AMC Entertainment Reviews

Updated Jun 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
AMC Entertainment CEO and President Adam Aron
Adam Aron
716 Ratings
Pros
  • "the benefit to watch free movies(in 1719 reviews)

  • "free popcorn, free movies, nice people(in 283 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Job pays minimum wage to start off with(in 280 reviews)

  • "sometimes long hours into the night(in 159 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of AMC Entertainment and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Lead crew

      Jun 7, 2021 - Crew Leader in Center Valley, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free Movies and popcorn and flexible hours.

      Cons

      There is no cons to this job ;)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Pretty cool job. It is what you make.

      Jun 11, 2021 - Crew Member in Morrow, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hours are flexible for the most part. I was able to pick up extra shifts as much as I wanted to but mainly because other people didn't want their shifts. Get access to free movies and discounts of food and drinks. The volume was pretty high on some days like first day releases and weekends especially during the summer. I like that there were different areas that you could get assigned to (box office, hot foods, guest services, concessions, usher, greeter, popcorn).

      Cons

      I worked with other people who were mainly in my age group (mainly teenagers and young adults) sometimes there was drama but I didn't really get into it. They fast pace environment may be too much for some to handle. The job is easy for the most part but some days you will have to work a little harder.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Easy job, free movies, and a good work environment <--- It just depends on management

      Jun 8, 2021 - Crew Lead in Saint Charles, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Free movies - Flexible scheduling - Fun work atmosphere (depends on your co-workers though) - Thorough training (though they should automate this with videos over other staff training each other...this would provide the best training outcome). - Easy to move up in the hiring ladder at your theater if you want to be a part of management

      Cons

      - Minimum wage pay is a bit low for the amount of work. Whatever state you're employed in, you deserve at least two dollars more. - Understaffing!: This is a big one for locations that need a bigger staff but struggle to get one. Management would often blow off people at the theater who were told to come in for an interview!! This pissed me off and was so inconsiderate. Not a low stress work environment- If you have anxiety or get stressed easily, this job is not for you. Blockbuster releases are BUSY and you'll have your hands full at all work positions. Not enough people or time to clean theaters: I had never seen so much trash (and a trashed theater) when Black Panther released. AMC could build their trash can areas in the theaters to hold more. Ushering and working at the concessions stands are the most demanding, but they're not that difficult. You will need to be able to lift at least 40 pounds like they request.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Crew Member Work

      May 28, 2021 - Crew Member in La Jolla, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Depending where you work, you may get to work with some pretty great people and make good friends and working relationships. You can also gain work skills.

      Cons

      It can be quite difficult to get promoted, and when you do, the pay increases are very minimal, like 25-50 cents more an hour. People bust their tushes off to prove themselves and get promoted, but instead get passed over while other people get promoted for unknown reasons. It's demotivating and people get burnt out and check out. Additionally customers are often terrible, but what's worse is that while some managers defend their staff (thank you!!) others reward poor behavior by placating the customers w offers such as free movie passes, which only encourages them to continue to be vile to those in customer service.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      If you have any self dignity, do not work here.

      May 30, 2021 - Crew Member in South Barrington, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free movies and all the junk food you never needed

      Cons

      You would NOT get a lunch break (even after a 12hr shift) unless you went out of your way to remind them and make it happen. The pay sucks, the male co workers are creepy if you’re a young woman, upper management picks favorites, oh and the job itself is disgusting. You spend hours picking up people’s garbage and half eaten food (without gloves). Customers can also be extremely rude because almost everyone working there is young and in high school. I did not have a single positive experience working here. Instead, the job really brought down my self esteem and made me feel trapped.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Toxic

      Jun 9, 2021 - Supervisor in Stillwater, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy to move up if you try hard enough

      Cons

      A coworker of mine had been working there for 5 years, and I was there for almost 3. We both busted our butts for this company! New management from another theater that closed came to our location. All of the long-time employees quit after being treated poorly and we were fired for an insane reason. The management there now cut corners, don't keep things clean, don't value their employees, and have not followed policy on multiple things including food. If you get a good management team it was a very good place to work. I do not understand how the "gm" is still employed with this company. But its a lot cheaper to replace lower paid employees!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fun where I am.

      May 17, 2021 - Cast Member - Part Time in Jersey City, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free movies. Free Popcorn and soda. Did I mention free movies? Is a normal and expected thing to talk to people about movies as much as you want. Most guests are in a good mood because they are excited to see something. Can be a lot of fun.

      Cons

      Very fast paced at times. Dealing with potentially hundreds of people each day, even when you have no time to do so. (and they don't care because they are in a rush and want their needs met immediately.) Easy for problems to snowball and get bigger. You will probably have to deal with things that aren't your job. Can be stressful.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great first job

      Jun 7, 2021 - Film Crew Member 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to gain experience without being too serious

      Cons

      Pay is minimum wage but there is room for growth

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Starter job

      Jun 6, 2021 - Crew Member 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are a variety of different tasks and positions for each day, so it rarely ever gets boring.

      Cons

      The theater is usually very busy so it gets a little bit hectic.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great experiences, low pay

      Jun 11, 2021 - Operations Manager in Gaithersburg, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very fun, to this day I meet some of my best friends here. Great summer job

      Cons

      Very long work weeks. No overtime as you are considered part of the entertainment industry and therefore expected to work longer work weeks. Pay in this area is unsustainable.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,665 Reviews

    Popular Careers with AMC Entertainment Job Seekers

    Crew
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Facility Maintenance Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at AMC Entertainment? Share Your Experiences

    or