AECOM "urs" Reviews | Glassdoor

AECOM Employee Reviews about "urs"

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
61%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
AECOM CEO Michael S. Burke
Michael S. Burke
1,802 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Limited support from upper management(in 150 reviews)

  • "After 5 years of working to integrate URS into AECOM they just notified everyone that the company is breaking off(in 124 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "urs"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Exceptional Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Document Control Specialist in Stockton, UT
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AECOM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I worked for URS Corporation that was bought out by AECOM. The pay and benefits were incredible! The work atmosphere was relaxed and progress was always rewarded. The safety program was above and beyond a normal work site. Great place to work!

    Cons

    Some of the middle management were power-hungry and did not know how to be good supervisors.

    AECOM2018-02-21
  2. Helpful (4)

    "The Bottom Line Is All That Matters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people that came from former URS are good people

    Cons

    AECOM is in the business of cannibalizing companies and only the bottom line matters. Turn over is very high at the company and salary/benefits are low. The company is very top heavy and there is not an even spread of senior management & younger entry level/ middle positions.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on your employees, they work hard for you and are not dispensable.

    AECOM2019-09-19
  3. Helpful (12)

    "Constant change of companies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chantilly, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good experience for workers I guess

    Cons

    After 5 years of working to integrate URS into AECOM they just notified everyone that the company is breaking off...

    Advice to Management

    Stop throwing employee lives into disarray so you can make more money

    AECOM2019-06-20
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Not URS Anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with in the office and the field.

    Cons

    Since AECOM acquired URS, the focus of the company seems to be more profit driven than project driven.

    Advice to Management

    Revisit the company goals and provide incentives for all employees to improve upon product deliverables and customer satisfaction. The company will be nowhere without its customers. Also, start matching 401Ks again.

    AECOM2018-08-18
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Love my job...that's about it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Norfolk, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working for URS Corp (now part of AECOM) has given me the opportunity to do what I love.

    Cons

    I have been here for three years - my manager doesn't know my job or even where my office is located. I have literally received one performance evaluation, and had to request a face to face after the project manager had already marked my profile as complete (which calls ethics into question...). I am expected to jump at the first request, but cannot get my employee profile updated with a degree that I have had for... three years, or certifications that I have completed in the last two. There is no communication unless there is a problem, and they don't care what the employee is dealing with. It is a terrible experience and honestly if I didn't absolutely love my job, I would tell them that and leave. N.B. - I have read a lot of reviews about AECOM itself - but I think that my particular experience is not the overall company, but the people at my specific location. Either way, it now carries the AECOM name and logo and the poor management of this location makes the whole company look bad.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    pay attention to your employees - other than if they forget to update their time sheet or someone reports an issue. employees who don't receive guidance and coaching do not know what the expectations are actually evaluate your employees instead of just filling in the blocks to complete a tasker

    AECOM2018-07-31
  6. "Exposure, Not Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Planner 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AECOM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Exposure to a variety of clients; access to high-profile projects; ability to work across disciplines with the other groups

    Cons

    Not good at retaining and developing talent; bureaucracy and lack of transparency; still developing culture/business structure post-URS merge.

    Advice to Management

    Develop a rigorous professional development program to recruit and develop young professionals and keep them interested in AECOM

    AECOM2018-06-10
  7. "Electrical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AECOM full-time

    Pros

    Large challenging projects, great working environment, international exposure.

    Cons

    Company acquired URS and as the "synergy" between the two was greatly advertised at the beginning of the merger, the actually process was slowly detrimental for the employees, with many of them were let go.

    Advice to Management

    Care more about employees.

    AECOM2018-02-22
  8. "A perfect place for Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer in Carbondale, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at AECOM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Learns A LOT, from engineering to management to finance to safety to politics. The company "URS Corp" invest in the employee and push them to grow up and excel.

    Cons

    Extensive travel. Relocation is sometimes mandatory to keep your job. For a married person, it is hard to keep up with.

    AECOM2018-02-07
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Senior Technical Editor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Editor in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AECOM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    AECOM bought out its rival, URS. The URS employees who stayed through the transition are all very good people.

    Cons

    Everything that is wrong with Corporate America is represented in AECOM. AECOM puts the almighty dollar way, way, way, way, way, way, way above quality work, employee fairness, and client attention.

    Advice to Management

    Go see the Wizard and get a heart.

    AECOM2018-02-14
  10. "Sr Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at AECOM

    Pros

    Great place to grow, after some struggles including URS, this company is on the right track now to develop into a real global player providing engineering services world wide.

    Cons

    Lots of problems with dealing with business software that does not reflect the daily needs of a manager. Company however is aware of this problem, but should move faster finding better working solutions that are relatable and prove the data that is truly needed.

    Advice to Management

    Being part of management my advice is to all teams to not get frustrated, but to reach out for help more often.

    AECOM2017-12-10
Found 169 reviews