ALDI "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

ALDI Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 3 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
57%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
ALDI CEO Jason Hart
Jason Hart
1,005 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay for the hard work provided(in 523 reviews)

  • "Great pay and benefits also matching 401K(in 427 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - District Manager 

    I have been working at ALDI full-time

    Pros

    Great pay, benefit, autonomy, fast growing and stable company

    Cons

    Work life balance can be hard for some

    ALDI2019-08-03
  2. Helpful (522)

    "Not for the faint of heart but being able to keep up in this demanding, fast paced retail environment has it's perks."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager Trainee in Sugar Land, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ALDI full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    + industry leading wages Associates - $12/hr, Shift Mgr - $16/hr, SMT - $23/hr, Store Manager - $75,000+/yr + great work environment + excellent training + health, dental, vision, life insurance, 401k + 40-50 hr/wk with paid overtime Very fast paced so work hours fly by. I loved working at Aldi. The pay was great! Benefits great! Was training to be a store manager so a lot was expected of me but I was totally... up for it. My store manager loved my work, associates loved my fairness, customers loved me.

    Show More

    Cons

    + work/life balance + walked 28,000 steps/day!!! Never thought I would be fired for clocking in only minutes late!!

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is to reconsider their firing practice. Totally unfair to be fired by somebody who has never seen you or your work. Voluntary turnaround is out of control due to work load. I get it, its not for everyone, but value those that you do have. I was looking forward to putting in 15-20 years of my life into this company while I watched the average employee last only 3-5. Not disgruntled, more like... heartbroken :'-(

    Show More
    ALDI2016-10-05
  3. "Worst company ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ALDI full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My co workers were pretty funny and made it worth being there sometimes

    Cons

    It is a extremely hard company to work for no work life balance at all and you are treated like garbage

    ALDI2019-12-03
  4. "Great place to build your resume and get experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Salisbury, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ALDI full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, great benefit, allows you to have great experience right out of college.

    Cons

    No work life balance.

    ALDI2019-10-30
  5. "Poor Store Manager treament"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ALDI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary would be great for a 50hr work week.

    Cons

    Zero work life balance. 80-90 hr work weeks in the store are more common than not.

    ALDI2019-11-14
  6. "Decent workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager 

    I have been working at ALDI full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, benefits, ability to make own schedule

    Cons

    Poor work life balance, limited upward mobility, lack of incentives

    Advice to Management

    None

    ALDI2019-10-17
  7. "ALDI Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Manager in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ALDI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary, car, benefits, schedule, vacation

    Cons

    No work/life balance & long hours

    ALDI2019-10-01
  8. "Hard work, Rewarding Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ALDI full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Engaged leadership, good work-life balance (leaders DO NOT call you at home on your days off), fast-paced environment, team environment within the store.

    Cons

    The business model in CA can be a challenge due to employee call-outs.

    Advice to Management

    Hold your team accountable with the partnership of the DM, keep it fair, legal, and consistent.

    ALDI2019-09-26
  9. "Must know how to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - DM Intern in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ALDI for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great pay - Great Experience -Interesting - Incredible resume builder

    Cons

    Horrible work life balance Very toxic culture to the lower levels

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the little people

    ALDI2019-09-17
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Rapidly Growing Company with Bad Managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Batavia, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ALDI full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Work/Life balance (95% of people work 8 hours plus lunch) -Flexible schedule (get in anywhere from 7:00-8:30 and leave after 8 hours of on the clock work, as long as that schedule is approved by your manager) -Free snacks (ALDI brands, of course) -Growing company so there isn’t a lot of stress about the bottom line -Guaranteed raises every year that cap out after two or three years

    Cons

    -Inexperienced management or management that just doesn’t care about the wellbeing of their employees -Work until the jobs done mentality, however many hours that is -Resources/tools aren’t available to do the job properly -No desire to train or develop their employees -90% of people will not get promoted at this company. You’ll stay in the position you’re hired for, especially if it is salaried

    Advice to Management

    Train your managers not only how to do their jobs and handle their deliverables, but how to manage a team. There isn’t any trust that my manager or her manager have my colleagues or my best interest at heart. I feel like a resource and am treated like one instead of a person by my manager. I don’t feel like there is any desire to develop me as a professional, regardless of my desire to get promoted.

    ALDI2019-09-12
Found 387 reviews
</>Embed