AIT Reviews | Glassdoor

AIT Reviews

Updated Apr 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
26%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Ed Chalupa
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "AIT/UCT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AIT full-time

    Pros

    Lots of work, flexible schedule, close to home, free water :P

    Cons

    at times unorganized, no real cross training to speak of.

    Advice to Management

    Get better vending machines

    AIT2016-08-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Overworked and poor direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AIT full-time

    Pros

    Company pays well. Plenty of overtime. Good benefits. Many talented shop workers and friendly co workers.

    Cons

    Organization is constantly being restructured and Keeps getting worse. Designs are forever changing. You will be taking on more work than you can actually manage unless you work your life away and do other employees jobs too. There is no longer any training or employee development. Corporate has ruined the organization of this company by poor communication of projects. Expect to do multiple employees jobs because other...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop the constant poor restructuring of the organization. Simplify your processing and create better communication. Stop overworking all your valuable employees. Eventually they will just stop caring about their work. Hire the needed manpower to better make your unrealistic due dates. Offer more training and development. Take care of your shop workers or you won’t have anyone valuable to do the work.

    AIT2019-03-25
  3. "Signs of dysfunctional management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering in Bothell, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AIT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are still some good engineers there

    Cons

    Poor culture of communication (lacking), promotion of inexperienced management team, company is struggling to keep customers happy due to business tactics and approach

    Advice to Management

    I don't believe that the management team would be receptive to advice, but a cultural change is desperately needed - Are your customer's happy? Recognize that the aerospace industry is small and slow to forget.

    AIT2019-01-24
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Not For Me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AIT full-time

    Pros

    Very interesting line of work. (granted, it's just my opinion) Competitive pay if you have experience going into the role. Challenging tasks keep you mentally engaged. Some roles/departments pay overtime.

    Cons

    Full of workaholics. Most engineers that are happy working at AIT are single, child-free, pet-free, and prioritize work over everything else. Engineers with families tend to not do well in this environment due to how demanding it is. Some people enjoy it, others don't. Know what you're getting yourself into. Expected to travel 2-3 weeks at a time with hardly any notice. By the time Wednesday comes around, you still...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    What management? There is no structure or planning. This leads to most of the things listed under 'Cons'. Plan projects out. Use reasonable deadlines. Underpromise, overdeliver; not the other way around. If an employee is expected to travel for 2 weeks, let them know 2 weeks in advance. Respect their personal life.

    AIT2018-12-18
  5. "Management is a joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AIT full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed attire , no standard uniform

    Cons

    Would not recommend to IT personnel

    AIT2018-09-06
  6. "Horrible company by far the worse I have ever encountered!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AIT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None whatsoever. Leadership is very unprofessional and they expect professional outcomes. Company has potential but lacks the right people to see it through.

    Cons

    Where do I start? For starters they lack integrity and professionalism. Also leads take advantage of the employees. Salary is far from competitive, especially since they want competitive or industry standard work. I do not recommend seeking employment from this company. It has potential but the bad eggs spoil it as a whole.

    Advice to Management

    Employ people with a positive mindset and add more diversity to the crew.

    AIT2018-05-26
  7. "They lost a good employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at AIT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    relaxed atmosphere and close to home

    Cons

    I was laid off due to trying to keep myself busy, there was plenty of work, just wasn't being given any from my the girl above me. I even tried applying for another position (qualified for), and this was when I was laid off.

    AIT2018-02-17
  8. "Night shift had no supervision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CNC Machinist in Chesterfield, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AIT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of hours, but only if they had work. Did not have a superviser, the guys could do what they really wanted

    Cons

    Coming into work not knowing if you have work. Watching the other employees take 4 or 5 breaks a night to go out and smoke.

    Advice to Management

    Get someone who can supervise

    AIT2017-10-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Shipping Receiving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clerk in Chesterfield, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at AIT full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great jobs here to work on and excellent shop workers.

    Cons

    Bad pay, bad management, no appreciation, company is shrinking, no support from office, horrible at tracking parts, you are expected to work 12+ hours to appease management even though it isnt necessary. No raises, ask you to take on promotion title at level pay. This place is a dead end job point blank.

    Advice to Management

    Change management. Incorporate an incentive for these workers and pay people what they're worth.

    AIT2017-07-19
  10. Helpful (6)

    "AITS, they look good at first but you will see."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Toolmaker/Builder in Chesterfield, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at AIT full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    When they are busy you can put in unlimited hours producing aerospace tools and the work is good also while busy your paychecks will be huge. On the surface they will smile at you and tell you how very valuable you are to the company. They lead you to believe that all that was promised during your initial interview is true. There are small bonuses, medical, optical, dental, short and long term disability insurance and...

    Show More

    Cons

    I was hired on the spot at my interview and promised a review and a wage increase, (at 90 days), if I would start at a lower wage than what I was asking for, ($4.00 per hour less), and I was told that they had contracts for work that would keep us all busy for the next 5 years. I was told that they were to purchase a number of new machines, (several Bridgeport mills, and a radial drill). What they purchased was 1 cheap...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be honest and treat employees the way you would want to be treated.

    AIT2016-04-01
Found 16 reviews