ADT Security Services Employee Reviews about "sales reps"

Updated Jan 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
49%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
ADT Security Services CEO Jim DeVries (no image)
Jim DeVries
336 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits - lots of amenities(in 171 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and great supervisors(in 97 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Install department is a challenge to work with(in 95 reviews)

  • "Most companies pay their sales reps at least 40k(in 93 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of ADT Security Services and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "sales reps"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Residential Sales

      May 15, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      excellent pay, awesome local management team that helps with problems and goes to bat for employees. Fantastic benefits and a truly enjoyable job for those that thrive in a sales environment. the quotas are easily manageable with hard work and good people skills. If you are truly good at sales and treat your customers with respect and care it will highly benefit you. There is always more to learn and I love that ADT is always moving forward, providing tools and resources for us to improve. Customers love the experience of a face to face with a sales rep who will work to meet their present and future needs and not just be a one time cold call on the phone.

      Cons

      Upper level management bureaucracy can be frustrating. There are too many times when upper management only looks at results as a whole, from each branch office or region, and sends down additional or new activity requirements that should really only be applied to reps who are not performing to company sales standards. Also the company has put a major focus and push on self generated business, rather than company leads, which in itself is not a bad thing- but there are reps who skate by by pulling in a minimum amount of self generated business but still not actually meeting their sales quotas month after month after month. But they are still employed because they get that minimum amount of self generated business. Our particular area could be performing much better as a whole if we had reps that put their all into it and met their quotas, but we are holding onto sub par sales reps instead of replacing them. it is not local management that is the cause of that problem, it is upper level compant leadership that is allowing this to become the new standard.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      ADT Security Services Response

      Content Marketing Manager

      Thank you for your review. We're thrilled to hear you're happy with your pay/benefits and the sales career path at ADT. We appreciate your honest about ADT's management. We strive to provide our employees with an environment where they feel heard. If you would be interested in providing us more information related to your concern, please email glassdoor@adt.com with your name/location and a description of your concern. We would like to try and be of further assistance.

    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great coworkers, but job was pretty boring

      Jan 18, 2021 - Contract Processor in Jacksonville, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome management, and easy work once you get the hang of the job

      Cons

      Arguing with sales reps when they try to take credit for a lead that wasn’t theirs, got kind of boring for me after awhile, pay was meh

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company to start sales career with!

      Feb 19, 2020 - Small Business Sales Representative in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pros of this role is how autonomous it is and you really get to create your schedule and determine what your work hours are. Great ongoing training with this role as well. Lots of resources and provide you with tools to be successful within company.

      Cons

      No base salary, 100% commission. Most companies pay their sales reps at least 40k + uncapped commissions.

      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Dumpster Fire

      Nov 22, 2018 - Recruiter in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have restrooms that you can use.

      Cons

      The whole thing is a con. Worst leadership I have ever seen in a recruiting department. Ran like a recruiting agency without the money. Leadership of the sales recruiting department is comical and completely unqualified. Over promise, under deliver. Complete lack of talent. Was there for close to a year and saw 30 people come and go on our team. Trying to recruit and hire commission only residential sales reps with ADT's horrible reputation is difficult as it is. Add leadership who are completely clueless and couldn't do the job themselves makes it mind numbing.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      ADT Security Services Response

      Thank you for your honest review. Our employees are of the utmost importance to us, and we are sorry to hear your experience did not meet your initial expectations. If you would like to provide us with additional information regarding your situation, please send us an email at recruiting@adt.com with your name/location and problem description. Thank you.

    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Every office is run differently

      Oct 8, 2015 - Small Business Sales Representative in Tulsa, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked for corporate. My boss was extremely easy to work for and very flexible, did not micro-manage. Even though they only offer full commision, they do have a training salary and have great benefits, plus they paid vehicle reimbursement, offered cell phone discount, paid for all work related materials, etc. I was able to make a living, even when I couldn't work a full time schedule.

      Cons

      I was on the small business side and my boss was great to work for, but the residential manager was exactly opposite and made lives miserable with accountablitly so high it took up hours each week of reporting what they were doing, who they were calling and constantly threatening they may lose their jobs, so it really just depends on who you are working for. Things changed for me when a new, unexperienced manager came in.Just because you are good at sales, does not make you a good leader. Also, the billing department was always making mistakes. It was very difficult to get things straightened out for your customers, which makes the sales rep look bad. They have a system for calling in sales and it would take hours to do this when you had several sales because they would make you start over for each sale and would keep you on hold for so long.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Small Business Sales Associate

      Sep 26, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Shoreview, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have a good manager and you get some company-provided leads. Casual atmosphere. Enjoyable day-to-day work process. Mostly you are working in the field from home. It's a sales job so for the most part you make of it what you put into it.

      Cons

      The company as a whole seems very disorganized. I had to start late because someone delayed running my background report. Someone fudged my address so I never got my health HSA card, it was sent to a wrong address. I've never been fully paid my travel benefits because no one seems to know how I am supposed to sign up to receive them. Most questions regarding compensation or benefits involve me becoming a ping pong ball between the HR Manager and my Sales Manager. I am customer service and am expected to hunt down a payment when a customer has a billing issue or a tech problem. The company actively attempts to pay you as little as possible. You don't get a salary in this role, it's commission only. Rather than assigning all phone or internet inquiries to you to help make of for this fact, the company always sells the new system or add-on parts over the phone/online to cut you out of a commission, then the installers complain it was sold all wrong as no one visited the site and couldn't have known what to sell. There is absolutely 0 team atmosphere, no one introduced themselves to me. You get the gist pretty quickly, it's a revolving door and the few veteran sales guys aren't your friends. Everyone is defensive, there are only a few team players holding down the fort. There is a ton of fishy business with who gets what company-provided leads and why. The sales rep that has been there for over 10 years gets 3x more leads than anyone else, and you aren't supposed to talk about it or ask questions, you won't get an answer. It's tough to compete in this role with such an increasingly competitive environment in this industry and the company from the top down seems focused on what worked in the past.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company, good benefits, high turnover tough

      Dec 11, 2015 - Small Business Sales in Maumee, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, 100 years plus number 1. Give some tools to help. Do more then push product down people's throat. Opportunity to learn and train. Flexible schedule and more you work generally the better pay in the end

      Cons

      Huge turnover. No loyalty or reward for veteran sales rep that produce. Cut throat. What have you don't for me today , never good enough. All about numbers and conference calls and hoops to jump through. Constantly given more things to do Dailey that we don't get paid anything for. We are commission only sale reps and the company is always cutting to make us work twice as hard and get paid half as much but pitch it as best thing since sliced cheese. Constantly ask why this or that getting no answer and only frustrated. Top people are accountants and people who never worked in industry and don't get out in field to see how things are. Been here 1.5 years and see no where to move up. If you did get promoted your taking on even more work and less pay as manager then sales reps.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      ADT Security Services Response

      Content Marketing Manager

      Thank you for writing your review. Our ADT employees are very valuable to us, and we're always looking to make improvements as a company and as an employer. To help ensure personal and professional success, we do recommend open communication with your direct manager or you can email us at glassdoor@adt.com with your name, location and a description of your concerns.

    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      It used to be a great place to work. Now it feels like prison.

      Aug 15, 2014 - Paper Pusher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent pay and benefits. PTO time accrues rapidly. Coffee and bottled water are available all the time, free of charge. Occasionally we earn a free meal or other decent prize for our hard work.

      Cons

      While PTO time accrues rapidly, good luck trying to actually get time off approved by management. Policies and procedures are constantly changing, but the rank and file do not always hear about the changes until either they ask a question or get marked off on a QA review. Ask three different managers a question, and get four different answers. Moving up only happens to those favored few. Most internal requisitions are filled before they are even released to the rest of the company. Management's answer to low morale and low productivity is "The beatings will continue until morale improves." Some sales reps treat us more like secretaries than colleagues. They also are not held accountable for how they treat us, but we are accountable for how we treat them. Some prizes for our hard work seem juvenile and demeaning.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Used to be great company to work for- Not anymore

      Jan 25, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility Cell phone and tuition reimbursement Decent dental and medical benefits Uncapped earnings Paid vacation although not much Can't say much else

      Cons

      Long hours, not enough compensation Every year you work harder and get paid significantly less due to constant compensation plan changes. To be honest, ADT offers a great alarm system. But they don't give a crap about their sales reps or even sales managers. They constantly take more and more money out of reps pockets while expecting you to work for free half the time. Most leads are sold over the phone through national call center, or sent to an authorized dealer- they send you the scraps to divide up between all the local sales reps. Company appointments you receive consist of a lot of fake appointments, renters who don't qualify, etc. The reality is they pay well for self generated sales. That's all they really want from you. Because it costs them much less that way. They will promise you a ton of company appointments, but they lie. To top it off, you have to compete with ADT dealers and ADT phone sales, both of which we can't even MATCH their price offerings let alone beat it. Look elsewhere. Most well tenured reps have left and those of us still here. .. wish we weren't and are looking elsewhere.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee

      A company changing directions!

      Oct 17, 2015 - AREA SALES MANAGER in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Large company with great benefits and resources! Split off from Tyco to find its on identity.

      Cons

      Needs help with its customer experience. Billing continues to be a issue. Sales reps need to be in a territory for better coverage. Also techs need to be on site at 8 am if you promise a 8 to 12 install . window. Area General managers need to have the ability to do a one time payment to a rep if the job gets cancelled due to a install or Admin error.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 93 Reviews

    Popular Careers with ADT Security Services Job Seekers

    ADT-Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Residential Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Small Business Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Outside Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Commercial Security Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Custom Homes Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at ADT Security Services? Share Your Experiences

    or