KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

AKIRA

Engaged Employer

AKIRA

Add a Review

AKIRA Employee Reviews about "training"

Updated Sep 28, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 of over 272 reviews

3.0
46%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
AKIRA Owner Erikka Wang (no image)
Erikka Wang
132 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great people to work with(in 12 reviews)
  • "I had nice coworkers, and my managers were like friends.(in 10 reviews)
  • "Creative freedom(in 7 reviews)
  • "Great staff and great connections you build with clients.(in 6 reviews)
  • "Friendly work environment, meet different departments of the job, advancement oppurtunities(in 5 reviews)
Cons
  • "The District Managers do not engage with the employees in a beneficial manner that can build the company as a whole.(in 18 reviews)
  • "Low pay Overworked Too demanding(in 17 reviews)
  • "The management was unprofessional and childish(in 14 reviews)
  • "There is no training whatsoever.(in 10 reviews)
  • "There is absoutely no work life balance they will write you up for literally any reason.(in 9 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of AKIRA and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "training"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE AKIRA!

    Nov 7, 2013 - Stylist in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My time spent with AKIRA was one I will truly treasure (as silly as that may sound). AKIRA provided me with lifetime friends and an environment where I was encouraged to be myself and actually have fun. It actually makes me a little upset to read these scathing reviews of a place that was my home away from home for 3 years. Those people, while not completely wrong (lack of training, sometimes disorganized, can be a little harsh with criticism), never then truly grasped the AKIRA culture; which is not for everyone. Their culture is one of controlled chaos, loud personalities, unique individuals, and hardworking people who, maybe can be "clique-y" but that is only because they are protective of their home. Yes, AKIRA needs some better training. Some "smarter" managers. Some "self control" (at times) but AKIRA is AKIRA and I love that they are who they are and allow (if not encourage) their employees the same freedoms.

    Cons

    Needs better training for sure. Needs managers who are more managers then buddies sometimes.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Not worth it!

    Sep 10, 2021 - Store Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Making new connections with client.

    Cons

    -Pay does not match workload - Work life balance (absolutely none). - Favoritism and the company pride itself on it. - Literally every rule has a contradiction in a company with no handbook. - Horrible with training. - No Real HR! - Exploitation of the LGBT community.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    LOVE BEING AN AKIRA EMPLOYEE

    Feb 21, 2013 - ASSISTANT MANAGER FOX VALLEY in Aurora, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I am approaching my two year mark with this company and I couldn't be happier! I started off as a cashier for one of the new stores. When I first began training at a different store everyone was so welcoming and helpful! I developed relationships with my co-workers right off the bat! If I was confused about something they walked me through it and I was never afraid to ask questions. Starting at the new store, I was given ALOT of hours, which was great in my opinion! People were excited to shop at AKIRA because there are not any stores like this one in the suburbs. AKIRA is a completely different shopping experience on so many levels for residents of a suburban community. At our store we have done a fabulous job creating a fun environment for both our employees and our customers. AKIRA has given me so much room for growth in the company. I started off as a cashier, moved on to be a personal stylist, started traveling between two locations then proceeded to become the assistant manager and be in charge of our stores events. It is alot of hardwork but once I got into the swing of things it became effortless and it is evident that my work ethic has changed tremendously for the better. Seeing that I can work so hard and still love coming to work everyday, I think it is safe to say that AKIRA has been an amazing company to work for!

    Cons

    - alot of hours (BUT THAT MEANS MORE $$$$$) - alot of responsibilty resulting in extreme ownership over the store

    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    No structure, no incentives.

    Jan 23, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fast cheap fashion, no dress code or regulations to limit your style, good hours for neighborhood boutiques. Good for entry level retail, but it will not offer much experience outside of ringing up sales and styling as you move around to other businesses.

    Cons

    -Not corporate meaning no structure or regulations. Management training is loosely enforced. I've worked with a lot of sketchy people and many of them have been re-hired at one point or another! - The clothing is overpriced and low quality. It's hard to sell crappy product and try to build clientele around sub-par product. - pay and salary are determined seemingly at the whim of the upper management. -No paid time off! - security guards are not at every location. We got a lot of creepy, dangerous seeming people in to steal and there's not much you can do to prevent it. - too much product on the floor at all times. It's a mess for customers and a mess to clean up!

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee

    It's A DIFFERENT Company

    Oct 4, 2015 - Department Supervisor in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is a lot of freedom here no set boundaries, everyone is responsible for their jobs with no guidance provided. There is a lot of room to grow but not in pay and no training will be provided here. Sink or Swim

    Cons

    There is a lot of freedom here no set boundaries, everyone is responsible for their jobs with no guidance provided. The owners and some managers come off as friends and not business minded individuals that need you to do what they hired you for. Dogs run free also at HQ and issues reported to the owners about this are ignored. If you are able to work in chaso then this is the place for you, anyone can get a job here-- that should say enough.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Merrillville IN AKIRA

    May 25, 2013 - Cashier in Merrillville, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fashion forward clothing employee discount flexible hours Many positions available Not very many pros other than these to be honest.

    Cons

    Unprofessional management Pushy staff Target customers tend to be annoying Unorganized Staff will seem nice at first then give you the cold shoulder once you have the job unless you're in their clique. Training is unorganized if present at all

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Fast-paced, task oriented

    Jul 9, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Employee Discount; opportunity for more responsibility; challenging and fast-paced; camaraderie with co-workers; high energy; comprehensive training program; network of all Akira stores for additional opportunities

    Cons

    Lack of communication from HQ to stores; low quality for high price points; short breaks; minimum wage for lots of customer service and organizational work; clunky computer system

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Fashion Stylist-seasonal

    Aug 14, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some of the pros is that there is pretty good pay, it is $2/hr plus sales commission (make sure all of your customers know your name). My checks came to around $700. Management always pushes you to do your best and reach your sales goal for the day. They gave us a training packet where we learned how to style for different body types so that was nice. If you do good with sales then you will receive good hours which obviously leads to more money. It is extremely fast paced, the number one thing I learned is to run between clients that can really increase the amount you are able to sell. It is required that you dress fashionably to work which I actually really liked. Management was super fun and down to earth and they are there to help you in any way necessary with clients, so don't be afraid to ask for help when needed.

    Cons

    You absolutely cannot make any customer upset or there will be consequences, I feel this is so unrealistic especially in retail, you are always going to encounter a customer that you cannot satisfy. Working with 3-4 customers at a time can be tricky because you have to remember their names and the events they are going to etc. I also hated that we had to constantly talk in our microphones to update managers on our customers because we were already extremely busy plus it is distracting when you are working with a customer and they're in your ear like "what's she saying?" We also always had to approach every single customer who walked in and try to get them into a room which was fine and most of the time you could but some customers genuinely were just looking around and did not want to be bothered so I feel like us nagging them kind of drove them out the door. There is hardly any work life balance. I could be working until 1am one night and have to work the morning shift the next day.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    WORST JOB EVER

    Jun 12, 2022 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - discount - Great clothes and styles are on point - location was great and easily accessible

    Cons

    - Upper management is extremely rude and unprofessional. They curse at you and continously criticize you. - There is absoutely no work life balance they will write you up for literally any reason. you are not allowed to take breaks or leave at your scheduled times - They harass you and say that this is a work place where you can talk or communicate but NOPE ITS NOT. - SHAINA IS A BULLY BEAWARE. - The company needs to have training on equality and harrassment. I have beenin retail over 19 years and this was by far the worst company i ever worked for

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    No idea why all the negativity!

    Jul 8, 2013 - Stylist in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    AKIRA is a really cool company without the stuffy corporate feeling. I knew exactly what I was getting into when I took the commissioned position. I worked for AKIRA for 2 years and while some days selling were harder than others, it is a job, that I got paid for. I LOVED the people and super cool events.

    Cons

    You do not get a whole lot of training. Retail, as a whole, can be frustrating in general.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews

Work at AKIRA? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

AKIRA Photos

+ Add Photo
AKIRA photo of: Akira Warehouse
AKIRA photo of: Friends For Life!
AKIRA photo of: Corporate Costume Contest!
AKIRA photo of: Taraji P. Hensen !
AKIRA photo of: Costume Contest!
AKIRA photo of: AKIRA Manager Party!
AKIRA photo of: Corporate Pumpkin Carving!
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Azalea Wang

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

AKIRA Job Seekers Also Viewed

Paper Source Logo
Paper Source

3.5

568 Reviews
Compare