KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

AKIRA

Engaged Employer

AKIRA

Add a Review

AKIRA Reviews

Updated Aug 6, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 259 of over 266 reviews
3.1
50% Recommend to a Friend
63% Approve of CEO

Found 259 of over 266 reviews

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
AKIRA Owner Erikka Wang (no image)
Erikka Wang
130 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great people to work with(in 13 reviews)
  • "I had nice coworkers, and my managers were like friends.(in 10 reviews)
  • "Great staff and great connections you build with clients.(in 6 reviews)
  • "Creative freedom(in 6 reviews)
  • "Friendly work environment, meet different departments of the job, advancement oppurtunities(in 5 reviews)
Cons
  • "Low pay starting out with little room for promotion(in 19 reviews)
  • "The District Managers do not engage with the employees in a beneficial manner that can build the company as a whole.(in 18 reviews)
  • "The management was unprofessional and childish(in 15 reviews)
  • "There is no training whatsoever.(in 11 reviews)
  • "There is absoutely no work life balance they will write you up for literally any reason.(in 8 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of AKIRA and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    POOR MANAGEMENT TEAM

    Aug 6, 2022 - Assistant Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun and expressive environment, meet celebrities and influencers, style and clientele

    Cons

    Poor management, favoritism and low pay, no work life balance, late closing hours, under staff, over working management

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Being A Stylist At Akira

    Jul 23, 2022 - Wardrobe Stylist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company is a good way to gain retail experience and customer service skills. Being a wardrobe stylist advances my communication skills with others and helps me progress at my craft.

    Cons

    The cons of working for this company include no benefits no sick time multiple Covid cases occurring in prejudice acts at times.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Not Bad

    Jul 19, 2022 - Store Ops in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    fun environment, great people, fast paced

    Cons

    very cliquey, especially from management

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Unrealistic

    Jul 11, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay Hours Bathroom Lunchroom Parking lot

    Cons

    Management Breaks Goal requirements Material shortage Wear and tear on your body

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Modern day sweatshop/traphouse

    Jun 30, 2022 - Warehouse Associate in Bolingbrook, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Been sitting for an hour can't think of one.

    Cons

    Poor management, no pto, no paid holidays, employees smoke weed at work, discrimination, sweatshop, no "real" HR, favortism, unprofessional, high turnover rate, good workers not valued, (unless your of a certain race) fake management pretend to care will stab you in the back.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Enjoyed

    Jun 23, 2022 - Sales Associate/Key Holder in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Discount and friendly coworkers enjoyed my time

    Cons

    The pay could’ve been better for the job

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Ownership Heaven

    Jun 18, 2022 - District Education Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company leads with Servant Leadership from the top to the bottom. From the owners to the district managers they are all in the trenches with their people when they are in store. The support you get from the senior leaders is amazing and unlike any other retail company I have ever worked for. The leadership skills you gain from this job will not only help you in you professional like but also in personal life as well. You learn how to make people work hard for you, how to create magic morale in your businesses and how to think and act like an owner. I have worked for the company for 9 years and seriously would change a thing. What I have gained from this job and to be able to grow and create my own position is truly so rewarding and unreal. I would have been here if the owners and my senior leader didn’t push me everyday to be a better leader. If you are looking for a place where you don’t have to be a robot and you can truly be your authentic self, this is the home for you. If you are wanting to be challenged and try out a very different but fun side of retail this is the job for you! The best part of this company is the PEOPLE for sure the people I get to work with on a daily basis truly inspire me to want to be a better leader every for them ! This is definitely very different from corporate structured retail but I would never go back. I truly love and value my job every single day.

    Cons

    Just basic cons of working a retail job but all come with the territory we are in. There is not much I can say the way AKIRA focuses on morale and culture within the stores is unreal and incredible.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Nice working environment, but salary is not ideal

    Jun 16, 2022 - Web Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Dog friendly office People are nice

    Cons

    Salary is below average Office surround area is not that safe although it has own parking lot

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee

    They set you up to fail

    Jun 15, 2022 - Buying Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They have parties a lot.

    Cons

    They claim to support diversity and inclusion but that is not shown when you work there. The office is loud and dirty, they let children and dogs run around without supervision. People are constantly being fired or quitting.

    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Dog Friendly and Fun!

    Jun 15, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Corp Office is Dog Friendly and most of the team is great to work with! WFH options are sometimes available

    Cons

    Location is not ideal for CTA

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 259 Reviews
</>Embed

AKIRA Reviews FAQs

AKIRA has an overall rating of 3.1 out of 5, based on over 266 reviews left anonymously by employees. 50% of employees would recommend working at AKIRA to a friend and 39% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, AKIRA employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.7 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at AKIRA. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

50% of AKIRA employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated AKIRA 2.6 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.2 for culture and values and 2.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at AKIRA to be workplace, culture, coworkers and the cons to be career development, benefits, management.

Work at AKIRA? Share Your Experiences

or

AKIRA Photos

+ Add Photo
AKIRA photo of: Akira Warehouse
AKIRA photo of: Friends For Life!
AKIRA photo of: Corporate Costume Contest!
AKIRA photo of: Taraji P. Hensen !
AKIRA photo of: Costume Contest!
AKIRA photo of: AKIRA Manager Party!
AKIRA photo of: Corporate Pumpkin Carving!
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Azalea Wang

Glassdoor has 266 AKIRA reviews submitted anonymously by AKIRA employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if AKIRA is right for you.