Cover image for AKIRA
Logo

AKIRA

Is this your company?

AKIRA

Add a Review

AKIRA Reviews

Updated Jan 24, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 305 of over 312 reviews
3.5
59% Recommend to a Friend
73% Approve of CEO

Found 305 of over 312 reviews

3.5
59%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
AKIRA Owner Erikka Wang (no image)
Erikka Wang
157 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great people to work with(in 16 reviews)
  • "I had nice coworkers, and my managers were like friends.(in 11 reviews)
  • "Flexible in scheduling, comfortable work environment (if your a dog person you're in luck), staff is helpful towards each other, experience was fun.(in 7 reviews)
  • "Creative freedom(in 7 reviews)
  • "Great staff and great connections you build with clients.(in 5 reviews)
Cons
  • "Low pay Overworked Too demanding(in 20 reviews)
  • "The District Managers do not engage with the employees in a beneficial manner that can build the company as a whole.(in 19 reviews)
  • "The management was unprofessional and childish(in 14 reviews)
  • "There is absoutely no work life balance they will write you up for literally any reason.(in 12 reviews)
  • "There is no training whatsoever.(in 10 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of AKIRA and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great Company

    Dec 29, 2022 - Retail Store Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun work environment Fast Paced

    Cons

    Long Hours Other than that everything is great

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Fun but no work life balance

    Jan 6, 2023 - Store Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    ability to be creative & meet new people

    Cons

    no work life balance, will fire you by taking you off the schedule and you won't find out until your next shift

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the AKIRA team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Run

    Jan 24, 2023 - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None at this time. Horrible place

    Cons

    Horrible horrible where do I start! Lack of training lack of concern. Hired on for 8 hours and now its 10 hours a day! Dogs every where pooping here and there. It's in a WAREHOUSE so it's not your fancy call center setting!No perks No PTO until after 6 months of employment!! The employees are dry and think they are better than new hires. Location is crAzy! West side ! Pay is not enough for the long hours and a 3 day off schedule is not enough for the low pay and no OT!! No flexibility No nothing! kids running around on scooters ! it's a mad house and a cold warehouse! Would not recommend 🙄

    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Store Manager

    Jan 21, 2023 - Store Manager in Columbia, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None None None None None

    Cons

    Everything Everything Everything Everything Everything

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    I LOVE IT HERE

    Dec 6, 2022 - Store Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Communication is on point and in the moment, someone is ALWAYS available to answer questions and make sure things ger resolved ASAP. You have the owner at you fingertips, like what other company can say they can email, call, or text the OWNERS when they need to. They also are present for EVERY meeting no matter how big or small, and comes to stores to check on us and get feedback from everyone on how their experience is and what can they do to better our store/company. I love that the district managers are active in the store with ALL employees and not just stuck up office paperwork people lol. My previous job I went to work unhappy everyday and was just their for a check, but now I love going to work lol its like you get paid to have fun, make customers feel good, and meet some pretty interesting people. The diversity is off the chain their is no specific "type" of person that can work at AKIRA everyone is different, unique and can be their self. Their is so many opportunities to grow and make yourself known. And theirs NO DRESS CODE lol.. I love it here

    Cons

    My employee discount is the devil and I spend all my money.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Love

    Dec 6, 2022 - Store Manager in Aurora, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture discount dress code everything

    Cons

    Nothing I love it here

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Pros and cons

    Dec 15, 2022 - Stylist in Chicago Ridge, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    open minded environment for employees

    Cons

    Very cheap pay and hard to get promoted

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee

    management is terrible

    Dec 27, 2022 - Customer Service 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Clothing is nice some customers are nice

    Cons

    favoritism no room for advancement in company annual raises are non existent lack of compassion and understanding of employees lives outside of work unfair practices and pay

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Love my job

    Nov 16, 2022 - Ops Manager in Beachwood, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great coworkers love that I can be myself here

    Cons

    No downside here for me love my job

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A Great Growth Opportunity

    Nov 16, 2022 - Visual Operations Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Love being able to have creative freedom & work with a team that is passionate about knowing & taking care of the clients. This is a different retail from any place I’ve ever worked in a positive way!

    Cons

    Retail is not for the week.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 305 Reviews
</>Embed

AKIRA Reviews FAQs

AKIRA has an overall rating of 3.5 out of 5, based on over 312 reviews left anonymously by employees. 59% of employees would recommend working at AKIRA to a friend and 53% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 12% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, AKIRA employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.2 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at AKIRA. This rating has improved by 22% over the last 12 months.

59% of AKIRA employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated AKIRA 3.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.5 for culture and values and 3.3 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at AKIRA to be culture, career development, coworkers and the cons to be benefits, management, compensation.

Work at AKIRA? Share Your Experiences

AKIRA logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

AKIRA Photos

+ Add Photo
AKIRA photo of: Friends For Life!
AKIRA photo of: Corporate Costume Contest!
AKIRA photo of: Taraji P. Hensen !
AKIRA photo of: Costume Contest!
AKIRA photo of: AKIRA Manager Party!
AKIRA photo of: Corporate Pumpkin Carving!
AKIRA photo of: AKIRA's Manager Party
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Azalea Wang

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

AKIRA Job Seekers Also Viewed

Paper Source Logo
Paper Source

3.4

597 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 312 AKIRA reviews submitted anonymously by AKIRA employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if AKIRA is right for you.