AMC Liquidators Reviews | Glassdoor

AMC Liquidators Reviews

Updated Jan 19, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
49%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
AMC Liquidators CEO Michael J. Grimme (no image)
Michael J. Grimme
16 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Operations Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Tamarac, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMC Liquidators full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have worked at AMC Liquidators for almost 2 years, and as an employee you learn quickly that every job comes with its personal or corporate challenges. When you become an employee your hiring position is based on your initialized valued worth. I highly recommend to educate and advance yourself further within your job roles, then AMC upper management will provide an outlet to increase your value worth and of course increase salary and job title. The only complaints you can have with AMC will definitely start only with YOU. Don’t judge me because I became a manager, as I really started in the warehouse picking orders. If you’re not ready for challenging roles then you will fail working the company and also fail the company’s growth. I have no personal complaints at AMC as I always excelled in my daily tasks and was rewarded greatly. Unfortunately some co-workers in the past or the present failed in their job roles so they either quit or got fired then blamed the company for their short comings.

    Show More

    Cons

    The Pros at AMC do outweigh the Cons as this is a fun and environment and everyone is there to help you succeed.

    Advice to Management

    evaluate all employees progress with daily huddles and filter out any negative substances early that can potentially hurt the company growth

    AMC Liquidators2018-01-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Experience!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales and Marketing in Tamarac, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AMC Liquidators full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    AMC values their employees and recognizes hard work -it does not go unnoticed and I know from personal experience. If you're looking for an opportunity to learn the different phases of a growing small business, this is the place for you. Management pays close attention to your career goals and tries to align your role accordingly. There is something different going on every day and it's exciting to be a part of a team that needs to constantly adjust strategies as the industry evolves. The owner of the company tries to make sure to provide any and all resources needed for you to be successful in your role.

    Show More

    Cons

    Because it is a small company, you are expected to help mold and organize your role. This may be overwhelming for many. In reality, it's preparing you to be an outside-the-box thinker and enhances your self-drive.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on company culture and hire accordingly.

    AMC Liquidators2017-12-28
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AMC Liquidators full-time

    Pros

    there are NO pros for working with Mike the owner

    Cons

    Everything from harassment, bullying, downgrading, inconsistent goals expected, etc.

    Advice to Management

    Close your business

    AMC Liquidators2017-12-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Opportunity to Learn Higher Level Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AMC Liquidators full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hi Mike, I just wanted to say thank you for everything you taught me. You are a tough but great mentor. The mindset, terminology, planning has really helped me at my new position. I am now working for a top 10 Furniture Retailer based out of New York that has 19 stores across 3 states and 2 large distribution centers. Originally, I was just brought on to fix some inventory problems in one distribution center, but after 3 months they asked me to help in other operations departments (not fleet). Everything you allowed me to help with: creating job descriptions, SOPs, best practices, KPIs, and I am responsible for creating a committee to make sure we are running as lean as possible. I have implemented EOD emails (which was not an easy habit to form) All the terminology that you use daily, my new company is just starting to learn/use here. I am ahead of the game and speaking the same language of the VP and Owners. I also worked in sales, the commission scale is very attractive. It is a blend of retail sales and B2B, if you figure out the B2B you can have a nice easy life. There are a lot of 5 figure sales ($$,$$$). Learn to network the right way with high profile companies in South Florida.

    Show More

    Cons

    AGAIN I worked in both Operations and a short time in sales. Operationally challenging projects that are not cookie cutter really demand you to be organized, think 2-3-4 steps ahead. Sales, its a tough product to sell. But a great place to get your feet wet.

    Advice to Management

    Work closer with the sales team and understand that this is a very difficult, very niche product to sell. High risk High reward, so the sales training and mindset needs to be understood. I just wanted to let you know I truly appreciate all of my lessons and time at AMC.

    AMC Liquidators2017-04-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Enjoy My Job At AMC."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Consultant in Tamarac, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMC Liquidators

    Pros

    I have been employed for 5+ years in retail sales. When interviewed by management I was given a clear cut pathway to success. An open door policy continues and ownership listens to my suggestions as I have them. AMC expects 100% from all employees and I do enjoy learning from a family owned business. I can say that I look forward each and every day to helping customers in their buying experience.

    Cons

    Expand training for new employees.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to hire the most qualified applicants in all positions to maintain company growth and success.

    AMC Liquidators2016-06-29
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Don't work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Tamarac, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AMC Liquidators full-time

    Pros

    No pros to speak of

    Cons

    Owners are very difficult to work for, do not provide training, want instant sales results, very degrading verbally and in every effort mail to the entire sales staff. The owners need serous management training or need to close the doors. After 16 years of business there should be a good team but no one can last more than a couple of weeks or months with Mike Grimme. He's a bully. I would never recommend this company to anyone for any reason!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Close this losing company!

    AMC Liquidators2016-06-22
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Perfect Place If You Are Dedicated And Passionate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Specialist in Tamarac, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMC Liquidators full-time

    Pros

    If you're passionate about what you do, then AMC is the perfect place for you. Passion is required because AMC is a growing company and needs everyone to carry their weight to take it to the next level. The CEO can provide you guidance, but ultimately, your success depends on you. A desire to reach your goals is a must here. The company wants proactive employees rather than those who sit around and watch the clock. One of my favorite qualities of working at AMC is the freedom to try new initiatives to reach your goals. The company is committed to innovation and are always looking for new ways to reach customers. If you are committed to excellence and have an entrepreneur's drive, then you'll fit right in.

    Show More

    Cons

    AMC requires you to work at a fast pace and to multitask. You have to be focused on your goals so you won't be distracted. Writing down your efforts and organizing them based on priority will help you stay on track.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to allow your staff to evolve in their job role and reach their goals

    AMC Liquidators2016-01-08
  8. Helpful (5)

    "The 5 star reviews are fake.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AMC Liquidators

    Pros

    Just an FYI for anyone trying to look at the reviews at this company - the recent 5 star reviews are coming from the employer and current staff/family members. Anyone who has worked here can honestly say that experiencing this hostile working environment and traumatic experience has negatively impacted a person's well being and overall confidence in small business.

    Cons

    Run as fast as you can.

    Advice to Management

    One word: Karma. Stop trying to mask the reviews on here, cut corners and just take the advice that you see written on here! If EVERYONE is telling you to change and that you have serious interpersonal problems LISTEN! Your stubbornness is your greatest deterrent/hindrance to being a better person and a better business overall. You talk about burning bridges but you are the greatest offender. The people you've treated so poorly will continue to further their career and those positions of power will eventually hurt your business across the board with no limitation to business size or industry.

    Show More
    AMC Liquidators2016-02-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "furniture hocker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AMC Liquidators for less than a year

    Pros

    Owner is incompetent, rude and thinks he has a corporate culture. He just a hotel liquidator. He calls it a "trading company" . He doesn't trade anything. He buys used furniture for pennies on the dollar from hotels who want to get rid of stuff and rips off the public. His family takes all the good accounts so no outsider has a chance. I guarantee anyone outside of the family will despise the owner within 2 weeks because he has zero people skills and his business is a facade.

    Show More

    Cons

    worse than the pros so do i really need to say

    Advice to Management

    I'm too polite to say

    AMC Liquidators2016-02-05
  10. "Every successful company started at this level (get in now)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Tamarac, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AMC Liquidators full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Being a smaller company looking to grow to a larger corporate setting, young experienced professionals have a lot opportunity to help create the successful upbeat culture needed to get to the next level. I chose to work at AMC for that exact reason, in a short time I have had the opportunities to create procedures and policies that well help daily operations run more successfully. Not just in one department of Operations but I also have a say in Sales and Marketing. It takes that entrepreneur spirit and grit to work for a smaller company, because that is how AMC gets to the next level. It takes a certain type of individual to step out of a bigger already established "cookie cutter style" business to handle the growing pains that happen in every smaller business at this stage in their business life. Those individuals that can handle that tough and sometimes stressful atmospheres are the ones that have what it takes to grow with the company as becomes larger and larger. That is why I left a much larger very successful furniture company where I was a manager, because they already had reached a level where my voice and suggestions were not heard. For any small company to consistently reach over a million in sales annually is not because they were lucky, it took hard work and skill. You have an awesome chance to grow here, just like college where classes were challenging and professors were strict so is the road of life to professional success. Mike the owner has a track record of success (check his Linkedin it speaks for itself), he must have done something right to get to this point. He has no problem sharing knowledge or experiences to help you become more successful.

    Show More

    Cons

    Like any small family business (just like the business my family had) dealing with family can be challenging, but again every successful company at one point had growing pains that they grew out of to reach the next level. AMC is moving out of the small family business model. Training can be improved upon, but that is why they are looking to hire young professionals that want to improve and grow a company to the next level and beyond. If these are the only "cons" I have come up with, and you are looking to be an impact in the business community....AMC Liquidators could be the place for you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My only advice is to stick with the current game plan of creating a new culture, you have right now, it is the right plan to grow to the next level.

    AMC Liquidators2015-11-06
Found 20 reviews