AGAT Laboratories Reviews | Glassdoor

AGAT Laboratories Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 119 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Allan Kostanuick
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "The working environment is friendly and the employees are not monitored by their manager/supervisor(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great place to learn A LOT of instruments and procedures(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, very limited career advancement,(in 14 reviews)

  • "High turnover company who aim to increase employees for busy season with no future in the company(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Plenty of growth opportunities for those who work hard and are motivated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at AGAT Laboratories full-time

    Pros

    Plenty of growth opportunities for those who work hard and are motivated

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of at this time

    AGAT Laboratories2018-08-23
  2. "Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AGAT Laboratories full-time

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers and some superiors.

    Cons

    Bullied by coordinators and superiors.

    AGAT Laboratories2019-04-22
  3. "Lots of Growth and Opporunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AGAT Laboratories full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity for advancement. Great people to work with and for and the owner genuinely cares for the staff.

    Cons

    None - my experience was rewarding.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the wonderful work!

    AGAT Laboratories2019-04-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Chemical Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chemical Technician in Montreal, QC

    I worked at AGAT Laboratories full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    It is a perfect job for those who are just coming out of university with no significant prior experience and/or for immigrants with outside diploma. They are also flexible (depending on department), ie you can arrange with your boss on hours.

    Cons

    Pay is small, job is difficult, they don't hire enough new staff which forces workers to work harder than should be expected at a job. It is hard to take lengthy time off, summers are the most busy so in the summer it is unlikely you can take a two-or-more weeks vacation.

    Advice to Management

    Some departments desperately need new hires and yet because the budget is blocked, people suffer. They end up taking a sick leave which can last months, and most eventually quit, all of which costs the company much more than if they would just hire a few more workers to ease the job for the technicians.

    AGAT Laboratories2019-04-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AGAT Laboratories full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I have had experience working with AGAT Labs in some capacity since 2010, and more recently, as a full time employee within the company. I have had experience working with some of the top service providers in the Oil and Gas industry, and I can say for certain, that the level of respect AGAT treats its' employees with is second to none. The management team is some of the hardest working individuals I have ever come across,...

    Show More

    Cons

    I don't have any cons to report.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the incredible work.

    AGAT Laboratories2019-03-29
  6. "Bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AGAT Laboratories full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    3 days off , benefit after 3 months

    Cons

    Safety is very bad, very toxic environment but manager has no idea about it because they are teacher, technician promoted

    Advice to Management

    Safety if you dont want to compensate for employees in future!

    AGAT Laboratories2019-03-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Work here but be aware of a dictator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AGAT Laboratories full-time

    Pros

    None at all. No raises no everything.

    Cons

    Management won't listen or care about you

    Advice to Management

    Can't advise when you won't listen anyways

    AGAT Laboratories2019-04-04
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Antiquated management style, hopeless marketing strategies and extremely high turnover."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AGAT Laboratories full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The only pro I can think of is that I was based in another province, and only had to deal with the utter toxicity of senior management in punctuated moments when they visited.

    Cons

    The new CEO is a puppet, and does not take independent initiative. She has no business championing a company that can hardly guarantee any type of job security let alone growth There is no respect for the commercial management, yet they demand it openly. There was never the slightest bit of guidance or wisdom offered from those in positions of authority. Just about everyone in the company speaks so poorly of the commercial...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take time to focus on vision, and costs will balance themselves. Your staff are your lifeline, treat them as such. The rate of staff turnover AGAT has is known country-wide, and you are becoming an embarrassment within the industry.

    AGAT Laboratories2019-03-14
  9. Helpful (2)

    "One of the best opportunities I’ve ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at AGAT Laboratories full-time

    Pros

    I have finally found the place I want to work at until I retire.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    AGAT Laboratories2018-11-22
  10. "Ok place to start out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at AGAT Laboratories full-time

    Pros

    Flexible workplace, pretty good rapport among co-workers

    Cons

    Low pay, very limited career advancement,

    AGAT Laboratories2018-11-26
Found 119 reviews