AECOM "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

AECOM Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Nov 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
61%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
AECOM President & CEO Michael S. Burke
Michael S. Burke
1,802 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Limited support from upper management(in 150 reviews)

  • "After 5 years of working to integrate URS into AECOM they just notified everyone that the company is breaking off(in 124 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Proposal Coordinator in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM for less than a year

    Pros

    Work environment is very welcoming

    Cons

    Nothing negative to say about it

    AECOM2019-09-09
  2. "Interesting Crew of Independently-minded Problem Solvers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM

    Pros

    Work style independence, decent overtime opportunities, and tolerant work environment.

    Cons

    Minimal or no proactive investment in Employee work skills. Employee resources (i.e. HR, Benefits, IT) still rather disorganized and constantly changing procedures so expect long phone waits and continual follow-ups with technical issues. Chain of command does not keep up with company policies and you may need to enlighten them frequently.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more resources to help employee navigate their career to improve retention. Ensure contracts are fair and are not under-bid or under-vetted.

    AECOM2019-10-01
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Work experience greatly depends on team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AECOM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked across two different roles during my time with the company (almost 2 years total). This review is primarily of the company and work environment. Work Environment: - Large company with wide variety of disciplines offers the potential to learn breadth - Access to engineering tools and subject matter experts Compensation: - Consulting typically has high starting salary - Bonuses offered for achieving... professional certifications - Back Pay given when leaving for personal time off not taken - Occasional opportunities to earn overtime (straight time, not 1.5x or 2x pay) Career Growth: - In depth learning website (particularly in finance and project management principles) - Subsidized access to various professional organizations General Notes: I was given very little work, despite having set up meetings with various members of mid-level leadership to gain work. After about 6 months I was placed in the subway on night shift performing inspections. This was meant to be temporary (although not related to my role) and ended up in being over a year - ending because of health problems due to the environment. When brought back on to day work, lack of work persisted. I was able to work on a separate team part time which helped provide more workload. Work experience will greatly depend on your team and its leadership. I wasted two years of my life (no significant skill or knowledge growth).

    Show More

    Cons

    Work Environment: - People either have too much work or not enough - Unwillingness/inability to delegate some work due to the need to charge time to specific projects and having to be approved by the project manager - Some interaction outside primary discipline, however generally quite limited - Generally very little effective communication - Very few people seem to enjoy their job, this shows in interactions... and performance Compensation: - Salary increase and bonuses influenced by performance against self-set goals (depending on nature of work, this can limit ability to set effective goals beyond "supporting 'X' project") - No salary increase over 2 years (not even to match inflation), apparently this is typical according to co-workers - Tied to chargeable hours to a project/client, however often limited/capped at 40 hrs per week Career Growth: - Little opportunity for growth (need for experience with several skills to move up, but little to no opportunity to gain needed skill sets, or more senior members rarely leave limiting opportunities for younger cohort) - Depending on team/role (i.e. if small or niche) there is little to no mentorship or support available

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Put effort into providing career growth opportunities to your juniors - Focus on improving the experiences of specific offices/teams and not purely regionally - Hire less frequently, or provide development programs allowing people to grow cross-functionally / cross industries

    AECOM2019-09-17
  4. "Great Place to Work and to Learn!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern Marketing in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AECOM for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, people there that want to help you succeed!

    Cons

    Tbe application process was rushed and confusing

    AECOM2019-09-11
  5. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    nice work environment oh oh

    Cons

    oh oh low salary honestly.....

    Advice to Management

    i dont have any advice oh

    AECOM2019-06-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Fiance Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern - Hourly in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM for less than a year

    Pros

    Loads of company events and a friendly work environment

    Cons

    Older, out of touch, management

    AECOM2019-06-07
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Overall not a bad company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Billing Specialist in Glen Allen, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is alright Casual working environment Good coworkers Overall I like working at this company, but from what I can gather, AECOM is a large company so a person's experience depends on the location and job role so take that into consideration

    Cons

    benefits are okay Project managers don't understand their jobs

    AECOM2019-06-03
  8. "AECOM is a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Programmer in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, good pay, flexible work environment.

    Cons

    Contracting can be unstable between contracts. AECOM's business lines are about building infrastructure, not building software applications.

    AECOM2019-05-24
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great company that treats their employees with respect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Entry Level Water Resources Engineer in Clifton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, freedom to work from home once a week, friendly working environment, hard work is rewarded with recognition.

    Cons

    Can be easy to lay low and not move up. Everyone is specialized - which is good for the company, but not great for the employee if they need someone to do something quick but that person is overworked.

    Advice to Management

    Yelling across the office to talk to employees is not conducive of a great working environment.

    AECOM2019-05-06
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Great pay, horrible benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great salary, nice office space

    Cons

    Hoteling workspaces, you have lockers for personal belongings . The health benefit cost for the employee is extremely high. You have to pay your own parking when executives with higher salaries get free parking. Not a friendly work environment.

    Advice to Management

    In this day in age, you need to be seen by your employees not just during townhalls. Even in the entertainment industry C-level walks the studio lot and is engaging. Take the time to show that you care about your employees. "Swag" AECOM product is basically all junk and a waste of money. If you're doing swag make it a quality product.

    AECOM2019-04-19
Found 236 reviews