KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

AKIRA

Engaged Employer

AKIRA

Add a Review

AKIRA Employee Reviews about "pay"

Updated Sep 28, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 55 of over 272 reviews

3.0
46%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
AKIRA Owner Erikka Wang (no image)
Erikka Wang
132 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great people to work with(in 13 reviews)
  • "I had nice coworkers, and my managers were like friends.(in 9 reviews)
  • "Creative freedom(in 8 reviews)
  • "Great staff and great connections you build with clients.(in 6 reviews)
  • "Friendly work environment, meet different departments of the job, advancement oppurtunities(in 5 reviews)
Cons
  • "Low pay Overworked Too demanding(in 20 reviews)
  • "The District Managers do not engage with the employees in a beneficial manner that can build the company as a whole.(in 19 reviews)
  • "The management was unprofessional and childish(in 13 reviews)
  • "There is no training whatsoever.(in 11 reviews)
  • "There is absoutely no work life balance they will write you up for literally any reason.(in 10 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of AKIRA and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Up to you

    Oct 11, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun and make friends

    Cons

    Bad pay and time consuming

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Cashier

    Apr 26, 2015 - Cashier in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Gained very basic knowledge of what working in retail is like Built friendships with coworkers, some of whom have had amazing and positive affects on my life- best part of the job (best location of the few that I worked at- Merrillville,IN)

    Cons

    Horrible management Horrible organization throughout all levels of the company Very unprofessional policies Tacky visual merchandising Horrible communication throughout all levels of the company Terrible pay (I was denied a raise above minimum wage after working there for over a year and gaining 'head cashier' status) No regard for college student schedules Actually, no regard for any schedules outside of work False promises- I was offered a visual merchandising internship postition but when the time came she completely ignored by professional and personal attempts to contact her Completely warped view of the fashion industry, none of them actually know what they are talking about, especially higher up in the company Unfair, unfair, unfair I have had so many negative experiences with this company, I do not know why I stayed with them for so long. 10000% would not reccommend to anyone

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Removed my old review

    Sep 27, 2017 - Store Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The friends I made while at Akira are amazing.

    Cons

    I worked here for over 2 years. Was never offered a single raise. I told them I accepted another job and they immediately offered me a 10k raise to not leave. They offered to back date it and never did. Had one of the Area managers come talk me out of quitting. Saw she was with a different company a month later. They pay every single person differently and it isn't based on performance. When I found out my base pay compared to others in the same roll I almost fainted. Every single manager meeting was hours long and unpaid. Every single meeting was different. They would start a new program to teach managers and then suddenly it would switch to a new program. I don't think in my 2 years with the company did they ever complete a single program they started. The quality of the product was awful and the sales goals given were more than all the product in the store, making it impossible to bonus.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    AKIRA Response

    Hey ! I’m sorry that was your experience, please reach out to recruiting@shopakira.com with more details. Thanks for the feedback !

  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good company

    Sep 11, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    No dress code Management not on your back 24/7 Flexible schedule

    Cons

    Low pay for amount of work

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Great job if you don’t value work life balance

    Oct 21, 2020 - Store Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fast paced Sense of ownership Close relationship with owners Opportunities to try new things other than your given role

    Cons

    Long hours Can be a bully culture Low pay for high expectations No work life balance

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee

    No structure, no incentives.

    Jan 23, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fast cheap fashion, no dress code or regulations to limit your style, good hours for neighborhood boutiques. Good for entry level retail, but it will not offer much experience outside of ringing up sales and styling as you move around to other businesses.

    Cons

    -Not corporate meaning no structure or regulations. Management training is loosely enforced. I've worked with a lot of sketchy people and many of them have been re-hired at one point or another! - The clothing is overpriced and low quality. It's hard to sell crappy product and try to build clientele around sub-par product. - pay and salary are determined seemingly at the whim of the upper management. -No paid time off! - security guards are not at every location. We got a lot of creepy, dangerous seeming people in to steal and there's not much you can do to prevent it. - too much product on the floor at all times. It's a mess for customers and a mess to clean up!

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Poor company to work for

    Apr 14, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    30% discount Good clothing Nice co workers Get gift certificates as rewards Flexible schedule ( if you want ) Can be a good networking opportunity if you are a personal stylist you can use the stylist position to build clientele

    Cons

    Not enough hours Either too many employees or not enough Aggressive and unrealistic sales approach. They want you to follow customers around , harass them and manipulate them into buying things that they don't want. Fake personalities within the company ( the buyer managers and owners ) I would never recommend this job to anyone that wants to work in the fashion industry . The pay is horrible if you have rent and bills to pay . 4/ hr plus commission . No where to move up in the company

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee

    It's A DIFFERENT Company

    Oct 4, 2015 - Department Supervisor in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is a lot of freedom here no set boundaries, everyone is responsible for their jobs with no guidance provided. There is a lot of room to grow but not in pay and no training will be provided here. Sink or Swim

    Cons

    There is a lot of freedom here no set boundaries, everyone is responsible for their jobs with no guidance provided. The owners and some managers come off as friends and not business minded individuals that need you to do what they hired you for. Dogs run free also at HQ and issues reported to the owners about this are ignored. If you are able to work in chaso then this is the place for you, anyone can get a job here-- that should say enough.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Hires anyone to take advantage of

    Feb 22, 2014 - Casher/Tasker in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    SOME of the employees were quite nice...

    Cons

    The minimum wage pay for how much they abuse you at the office and stare you down like they're royalty. If you don't fit in with snotty employees or don't kiss ass to higher management, they basically don't care and will call you in when they feel to while not accommodating your needs with the company. They'll fire you, lay you off, and basically throw you around.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Company!!! Different work environment than any other retail company I’ve worked for.

    Jun 1, 2021 - Store Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company truly cares about its people! Ongoing developing is something that is practiced daily. The open and honest feedback and communication that we practice is unlike any other company. You always know where you stand! The pay is competitive! You work hard and you are rewarded for it. There are so many opportunities. We believe in having you in a role that you thrive in.

    Cons

    We work a lot!!! But we love our jobs so it’s not really a con.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 55 Reviews

Work at AKIRA? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

AKIRA Photos

+ Add Photo
AKIRA photo of: Akira Warehouse
AKIRA photo of: Friends For Life!
AKIRA photo of: Corporate Costume Contest!
AKIRA photo of: Taraji P. Hensen !
AKIRA photo of: Costume Contest!
AKIRA photo of: AKIRA Manager Party!
AKIRA photo of: Corporate Pumpkin Carving!
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Azalea Wang

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

AKIRA Job Seekers Also Viewed

Paper Source Logo
Paper Source

3.5

568 Reviews
Compare