KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

AKIRA

Engaged Employer

AKIRA

Add a Review

AKIRA Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Jul 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 272 reviews

3.1
48%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
AKIRA Owner Erikka Wang (no image)
Erikka Wang
136 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great people to work with(in 12 reviews)
  • "I had nice coworkers, and my managers were like friends.(in 10 reviews)
  • "Creative freedom(in 7 reviews)
  • "Great staff and great connections you build with clients.(in 6 reviews)
  • "Friendly work environment, meet different departments of the job, advancement oppurtunities(in 5 reviews)
Cons
  • "The District Managers do not engage with the employees in a beneficial manner that can build the company as a whole.(in 18 reviews)
  • "Low pay Overworked Too demanding(in 17 reviews)
  • "The management was unprofessional and childish(in 14 reviews)
  • "There is no training whatsoever.(in 10 reviews)
  • "There is absoutely no work life balance they will write you up for literally any reason.(in 9 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of AKIRA and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Company to Grow With

    Oct 23, 2017 - Area Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    AKIRA has given me many opportunities for growth. I started working at Akira 5 years ago and have moved up from a part time stylist to an area manager. What initially drew me in to Akira was the overall positive work environment, the fashion, and the freedom to grow at my own pace. The managers before me really invested in my growth and success. Most companies don't give you the freedom to think and act like an owner, they micromanage you. At Akira, you are given the freedom to be relentless about making your business successful. This means growing your business through clienteling, client shopping parties, social media, throwing events, and passing out flyers to drive your own business. Working for Akira means working for a community of down to earth, hard working, passionate individuals. I've always enjoyed working and growing alongside supportive people who have pushed me to do more than I ever thought I could do.

    Cons

    There is nothing black and white about your career at Akira. There is no set path to get you where you want to go. You must be a self starter in order to be successful at Akira. You have to be relentless. This job is for people with passion, people who can think and act like an owner. Working for Akira is rewarding if you have the heart to do it.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Friendly people

    Apr 28, 2021 - Assistant Visual Merchandiser in Aurora, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly work environment, meet different departments of the job, advancement oppurtunities

    Cons

    Disorganized, low pay, some managerial issues

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Working at AKIRA

    May 4, 2022 - Retail Store Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can be authentically yourself. Fast paced work environment. Fashion forward. Open and honest communication from leadership and employees. Servant Leadership. Support from leadership. Travel.

    Cons

    Lack of work/life balance. Your work email is connected to your personal device so you always feel like you're working, even when your off. Long hours. Normal retail struggles.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Toxic work environment

    Feb 9, 2018 - Stylist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Flexible scheduling -ability to earn higher because of sales commission -employee discount is good

    Cons

    -petty managers who hold empty promises -extremely high employee turnover rate -sick days strongly discouraged even if you are dying! -intense work environment; upper management expects you to be at 1,000% at all times which leads to a fast burnout rate -low commission and hourly rate for stylists -cheap owners that do nothing to help elevate stores that are physically falling apart -stores never equipped with proper supplies

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    AKIRA Response

    Hey ! I’m sorry that was your experience, please reach out to recruiting@shopakira.com with more details. Thanks for the feedback !

  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Micro management and abusive workplace

    Apr 20, 2022 - Buyer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A lot of potential as a business and that's it

    Cons

    -Abusive work environment -Excessive work hours -HORRIBLE workplace ( literally filthy warehouse in a very bad area). -Owners fight in front of the team, are verbally abusive - Micromanage the team in a way that makes anyone's work impossible. For sure the worst work environment and company I've been part of. The turnover in all positions is super high (no wonder why), one day you are a great fit the next something happens and they start bulling people around for no particular reason. - Saw them asking for employees to write good reviews here to get their numbers up. But it's quite hard to make so many bad reviews with a lot of the same points vanish. Highly encourage anyone that believes this is a place to work (as I did) to not lose your time and life in a company with no values and respect for people.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Very solid place to work

    May 19, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Akira hires plenty of people, and it was a great environment to work in. My boss and coworkers were fantastic; now that I'm gone, I still consider many of the people I worked with, friends.

    Cons

    It was a fairly boring job, and the pay is pretty much minimum wage. Sometimes the building would shut down and we'd have to close early, even an hour into a shift that I had to commute 30 minutes for. Kind of frustrating.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee

    it’s okay but..

    Nov 16, 2021 - Cashier in Aurora, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It’s a fun environment to work around

    Cons

    You do not get payed enough for how hard you work

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great work environment for young fashion students

    Nov 13, 2019 - Cashier in Aurora, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Employee Discount Diversity of Employees Work environment culture is super supportive

    Cons

    Discount only works in store

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    No benefits

    Jun 20, 2021 - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    laidback work environment and parties from time to time

    Cons

    No communication or management support. Manger will not take escalations nor do they care about their team.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great work environment

    Jul 14, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    All employees are collaborative and work well with one another. The work environment is very positive.

    Cons

    Not the best work space, however it is easy to work with colleagues.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

Work at AKIRA? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

AKIRA Photos

+ Add Photo
AKIRA photo of: Akira Warehouse
AKIRA photo of: Friends For Life!
AKIRA photo of: Corporate Costume Contest!
AKIRA photo of: Taraji P. Hensen !
AKIRA photo of: Costume Contest!
AKIRA photo of: AKIRA Manager Party!
AKIRA photo of: Corporate Pumpkin Carving!
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Azalea Wang

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

AKIRA Job Seekers Also Viewed

Paper Source Logo
Paper Source

3.5

568 Reviews
Compare