AMC Networks Reviews | Glassdoor

AMC Networks Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 139 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
AMC Networks CEO Joshua W. Sapan
Joshua W. Sapan
78 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Just look at the exec leadership section of the AMCN website(in 6 reviews)

  • "Lack of vision and transparency from upper management(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company with good culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AMC Networks full-time

    Pros

    Great company with room for growth

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    AMC Networks2019-05-02
  2. "Good work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at AMC Networks full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Good work-life balance and nice, friendly people. Generous maternity leave.

    Cons

    Lack of diversity among executive ranks. Not the most ambitious, forward-looking company.

    AMC Networks2019-05-06
  3. "Once destine for greatnesses it is now destine for disaster.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AMC Networks full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    The benefits were generous, and the people who i worked with kept me there as long as I was.

    Cons

    Mismanagement from the top down. It's time for the founder, Charles Dolan to step in already and save what is left of the company he started. Chuck... . please.. you had good people who dedicated their lives to this company and help build something others could only dream of. If there is any hope of saving what is left of Rainbow, you have to take back the reigns. Pay out Josh and Ed.. and get rid of Sean Sullivan...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Leave..

    AMC Networks2019-05-02
  4. Helpful (3)

    "If you aim to be mediocre, then this is the place for you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AMC Networks full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Attracts some really great talent. About half of the people that work at AMCN really do care about what they do. Working at AMCN gives you the opportunity to work on some of the most iconic series of all time.

    Cons

    - Extremely cliquey across the board and most senior staff have been there 15+ years leading to ineffective and toxic leadership. - Layoffs occur every 2-3 years (fun right?) and somehow the same people are always "magically" safe. Senior management rarely ever communicates these changes early enough or effectively leading to a high stress environment that breeds LOTS of gossip. - Human Resources lacks the "human"...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Unfortunately, no advice since it's the people at the top that are the problem.

    AMC Networks2019-03-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good people, poor policies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AMC Networks full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Team atmosphere is great. The people you work with is the biggest part of what makes AMCN great.

    Cons

    People have become more unhappy over time, given changes in HR policies and recent layoffs.

    AMC Networks2019-03-12
  6. "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at AMC Networks

      Pros

      Good work culture, and benefits

      Cons

      Change is slow at this company. Too much political tape.

      AMC Networks2019-03-10
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Special Project Manager in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at AMC Networks full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Great People, Pre-Set Process, easy onboarding, and a continual workload

      Cons

      Slow but consistent development, which can be a pro or a con.

      Advice to Management

      Keep the Rainbow Media Feel to it

      AMC Networks2019-02-12
    • "Good Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at AMC Networks full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        Good work life balance available

        Cons

        Communication between groups needs improvement

        AMC Networks2019-01-11
      • "Administrative Assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at AMC Networks full-time

        Pros

        - Very good benefits package

        Cons

        - Currently lots of management changes

        AMC Networks2018-12-13
      • "Uninspiring but smart"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at AMC Networks full-time

        Pros

        Depending on which part of the company you're in, you'll end up with people who have incredibly specific domain knowledge, or if you end up with the startup group, you'll end up with people who have a lot of talent. LOVED working with the people there, no doubt.

        Cons

        I left because I realized that at some point, the only opinion that matters is the head of the group. Actually, a whole lot of people left because of that. It's a pity because we could have really done well.

        Advice to Management

        Moderinize benefits, management styles, etc

        AMC Networks2018-12-13
      Found 139 reviews