AMF Bowling Reviews | Glassdoor

AMF Bowling Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 269 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Tom Shannon
70 Ratings
Pros
  • "Your regular customers (league bowlers) became somewhat like a family too(in 17 reviews)

  • "Fun environment, lots of development and training opportunities for team members(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management lacked professionalism(in 18 reviews)

  • "Freeze on merit increases for the greater part of my 5 year tenure, low pay(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMF Bowling

    Pros

    That's good location for play kid and adult

    Cons

    Good for play adult and kid, all familyjust

    Advice to Management

    Excellent

    AMF Bowling2018-07-26
  2. "None"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at AMF Bowling full-time

      Pros

      Free bowling , league bowlers are fun

      Cons

      Unfortunately lots of turn over

      AMF Bowling2019-03-19
    • "Trash management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at AMF Bowling part-time

      Pros

      Relatively easy job. Decent pay

      Cons

      Bad boss, terrible coworkers. Bad experience altogether

      AMF Bowling2019-01-15
    • "The Front Desk position is a great place to start if you want to get in the field of customer service and accounting"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Front Desk in Bryans Road, MD
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at AMF Bowling part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great learning experience and very good practice for handling money

      Cons

      Unfortunately you have to do everything on your own

      AMF Bowling2018-09-09
    • "Bad company no support"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at AMF Bowling full-time

      Pros

      Meet some new people, alright bonus structure.

      Cons

      No support from corporate. No training. Expected an Assistant Manager to run the desk, open and run the kitchen and be a lane server. They expect them to do that for not so great pay.

      Advice to Management

      Support your staff, don’t run so tight on labor.

      AMF Bowling2018-08-17
    • "Cook"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at AMF Bowling full-time

        Pros

        Slow nights are slow. Nice environment. 10¢ bowling

        Cons

        Low pay short hours.

        Advice to Management

        Don't like to employees at interview.

        AMF Bowling2018-08-09
      • "Management Review"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Front Desk Associate in Annandale, VA
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at AMF Bowling part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Management is awesome. The most caring team I had, most especially Dr. Burke. I enjoy working with him, together with Mr. Vernon, Ms. Elana, and Ms. Sherley.

        Cons

        Though I know that the center is undergoing renovation, I sometimes feel sickly because of the condition inside the center. Its hot on the one half of the center, while cold on the other half, and also the odd smell may be due to the old molded carpet.

        AMF Bowling2018-06-18
      • "Bartender/ Event Host"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at AMF Bowling part-time

        Pros

        I love it, they have put me in many different opportunities

        Cons

        Sometimes management can be to much, but they are enjoyable

        Advice to Management

        None

        AMF Bowling2018-06-17
      • "AMF Bowling General Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - General Manager in Columbia, SC
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at AMF Bowling full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Fun environment Bowling Food that is bad for your health

        Cons

        The DM's are never around and every idea they have is "the next big thing" but it really is just the next bad thing. The home office, mainly HR, is a mess. Files sent over never seem to get updated and when you need help from them they ghost you.

        Advice to Management

        Listen to your employees. If something seems to be working when growing leagues, DO NOT CHANGE IT!

        AMF Bowling2018-07-02
      • "Wouldn't recommend"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Front Desk in Bakersfield, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at AMF Bowling part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        getting paid every week. league bowlers

        Cons

        high turnover rate bad lead management

        AMF Bowling2018-06-17
      Found 269 reviews