KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

AKIRA

Engaged Employer

AKIRA

Add a Review

AKIRA Employee Reviews about "management"

Updated Sep 28, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 of over 272 reviews

3.0
46%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
AKIRA Owner Erikka Wang (no image)
Erikka Wang
132 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great people to work with(in 12 reviews)
  • "I had nice coworkers, and my managers were like friends.(in 10 reviews)
  • "Creative freedom(in 7 reviews)
  • "Great staff and great connections you build with clients.(in 6 reviews)
  • "Friendly work environment, meet different departments of the job, advancement oppurtunities(in 5 reviews)
Cons
  • "The District Managers do not engage with the employees in a beneficial manner that can build the company as a whole.(in 18 reviews)
  • "Low pay Overworked Too demanding(in 17 reviews)
  • "The management was unprofessional and childish(in 14 reviews)
  • "There is no training whatsoever.(in 10 reviews)
  • "There is absoutely no work life balance they will write you up for literally any reason.(in 9 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of AKIRA and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Invest in your good people!

    May 23, 2017 - Store Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The only good thing about this company is the discount.

    Cons

    No official protocol. For example you get hit by shoplifters they never told us what to do but always encouraged us to chase them throughout the mall or to their car and get our product back. Senior management really only cares about numbers and your sales not much about the store. I was In a store with like 6 other managers 3 store managers-- we were a bad paring and never seen eye to eye leading to several team resignations .

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    AKIRA Response

    Hey ! I’m sorry that was your experience, please reach out to recruiting@shopakira.com with more details. Thanks for the feedback !

  2. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Working at Akira

    Feb 17, 2020 - Stylist in Skokie, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The employee discount was 40%

    Cons

    The management was unprofessional and childish

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    AKIRA Response

    Hey ! I’m sorry that was your experience, please reach out to recruiting@shopakira.com with more details. Thanks for the feedback !

  3. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Lots of very unprofessional fun

    Sep 13, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You will either love or hate your coworkers. It's never a boring day at Akira. If you are a people person, being a stylist will be perfect for you since your job is to greet each customer that walks into the store and be their best friend for the entirety of their visit. You get a 30% discount off of full-priced items and 10% off of sale items. Any position (stylist or tasker) is essentially an all-encompassing retail experience since they basically teach you to do everything if you've been there for long enough. Opportunities exist for moving up from tasker to stylist to displays to corporate.

    Cons

    If you have a loose personality, you will get along with everyone but if you're at all uptight, you will not like the people you work with AT ALL. The staff from corporate to in store management are all very immature and unprofessional. They gossip about each other and the customers 99% of the time and it's all about selling, selling, selling even if you have to shove it down their throats or give them a discount so they'll buy that extra item. Depending on where your store is located, you may receive more unpleasant customers than others but expect some of your clientele to be demanding low-class citizens.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful

    AKIRA Response

    Hey ! I’m sorry that was your experience, please reach out to recruiting@shopakira.com with more details. Thanks for the feedback !

  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    No structure, no incentives.

    Jan 23, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fast cheap fashion, no dress code or regulations to limit your style, good hours for neighborhood boutiques. Good for entry level retail, but it will not offer much experience outside of ringing up sales and styling as you move around to other businesses.

    Cons

    -Not corporate meaning no structure or regulations. Management training is loosely enforced. I've worked with a lot of sketchy people and many of them have been re-hired at one point or another! - The clothing is overpriced and low quality. It's hard to sell crappy product and try to build clientele around sub-par product. - pay and salary are determined seemingly at the whim of the upper management. -No paid time off! - security guards are not at every location. We got a lot of creepy, dangerous seeming people in to steal and there's not much you can do to prevent it. - too much product on the floor at all times. It's a mess for customers and a mess to clean up!

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Store shut down

    May 29, 2022 - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Co workers were nice. No dress code relaxed

    Cons

    Poor management (store closed) so I was out of a job

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing place to work if you're ready to work hard

    Aug 24, 2016 - Stylist in Merrillville, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to learn how to sell Management pushes you to really push yourself to the limits and work hard Management is very quick to recognise good performance The company had amazing values and really pushes honesty and hard work Upper management is very connected to store workers

    Cons

    Managers will cut your hours as soon as your sales decline Highly competitive, if you do not enjoy that For first time sellers, they usually just throw you out on the floor

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Fashion Stylist-seasonal

    Aug 14, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some of the pros is that there is pretty good pay, it is $2/hr plus sales commission (make sure all of your customers know your name). My checks came to around $700. Management always pushes you to do your best and reach your sales goal for the day. They gave us a training packet where we learned how to style for different body types so that was nice. If you do good with sales then you will receive good hours which obviously leads to more money. It is extremely fast paced, the number one thing I learned is to run between clients that can really increase the amount you are able to sell. It is required that you dress fashionably to work which I actually really liked. Management was super fun and down to earth and they are there to help you in any way necessary with clients, so don't be afraid to ask for help when needed.

    Cons

    You absolutely cannot make any customer upset or there will be consequences, I feel this is so unrealistic especially in retail, you are always going to encounter a customer that you cannot satisfy. Working with 3-4 customers at a time can be tricky because you have to remember their names and the events they are going to etc. I also hated that we had to constantly talk in our microphones to update managers on our customers because we were already extremely busy plus it is distracting when you are working with a customer and they're in your ear like "what's she saying?" We also always had to approach every single customer who walked in and try to get them into a room which was fine and most of the time you could but some customers genuinely were just looking around and did not want to be bothered so I feel like us nagging them kind of drove them out the door. There is hardly any work life balance. I could be working until 1am one night and have to work the morning shift the next day.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    WORST JOB EVER

    Jun 12, 2022 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - discount - Great clothes and styles are on point - location was great and easily accessible

    Cons

    - Upper management is extremely rude and unprofessional. They curse at you and continously criticize you. - There is absoutely no work life balance they will write you up for literally any reason. you are not allowed to take breaks or leave at your scheduled times - They harass you and say that this is a work place where you can talk or communicate but NOPE ITS NOT. - SHAINA IS A BULLY BEAWARE. - The company needs to have training on equality and harrassment. I have beenin retail over 19 years and this was by far the worst company i ever worked for

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Most Insulting Experience I've Ever Had!

    Jul 9, 2012 - Manager in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Well... They pay their managers a pretty decent and competitive salary.

    Cons

    I submitted my resume and was contacted within a few days of submission. The HR person on the phone who interviewed me described the job as Store Manager, described what one would typically think of as a boutique store manager, and then mentioned all the bits about not being a corporate company and looking for people who wanted to be able to make a store their own. Sounded great. I did my homework. Looked online at the reviews of the company, asked around to different people that either worked there or knew people from there. I had one interview that the District Manager was almost an hour late to. (I'm told this is habit for her.) She asked me my employment background, what I wanted to do as Store Manager, etc. Typical questions. She asked what I liked to wear when I wasn't at work, and I told her I'm typically in pretty casual cargo shorts and a tank top or gym gear. She seemed satisfied with that answer. Told me the same things that the HR phone interviewer said. I'd need to hire staff because they needed a fuller staff. I'd need to fix up operations and work on instituting better clientele procedures. It seemed like a match. I was hired on the spot. I get there the first day to realize I'm not the Store Manager, but something like a 2nd assistant manager or co-manager, but, really, they wanted me to be a sales associate. They told me I had to make $1500 a day, which I thought was a decent if not large goal. I also found out from the girl that ostensibly was the real store manager that much of the job description was false. I wasn't actually going to be responsible for all of the stuff they told me. That was her job. Also, I found out on the first day that the benefits package they told me about was false. The insurance, time off, and all the rest of it was some amalgam of untrue and kind of true. Over the course of the first four days, I was told on different occasions that I should consider wearing make-up, should wear high heels, should wear a dress or other women's clothing. This is not only insulting, but verges on illegal. I told the District Manager on the first day that I wouldn't be wearing anything like that, and she said it was ok to dress however I wanted. I was taken off the sales floor repeatedly, beginning with day 1, and asked whether I thought this was 'working out'. I was given an indication that the $1500 sales goal was not a goal, but a requirement. With price points hovering around the $30-$50 range, and with the kind of clientele the store currently has, saying it was outrageous would be an understatement. I began to get concerned when, on the 2nd day, I found out that the first in-person manager I interviewed with had quit. She hadn't even been with the company a full year, and that sends quite a number of red flags to someone who was already wondering if they'd made the right decision. The process of pulling me off the floor continued every single day, 2-3 times a day at least, with the conversations becoming increasingly more exasperated. I was belittled and made to feel like there was something wrong with me and given the strong hint - though it was never stated out loud - that I would probably end up unemployed in the next day if I didn't hit that $1500 mark. No defense was good enough. I had never been given any training, and I was told during one of these berating sessions that I wasn't going to be given any training on the product or anything else and that I just needed to figure it out or I'd be working elsewhere. As most of the people that reviewed the interviews stated, any question I asked was treated like a giant annoyance. Everything I was told about the job description, the benefits, the salary, the expectations, the needs of the business, the daily tasks...everything was a lie. I have never felt so insulted or treated so poorly on a job, and I have never in my life heard of someone not being trained in any way and then let go almost immediately after being hired to a management position. This company's tactics are wretched and deceitful, and just about everyone who's heard this story has begged me to either hit them with a lawsuit or report them to some unemployment authority or other. The problem is that they take pride in the awful treatment of their employees and management. The amount of associate turnover is insane, and they seem to love it. Suffice it to say, I don't see this company lasting another 10 years, at least not in the suburbs. They cultivate a rude, crass environment and any sane person looking for a good job should stay the hell away from this place. There's a reason that all 5 suburb stores they opened less than a year ago are already looking to hire managers. They all quit! The stores aren't making plan, and yet they don't want to deviate from their current strategy of hiring and firing people as fast as they can - both associates and managers. BIG. RED. FLAG! I was looking for a new job by the end of the first day.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Fun company, but run employees ragged

    Oct 31, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Super exciting place to work! Fun fashion, reasonable prices, and you end up finding some great relationships with coworkers and clients. Upper management was usually fairly available and responsive. Fun work outing once a year. Growing company. A lot of room for advancement. Most intense selling culture I’ve ever been a part of, which can be a pro or a con.

    Cons

    Minimum 9 hour days every day (even in events such as if you worked an open-close the previous day bc of a call-in, and are fully staffed to take a half day after covering, you still have to do the full 9 hours). Store managers end up working at least 50 hours a week for NOT enough money. No PTO, it’s sort of randomly granted by request and favoritism. You aren’t paid to attend the monthly meeting, and if you attend that at 8am, guess what...you still have to do a full 9 hours in your store. Store staff and office staff are generally pretty cliquey and can be unfriendly to coworkers, which can lessen the professionalism a great deal.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    AKIRA Response

    Hey ! I’m sorry that was your experience, please reach out to recruiting@shopakira.com with more details. Thanks for the feedback !

Viewing 1 - 10 of 65 Reviews

Work at AKIRA? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

AKIRA Photos

+ Add Photo
AKIRA photo of: Akira Warehouse
AKIRA photo of: Friends For Life!
AKIRA photo of: Corporate Costume Contest!
AKIRA photo of: Taraji P. Hensen !
AKIRA photo of: Costume Contest!
AKIRA photo of: AKIRA Manager Party!
AKIRA photo of: Corporate Pumpkin Carving!
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Azalea Wang

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

AKIRA Job Seekers Also Viewed

Paper Source Logo
Paper Source

3.5

568 Reviews
Compare