AMIDEAST Reviews | Glassdoor

AMIDEAST Reviews

Updated Nov 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
44%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
AMIDEAST President and Chief Executive Officer The Honorable Theodore H. Kattouf (no image)
The Honorable Theodore H. Kattouf
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "Mission is relevant and you can learn a lot about the Middle East(in 8 reviews)

  • "Incredible mission, programs, and impact in hard-to-reach places in the Middle East and North Africa(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay and cold office culture(in 4 reviews)

  • "Wages were low and stagnant and management was not open to giving raises; because of this, staff turnover (especially for lower-level jobs) is high;(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AMIDEAST full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very stable organization, excellent people and excellent benefits

    Cons

    No cons at this time

    AMIDEAST2019-02-09
  2. "Great Cause & Great Co"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AMIDEAST full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly Professionals working for a wonderful cause

    Cons

    High turnover in the past but getting better

    AMIDEAST2019-11-11
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Working in Non-profit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AMIDEAST full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits very good Other departments are very helpful

    Cons

    It’s dc, which means traffic everyday and small garage parking. Worked with this org and didn’t like the experience at all. Work environment in the accounting department was not professional from the managers. They created a stressful atmosphere. They do not train you, you learn as you go. A lot of mistakes will be made. I prefer to go back to corporate, will get paid more in a more structured environment.

    AMIDEAST2019-06-14
  4. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at AMIDEAST full-time

    Pros

    gained valuable experience while teaching diverse student communities and working independently

    Cons

    sometimes it was difficult to get more hours. limited opportunities to work in a team

    AMIDEAST2018-09-30
  5. "Two years in Amideast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Counselor in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMIDEAST full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1- Great people the best I've worked with, extremely helpful and friendly, family atmosphere. 2- Learning and promotion chances 3- Freedom to be creative and minimal interference

    Cons

    Bureaucracy Oh my God! Bureaucracy is killing its chance to grow and prevail in the market

    Advice to Management

    Marketing needs a revamp

    AMIDEAST2018-05-19
  6. "Great work with youth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant 

    I worked at AMIDEAST part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amideast has great programs to support youth personally, academically, and professionally.

    Cons

    Salaries didn’t often change, and the atmosphere was somewhat informal.

    AMIDEAST2017-11-03
  7. "Solid first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMIDEAST full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and location. Great way to get started in an international NGO.

    Cons

    Low pay and cold office culture.

    AMIDEAST2017-07-25
  8. "Good place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMIDEAST full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will get hands on experience and learn a lot about the region and business, grants, international education, etc

    Cons

    It's quiet. Not a lot of cross department communication.

    AMIDEAST2017-07-21
  9. Helpful (3)

    "No where to go!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Training 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AMIDEAST part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People are nice. You do enjoy the fun of the job

    Cons

    The pay is below what it should be in comparison to the work we do! Sometimes it is confusing if AMIDEAST is actually a "non-profit". Their English language programs in the MENA region is a money making machine!!

    Advice to Management

    Be true to your mission and stop exploiting employees. Employees are genuinely invested in your mission!

    AMIDEAST2017-06-01
  10. "Summer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     
    Recommends

    I worked at AMIDEAST

    Pros

    Amideast is a nice place to work at; It has offices all over the world and you feel like your work has a tangible impact on people's lives

    Cons

    I have no cons for this company

    AMIDEAST2017-03-08
Found 56 reviews