AECOM Reviews | Glassdoor

AECOM Reviews

Updated Dec 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
60%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
AECOM President & CEO Michael S. Burke
Michael S. Burke
1,695 Ratings
  1. "Excellent Company with lots of Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ITS/Traffic Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, plenty of opportunities related to my interests

    Cons

    Heavy corporate influence, people often complain about getting stuck doing one thing (not my experience)

    AECOM2019-10-30
  2. "Buyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Buyer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great people

    Cons

    Needs more training for new hires and employees

    AECOM2019-11-13
  3. "Project manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time

    Pros

    Growth potential is looking good

    Cons

    Slow IT due to the size

    AECOM2019-10-29
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Think about it alot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician in Waukesha, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AECOM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have not a single good reason to contribute. Nope not a one.

    Cons

    Not paid properly on a regular basis. I was misled about review and raises. They double and tripple charge customer. Put jobs out of scope so a contractor can take over for a upcharge but best part management with aecom is pulling a I'll gotten gain from this. They care only about profit it is a business but use bad practices to gain profit. All true. They owe me lots. Just keep working for charity.

    Continue reading
    AECOM2019-12-01
  5. Helpful (15)

    "Low Salary & No Long Term Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Civil Engineer in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AECOM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Flex Work hours -less micromanagement. -If you are lucky (or desperate ) and you can pushing to other Project Managers. you can work on some cool projects from other office. As the AECOM Dallas Water team has little to no work or presence in the local municipal or state or federal market, in order to stay billable, you have to depend on other office.

    Cons

    -The Dallas Water Team doesn't have any work or any win, 90% of the Water staff (PM, PE, EIT) left in the last 12 months (including Land Development Team, H&H, Design). Do not move here if you are an experienced PE or PM. Very high turnover rate. The Water Team fails to retain good people. -Very low Salary, lowest compared to industry average. Years of service at AECOM Dallas office is inversely proportional to your salary, and they don't adjust the salary for current employees when the adjust the global salary scale. People who have worked 5+ years are making 60-70k, and the new college grad with zero experience are being offered 70+k. If you ask for your deserved raise, the Dallas "leadership" or "Regonal VPs" will use every textbook tactics not to pay. -The local Dallas "leadership" do not care at all about the employee. The org chart is literally "top heavy". the Dallas Water Group have too many "Vice President" and other heavy title people, who doesn't understand the market, doesn't bring or win work, doesn't collaborate with other AECOM office, but expects their employees to be 100% billable. But by the way, when the employees went on their own, and solicit their own work from other offices, the "leadership" wants full credit for it. -No Growth Opportunities. -Very Low Morale in the Water Team.The culture overall is "fake". The internal politics between business line is too obvious. There is no assigned "office manager" for individual office. People say this often, but you are literally just a "number" there. My Advice: If possible, move to other AECOM office in Texas. Austin, Houston office has a lot of excellent PM and enough workload as well as cool projects . I have worked with a lot of PM in various AECOM offices nationwide, and I can honestly say AECOM has a lot of exceptionally talented people both in Management and Technical Side. That's just not the case for Dallas Water.

    Continue reading
    AECOM2019-10-08
  6. Helpful (26)

    "Lots of Negatives, great work experience if you can stick it out for a bit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AECOM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Really good experience to add to your resume. Big and diverse projects that will look great and give you some very practical experience. I would recommend this company to entry engineers for their first few years to get that resume padded and to learn practical skills. The company is big enough that if you ever hit a road block you can reach out to someone in the company to help.

    Cons

    Expect your salary to be lower than avg for your position. Yearly cost of living raise will barely keep up with inflation. Out of cycle raises take months to go through if they ever are even approved. Benefits get worse and worse every year, bottom of the barrel for the industry too. 3% 401k match, no HSA match, high premiums and deductibles. Rumor from upper management is that benefits for 2020 are being cut again! Engineer jobs are now starting to be outsourced to Eastern Europe and Southeast Asia because they are quote "ten times cheaper even if half of it is wrong". This is causing a lot of angst among the engineers in America. Literally everything is subcontracted out to save a buck. Every year for the past 5+ years a section of the company has been subbed out to save money. IT was contracted out to IBM but they constantly close tickets without actually fixing the problem just to meet their quota, no standard IT protocols across offices, different answers to easy questions depending on who you get a hold of in IT. Printers were subbed out but nobody came to actually set up the printers at your office, the new company just dropped them off and said good luck. We have to manually track each print since the tracking software was never set up correctly and IT won't deal with it since its a "printer company" issue. Facilities was subbed out and now nobody knows who to call to fix any office building issues, you get the run around depending on who you contact in upper management. Admin staff were completely gutted leaving all the overhead that Admin performed to now be done by the engineers. All the above now has to be handled by the already overworked engineers. Nothing can save this company it will eventually collapse from its own weight, turnover is insanely high, whole offices have vanished within the last year due to turnover.

    Continue reading
    AECOM2019-09-29
  7. "Top Notch Engineering Services Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A very welcoming and professional environment. Every corporation has its issue, but there is a big focus on professionalism and professional development at my office and the company as a whole. Pay is very good, benefits are very good too. I’m new to construction and engineering services, but my team has done a lot to train me — it’s the most formal training I’ve ever gotten at work (preciously worked at large military contractors where it was the exact opposite of all this).

    Cons

    PTO could be better, you get 15 days off the bat — which is good. However, there’s only 8 holidays so therefore you’d need to use vacation time to cover winter break. In my specific office, there could be a stronger focus on events outside of work for employees to encourage friendship and morale

    Continue reading
    AECOM2019-10-18
  8. Helpful (2)

    "PM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    ok place to work normally

    Cons

    lot of brown nose usually

    AECOM2019-10-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "over all good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Herlong, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AECOM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    they paid well and had standard work hours of 4 10 hour days a week.

    Cons

    leadership was based on who you knew and not your abilities to lead.

    Continue reading
    AECOM2019-10-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Global corporation of the highest levels of talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay. Room for growth Great overall company culture

    Cons

    It is a corporation Design can be hindered by corporate procedure Change of process aren’t as dynamic

    Continue reading
    AECOM2019-10-09
Found 4548 reviews