AKE Safety Equipment Reviews

Updated Nov 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
77%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
AKE Safety Equipment CEO Allen Kronebusch (no image)
Allen Kronebusch
11 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best company to work with!

    Mar 18, 2020 - Sales Representative in Twelve Mile, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've with the company for almost a year and I'm very satisfied with the way they treat employees. They are very encouraging, helpful, respectful and they hand you everything to be successful in sales. The freedom of being your own boss is priceless. The pay is great as long as you put in the work to make it happen. I absolutely love what i do and believe I have found my last job I'll ever have!

    Cons

    I have nothing to say about the cons of the company, I have none.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Beware Sales Pyramid Scam

    Nov 12, 2020 - Office Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get to partake in a real pyramid scam and if you're lucky steal money from others just like they did you.

    Cons

    The company is a handful of sole proprietor employees under the AKE umbrella that act as managers each with their own office. They put ads out looking for employees. They ask for money for training materials applicants will never see again regardless of how much they say its refundable. You report to a basic office setup where they "train" you to sell abysmally overpriced safety products like fire extinguishers and smoke alarms that noone will buy because of the prices. They want you to go into peoples houses to do this and you provide all your own leads. They don't tell you upfront that you'll be a sales person. They tell you you're there for a management position. You will likely quit or buy thousands of dollars worth of products yourself mostly because they already have your money and you want to see whats at the end. If you pay your way through, the end result is you have the same job as the person who hired you. You rent your own office, pay your employees' commissions, reptionist salary if applicable, and any money you make AKE gets half. Because you're under their contract all the equipment, forms, training materials all come from AKE and its not free. They will overcharge you to use anything that comes from their "headquarters". You will make little to no money after Allen Kronebusch takes half your money and the rest goes to your expenses. Most of the money you will live off of comes from the money you dishonestly take from people you hire either for the purpose of a background check or training equipment you know they will never see again. This is a very dishonest company. The owner has been doing this pyramid scam for over a decade now. He thinks a website a few positive fake reviews and some posts on social media will convince you otherwise. Hope this helps someone. These scams in our own country must stop.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    AKE Safety Equipment Response

    Human Resources Manager

    Anyone reading this review should know it has some very inaccurate information. 1) We do not have a handful of sole proprietors. AKE Safety Equipment is owned by Allen Kronebusch. All our employees are based out of Rochester, MN, and this is our only office. Nationwide, we do have Sales Representatives that represent our company as 1099, Independent Contractors. At no time will we ask for money from you. There is a wide range of support and materials that are provided by AKE; marketing and training materials included. 2) As part of the Sales Representative position within our Company, you are responsible for your own lead generation. In fact, this is a large part of the position. We believe that our sales reps are the experts of their own territory and are the best persons to be building and generating genuine leads that will result in long-lasting relationships with our customers. 3) AKE strives to be up-front and honest as possible to anyone that works for us, represents us, or does business with us. We are happy to take your call and address any concerns that you may have. You can reach us direct at #1-800-586-1639.

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    AKE Review

    Mar 6, 2020 - Outside Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing culture... Nothing is left out when it comes to the initial first step of the hiring process to training to being set free to start building customer relationships... I’m still extremely new to the process. But the pay is extremely good even though my early numbers are low... You are in control of your success. AKE provides nothing but opportunities to win early. It’s all up to you!!!

    Cons

    I do not have anything negative to say about AKE & it’s business model

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Not for Everyone

    Jun 10, 2019 - Sales Representative in Jonesboro, AR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Onboarding is phenomenal, 2nd to none. The company is definitely driven to help you in any way of the sales process. The other Sales Rep are very motivating and you do feel as though you are part of a team.

    Cons

    Pay structure is really unorthodox. They offer a draw system (if you want), but it's not worth it. You have to wait a month before you get your first draw check (never heard of this in any industry). I'm not talking about the commissions on sales you make. It doesn't make sense to wait that long. The whole point of a draw is to help someone pay for gas and maintain their bills as their getting acclimated to the role. I dont care who you are, it's going to be bumpy the first few weeks. There are exceptions of course. Some sold right off the bat and that's great, but I had to work a second job just to pay for those basic things that I thought the draw was for. It didn't work out for me because I didn't dedicate the time I wanted to not because I couldn't sell. After just a month I was let go. My advice just dont do the draw system. Be prepared to have at least 3-6 months of living expense so you dont rely on the draw. It's also a hard sell. They tell you that in the training, they acknowledge it, but yet they expect you to sell right off the bat. Kind of contradicts their Core Values.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    AKE Safety Equipment Response

    Recruiter and HR Assistant

    It's great to hear that you had a wonderful onboarding experience with our company! We strive to make sure that our incoming reps have as much support as possible. As far as the pay schedule and structure goes, it is essential to understand how that works. We pay our reps every other Friday. However, the pay period that you are going to be paid for is retroactive, for example: - pay period of 6/17/19 - 6/30/19 will be paid 7/12/19 - pay period of 7/1/19 - 7/14/19 will be paid 7/26/19 Paying in this fashion allows us to process orders and ensures that you as a sales rep are getting paid for all of your earned commissions during the correlating pay period. If you choose to take the draw plus commission pay option, the draw is paid the same way as commission. I would 100% agree that you need to consider how you will cover expenses until your first check arrives. The ramp-up period for each person does vary. Some new sales reps will start hitting their goals in the first week, while others may take a few weeks.

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best first job I could have!

    Aug 23, 2019 - Marketing Assistant in Rochester, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Strong company culture that feels like family with amazing coworkers.

    Cons

    Extremely high expectations for work can be intimidating

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Could be a good career

    Jun 28, 2019 - Sales in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None to be answered at the moment

    Cons

    Lots because it Totally Commission

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company!

    Sep 4, 2018 - Sales Consultant in Potter, NE
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You will be hard pressed to find another company that will give you every tool you need to become successful. Not only do you get a great training session when you start, you also always have a manager just a phone call away to help. These guys are very positive and will help you succeed and make you a champion.

    Cons

    So far I have no cons.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Business Development

    Jan 31, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Rochester, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    AKE was a great company to work at. The product is superior to anything else available and the opportunity to advance is real. I was able to move up through the company in the 4 years I worked there and Allen Kronebusch was instrumental in my success. Yes, the company is performance driven, but if you are a salesperson who is worth your salt you will do well. Consistent income over 6 figures each year.

    Cons

    Would have liked to pursue other markets, but the business is definitely there in the current strategy. This is more a personal opinion than a 'negative' as the company continues to grow at an astounding rate.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Sales Representative

    Mar 31, 2019 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good product, enthusiasm about product

    Cons

    Training and continuation of training after you start

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Fire Safety Consultant

    Dec 21, 2015 - Fire Safety Consultant in Humboldt, IA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been with AKE for almost a year now. I have nothing but good things to say about AKE. If you want growth in your career and an amazing income as well as a portfolio to boot then AKE is the place for you! Great staff all the way to the owner, Allen Kronebusch! There is excellent customer service and support, which is one of the great things about AKE! As a rep out in the field I have never been happier, both in my professional life as well as my personal life! This is a great place to earn a great income as well as being able to have the family time to go right along with it! There is an amazing sales support team who is there to help you grow as a professional sales, something I know for me personally am very grateful for!

    Cons

    I can honestly say I haven't found one yet and am happy to refer anyone to join our team!

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

Popular Careers with AKE Safety Equipment Job Seekers

Sales Representative
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Outside Sales Representative
Learn About the Job

Work at AKE Safety Equipment? Share Your Experiences

AKE Safety Equipment logo
or