AL Tayer Reviews | Glassdoor

AL Tayer Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 93 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at AL Tayer full-time

    Pros

    Better Exposure, reputable organization, good communication between upper and lower management

    Cons

    Too much office politics, less salary increments, slow career growth

    Advice to Management

    Need to recognize the work done by employees of all levels

    AL Tayer2017-12-06
  2. "Good environment to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Dubai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at AL Tayer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good paid and good environment to work

    Cons

    So far everything is ok and nothings complaint about

    Advice to Management

    More training about people for management

    AL Tayer2019-09-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Senior Management and lack of skills will leave you feeling like you want to move on - fast!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Buying in Dubai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at AL Tayer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary, leased car, brands you get to work with

    Cons

    Favoritism, Poor Management, Bad decisions, Egos..

    Advice to Management

    There is a lot of talent at Al Tayer but unfortunately, the Senior Management when it concerns the Buying Team is so poor that unless you are wealthy, or have some important connection you will never be recognized. With the salaries offered, you could employ a credible Senior Team in B&M with major international experience and actually have Buyers that can do - shock horror - numbers too! No Need for a... completely separate Buying and Planning Team! Huge saving. The Buyers also treat the Planning Team with huge disrespect as they feel they're superior so as you can imagine- it's quite a tense, pitted-against-one-another kind of working environment. I stayed for a couple of years but then I had to leave and find something stimulating as I honestly thought my brain was melting with some of the conversations I had to overhear in my cubicle, or when a Senior Buyer didn't know how to even work out a Margin. If you stay longer than 5 years, the bad reputation of the Buying Team will tarnish you and most international companies will assume you are only fit for selecting a product and looking pretty. ATG need to do something fast before it sinks. I know the family have had some long standing relationships with some of these Senior Managers but they need to now put the business first and start severing ties if they're going to move forward.

    Show More
    AL Tayer2019-09-09
  4. "Worst Culture I've Ever Worked in.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Dubai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at AL Tayer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It rains very little in Dubai

    Cons

    The Digital retail department is led from a place of insecurity due to the lack of experience in E-comm at the top which breeds a huge blame culture which spreads through the whole business, there is zero trust across teams, no autonomy at the middle management levels and a serious lack of teams wanting to take any responsibility. Shockingly, I found that senior management were more interested in covering their own... backs and passing the buck than actually coming together to find a way to move forward and innovate together. It was the most hostile, least collaborative and least supportive work environment I’ve ever experienced. Nepotism, bullying, bureaucracy, blame culture and favoritism are all rife within the Al Tayer Digital senior management teams (which is wholly supported by a very poor excuse of a HR Department) There should be no place for this in a modern business employing international talent who do not accept these outdated and unfair practices. Instead of looking at the root of the problems to improve the culture, they would rather replace the talent who do not accept these bad practices and label them a "bad team fit". Those remaining in the company resort to being compliant with this terrible culture and are very difficult to work with... and so it continues. There is a serious lack of integrity and lots of personal agenda’s at work. No team spirit, more like a smash and grab and blame everyone else if anything goes wrong. I could not buy into the company’s ethics, or lack there of. I’m so very relieved to be out of such a toxic and stressful environment.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in some management training for the Senior management team, and maybe get them to stick to brick and mortar, I'm sure they were good at it, but it's not the 80's anymore. Let go of your egos and pride - Get the right people with the right experience to run Digital.

    AL Tayer2019-08-24
  5. "nice culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Leader in Dubai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AL Tayer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Al Tayer has a good culture and environment, their salaries are good but it depends on the department

    Cons

    as corporate is very slow compared to other players

    AL Tayer2019-06-17
  6. "Very good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends

    I have been working at AL Tayer full-time

    Pros

    They care about their employees

    Cons

    A lot of pressure and work

    AL Tayer2019-05-27
  7. "Retail automotive sales advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Dubai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AL Tayer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fantastic reputable company in UAE

    Cons

    Jobs not secured for longer period of time in such a reputable company

    Advice to Management

    Should understand importance of person working 11 years in dubai in automotive industry

    AL Tayer2019-06-08
  8. "A well structured group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Dubai
    Recommends

    I worked at AL Tayer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lean processes and diverse expertise

    Cons

    Office environment is not comfortable (old looking office space)

    AL Tayer2019-05-24
  9. Helpful (3)

    "15 years in al tayer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at AL Tayer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Used to be One of the finest employer in middle east

    Cons

    Culture deteriorated over last 4 years. Highly political and racial discrimination .

    Advice to Management

    The first generation of owners had done a marvelous job . Stick to basics , remove all know attitude , retain right people , fire the toxic ones and diversity is not having 90 nationality understand inclusiveness is more important.

    AL Tayer2019-05-26
  10. "Project engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Baku

    I have been working at AL Tayer full-time

    Pros

    Civil project engineer

    Cons

    Convoluted project engineer with experience in different geography

    AL Tayer2019-04-13
Found 93 reviews