rep that has been there for over 10 years gets 3x more leads than anyone else, and you aren't supposed to talk about it or ask questions, you won't get an answer. It's tough to compete in this role with such an increasingly competitive environment in this industry and the company from the top down seems focused on what worked in the past.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do more team building efforts. Either pay an hourly wage or provide all leads to your reps fairly rather than doing inefficient phone sales to allow your reps to make a realistic living while building personal relationships with your customers.

    ADT Security Services2018-09-26
  4. "I Worked There Three Days"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Fredericksburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at ADT Security Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The ability to make a lot of money is there.

    Cons

    This is if you are working as a Sales Rep-if you like being kept in the dark about what's going on, where you're going and when you'll be back home this job is perfect for you. My third day was spent in the field-I was placed in a van and was not told where we were going until half way there...we went three hours south of where I live and where the office is based. We worked all day in the hot sun-being dropped off in neighborhoods to knock on doors-and I made zero money as I was still training. I worked a 13 hour day...for free. If you like making money, then it's fine, but if you have a family or are looking for something that's typical eight hours...avoid this job at all costs.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more open with you employees at orientation. I was told nothing about where I would be going or how to dress. They said business casual and so I wore nice dress pants. It's 90 degrees outside...I should have been informed to wear shorts, bring sunscreen and that I would be traveling four hours away from home for an extended period of time.

    ADT Security Services2018-08-11
  5. "residential Sales person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ADT Security Services full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Checks did not bounce and good benefits

    Cons

    commission only with highest prices in market. Management views sales reps as people who can live off less income.

    Advice to Management

    pays sales people better

    ADT Security Services2018-08-06
  6. "Territory Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ADT Security Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You could make your own schedule every day.

    Cons

    ADT stopped giving sales reps leads and it's a 100% commission based job.

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    ADT Security Services2018-06-12
  7. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ADT Security Services for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and opportunity

    Cons

    Need to give a base to sales reps

    ADT Security Services2018-04-03
  8. Helpful (9)

    "ADT Custom Home Services Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Custom Home Services in Concord, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ADT Security Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Compensation per sold job was good. Worked with affluent clients in homes valued over one million dollars. I had good production and was recognized as the top Rookie Sales Rep in the company.

    Cons

    Canned sales pitch known as "the Model Sales Call" must be adhered to leaving little creativity in the hands of the Rep facing the customer. High pressure from management to close the deal on the first sales call forced an approach that turned-off a large percentage of possible clients. Toughest competition was with small companies that worked with ADT directly as "Authorized Agents'. These company sold systems to the end-user at lower rates and with better promotions than I could offer as an ADT employee (customers were shocked by this and so was I). ADT would then buy the monitoring contract from the Authorized Dealer, essentially cutting their sales employees out of the deal while still winning the monitoring contract. This was very frustrating to the ADT employed Sales Rep as well as the client (due to warranty finger pointing after the installation-who fixes any issue that arises the Authorized Dealer or ADT?). The company promotes a level of customer service for these affluent customers that goes above and beyond the normal client residing in a lower value home. This promise is unfortunately not kept due to the fact that the same installation and service teams ultimately perform the system installations with the same pressures for productivity and closing out of projects. Authorized Dealers try to make their clients think that they are dealing with ADT directly, rather than solely as the company monitoring their system. Don't take my word for this though since you can watch their commercials on TV and see them in print media as well. Lots of sales attrition.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Support your sales people! Don't let Authorized Dealers undercut your direct pricing you allow your own reps to offer to the marketplace while doing their best to make clients believe they are working with ADT directly. If this model won't work, eliminate your sales people completely and gather clients openly using the Authorized Dealer model. If a higher level of service is promised thru the Model Sales call for these affluent clients, strive to live-up to that commitment and realize that the Operations Teams ultimately make that promise a reality to a far greater degree than the Sales Guy!

    Show More
    ADT Security Services2018-01-25
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Company struggling, sales reps overextended and undercompesated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Small Business Sales in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ADT Security Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Excellent brand recognition, reliable products being sold. - Great first sales job (micromanaged daily tasks means you will learn the ADT way to sell, no exceptions) - Commission only sales job (which USED to be a huge plus, but see below to view all the other tasks given to these sales reps which do not convert to $$ in your pocket)

    Cons

    - Corporate controlled bidding process rarely allows the sales reps to remain competitive within the alarm space. - Company focusing more on sales over the phone, this means you often will be prospecting in the field and find a location was already sold over the phone before you arrive. - **You will even find that resale sites have been sold over the phone before you even see them disconnect from service internally. You can't win. - Competition from outside companies, as well as internal ADT phone sales, and independent ADT branded dealers. It's a lose/lose for anyone selling w ADT - Sales directives come from middle management, (not your direct manager) and regions as a whole are in steep decline. Those on the ground have no say in how to manage their territory. - Because ADT is such a large organization, you will not have the latest products or tech available. You will have what came out 1-2 years ago because that's how long it takes to approve a product for the company to sell. - With DIY alarm products becoming much better and more affordable, I don't foresee ADT to be able to compete. - Technicians have been jumping ship as well, leading to longer waits for install openings.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    These knee jerk recovery initiatives will not protect your jobs for much longer. You're trying to squeeze blood from a rock, and unfortunately the issues with ADT are not within your powers to fix, and must come from the executive team to really turn this ship around.

    ADT Security Services2018-02-16
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Small Business Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Small Business Sales Representative in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADT Security Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule Benefits Hit above plan and can make decent money

    Cons

    Lack of Company Leads Phone Sales and Dealers are the main sales focus Corporate sales reps turnover is 70-80% in most offices

    Advice to Management

    Create a rep council to hear what works and does not work in the field Create a Senior Rep Position When company goes public AGAIN - give stock options as part of employee.rep compensation Sales manager d

    ADT Security Services2017-12-24
Found 91 reviews