AMC Technology Reviews | Glassdoor

AMC Technology Reviews

Updated May 30, 2017
13 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Anthony X. Uliano
9 Ratings

13 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "UX Design Lab"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - User Experience Design Lab in Richmond, VA
    Former Employee - User Experience Design Lab in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AMC Technology part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Working on small teams closely with peers and management. Flexible hours and engaging projects.

    Cons

    Cases are sometimes isolating, tend to end up having very different code base than your peers. Start up is very difficult, little to no documentation on the code base so you will get great at reading code

    Advice to Management

    Write some development documentation on the code base, it would be great if we followed a more strict Agile development pattern.


  2. "A great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMC Technology full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great team and work culture
    Great senior management team
    Challenging opportunities
    Celebrations and outings to celebrate company's success
    Great work life balance
    Great Benefits

    Cons

    Compensation could be a little better

    Advice to Management

    Continue working closely with the teams like you do

    AMC Technology Response

    Feb 13, 2017 – Director of Strategic Alliances and Marketing

    Thank you for your review. Our employees are our greatest assets, so I’ll take your comments under advisement during our annual review.

  3. "Highly focused bunch of individuals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Midlothian, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Midlothian, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMC Technology full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    We do a lot of good development here at AMC with the latest technologies on the CTI/ CRM side. Lot of interesting folks around makes it more fun. The work is definitely very challenging given the fact that we operate in a very technical and niche domain and also the fact that we are a small team of around 20 people

    Cons

    A small team definitely means, we need to keep on shifting our priorities when needed. working in a small team also results in everyone taking more responsibilities which might be frustrating to a few people!!!

    AMC Technology Response

    Feb 13, 2017 – Director of Strategic Alliances and Marketing

    We greatly appreciate your review of AMC. A small team definitely has its pros and cons, but we are hoping to grow in the coming years!


  4. "Great, fast paced company that provides opportunities for those that work hard to achieve their goals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMC Technology full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    open culture that provides a unique opportunity to impact the software industry, a great place to make your ideas a reality, Senior management is very supportive and helpful in issue resolution

    Cons

    the atmosphere is very laid back and can give people the impression that the company is not less formal in processes or employees lack professionalism, this generally is not the case but there is an opportunity for this mistake to be made by new employees or external people, operates in a niche industry so it can be challenging to find qualified employees and learning curves may be steep for new people, this is not an ideal environment if you have difficulty executing tasks independently or are not proactive in getting assistance

    AMC Technology Response

    Feb 13, 2017 – Director of Strategic Alliances and Marketing

    Thank you for taking time to give feedback about us. We are proud to be able to impact the software industry at a global level as a small company also! Please address any concerns you may have about... More


  5. "Perspective from CTO/Founder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Founder & Chief Technology Officer in Midlothian, VA
    Current Employee - Founder & Chief Technology Officer in Midlothian, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AMC Technology full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The team is amazing. We do our best to empower employees and it shows in their contribution and work. We're a small company with a world-wide presence. It's exciting to work with some of the best employees, partners, and customers in the world.

    Cons

    Being small allows us to be nimble, but it has it's downsides. Sometimes we need to shift priorities and that can be frustrating. Personally, I moved away for family reasons and I'm not at HQ as much as I'd like, so it's an ongoing struggle to keep everyone aware of our high level goals.

    Advice to Management

    Overall I think the management team works hard. I think we should take more time to ensure everyone understands the high-level direction and the alignment their individual work has toward that direction.

    AMC Technology Response

    Feb 13, 2017 – Director of Strategic Alliances and Marketing

    Thank you for providing us with such an exciting place to work!


  6. "Not so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMC Technology full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance, Highly technical

    Cons

    High rate of employee dissatisfaction, horrible compensation , Poor employee growth, no direction. The CTO doesnt have

    Advice to Management

    The management needs to address employee dissatisfaction and address employee growth problems.

    AMC Technology Response

    Feb 13, 2017 – Director of Strategic Alliances and Marketing

    Thank you for your review of AMC Technology. Since this post, we have taken strides to put more focus into our human resource efforts and placed emphasis into making sure employees have a higher... More


  7. "Summer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Fun, Friendly atmosphere. Enjoyed the variety of projects assigned. Company truly cares about employees.

    Cons

    Sometimes there was a lot of downtime, my advice to ensure that you make yourself busy.

    Advice to Management

    Need to find a way to make sales more sustainable to make sure that product stays ahead of the curve

  8. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at AMC Technology full-time

    Pros

    Small company where you can make a difference

    Cons

    Lack of eadership and direction Product is stale and no longer unique. No growth opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    None

    AMC Technology Response

    Feb 13, 2017 – Director of Strategic Alliances and Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to review AMC technology. We will take your advisement into consideration during our annual review.


  9. "An exciting and rewarding place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMC Technology full-time

    Pros

    New projects keep work interesting. Shared goals of growing the company's success. Critical thinking required. Utilization of cutting edge technologies.

    Cons

    Occasional tight deadlines can be stressful at times but management is accommodating.

    Advice to Management

    Communication throughout the departments could be improved. Perhaps more meetings where each employee is required or encouraged to give a brief opinion on a topic or express a question they might have.

    AMC Technology Response

    Feb 13, 2017 – Director of Strategic Alliances and Marketing

    Thank you very much for taking the time to review AMC Technology! We welcome advice to management and try to promote an environment where everyone’s voice can be heard.


  10. "Overall a good company to work for, with some average problems to work through."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMC Technology full-time

    Pros

    This is a small company so you get to know everyone really well, making it very casual and comfortable. The benefits also get spread around more because of the size and you get a much wider range of work within your role. Compared to a large company where you are probably only attached to one task, you will get a vast amount of experience from working here.

    The company has recently taken employees on retreats and often does get togethers and parties in the office for holidays. There's also a casual dress code that is very nice.

    Cons

    There's sometimes a lack of communication within the company. It's so small that a lot of times people assume information is getting passed around when in reality it's not. That can make things seem secretive when it's actually just a mistake.

    AMC Technology Response

    Feb 13, 2017 – Director of Strategic Alliances and Marketing

    We also love wearing jeans to the office, so we’re happy you are comfortable in the environment. We always look forward to hearing advice about how to improve communication within the office, so... More


Showing 13 of 13 reviews
Reset Filters