AMIkids Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

AMIkids Reviews

Updated Sep 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 66 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
34%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
AMIkids CEO Michael Thornton (no image)
Michael Thornton
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great place to help troubled teens turn their lives around(in 3 reviews)

  • "For a nonprofit working with youth, it doesn't get much better than AMIkids(in 2 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "AMIkids-A Company That Invests In You!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FFT Therapist in Morganton, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AMIkids full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    AMIkids invests in you from the first day of orientation. They pay to train you in FFT model. They highly encourage you to seek growth opportunities with curating a Competency Plan which can in some cases can put you on a leadership track quicker. They care about your health as a therapist from Day 1. For example, they immediately asked me to complete a Self-Care Plan that addresses my goals, both personal and... professional, my signs I'm stressed, and how to interact with me when I am feeling that way. I have always felt supported by the company and appreciate how grounded they are in their mission to serve youth. For a nonprofit working with youth, it doesn't get much better than AMIkids.

    Show More

    Cons

    Be prepared to spend 45% of your time on the road driving to see these families. The company does a GREAT job stressing this in the interview process to be transparent as possible that you will be driving a lot if you take the position. Get a good podcast and you will be fine though.

    AMIkids2019-10-01
  2. "Not what you expect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AMIkids full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    large organization that helps kids

    Cons

    nothing is what it seems. be sure to clarify your job expectations

    AMIkids2019-09-03
  3. Helpful (1)

    "It is confusing because I can ask 3 people the same question and get 3 different answers. There are too many changes."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Manager in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AMIkids full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I think the main goal of helping kids is great.

    Cons

    I think the goal of helping kids gets lost sometimes. There is no consistency between what corporate says and what the schools do. Corporate has no idea what working at the schools really entail.

    Advice to Management

    I think corporate needs to spend time at the different schools. I don't mean just a day, in and out. Really spend some quality time, listening and observing.

    AMIkids2019-07-18
  4. "Think Twice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AMIkids full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Commitment to kids and their families is phenomenal.

    Cons

    Understaffed, underpaid, poor work/life balance.

    AMIkids2019-04-12
  5. Helpful (2)

    "***DO NOT WORK HERE***"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct Care Staff in Jonesville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AMIkids full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Money and plenty of overtime

    Cons

    Lacks competent leadership. Staff attacks each other with gossip and rumors. The students are not handled and maintained. The Executive Director is about his image and not about the students. An abundance of USURY and EXTORTION...

    Advice to Management

    CLEAN YOUR OWN MESSES UP.... TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR YOUR ACTIONS VALUE ALL STAFF STOP LYING

    AMIkids2019-04-10

    AMIkids Response

    May 3, 2019CEO

    Our goal is to provide a safe, productive environment for our students and staff alike. As a current employee, please utilize the anonymous third-party conduit – ReportIt – to share these concerns so that our Operations and HR departments may review them immediately and act accordingly. -Michael Thornton, President & CEO

    Show Less
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Petty, Childish, Bullying Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Family Therapist in Greenville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at AMIkids full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with the teenagers and families and improving their lives

    Cons

    Everything else! This place has too much favoritism, bullying, pettiness and everyone in leadership is childish! You don’t get paid what you are worth and this includes no overtime. This company is always ready to take money from you and never gives you what you deserve. Most of my expense checks came months late which was not helpful since I have bills to pay. Stay away from this company!

    AMIkids2019-01-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Direct care staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Direct Care Worker in Melbourne, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AMIkids full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Youth is giving an opportunity to obtain GED, Safe Serv, Certified Personal Trainer Certificates

    Cons

    Very corrupt upper management. They cover up all the major issues and not report to cooperate. Tobacco, Drugs, medication checking, denial of Abuse Calls, Staff continues to work although expired CPR and PAR training not up dated. Voided work details, inflated point cards, kids reinforce for negative behaviors. Incident reports are “fixed” to protect staff. Upper Management used staff as scapegoats. Staff is under... paid, 11$ an hour with NO annual pay raise. Rules are constantly adjust when deem nessary. Always short staff, working out of ratio, staff constantly late. Fraudulent time recorded on timesheet. Upper management only drug test the staff that they are 110% sure do not use drugs. Youths are being “pushed” through program constantly. Management signs off that youth has compled program successfully. Drug incident happen 11/19/2018 and is being covered up by management. Full investigation needs to be completed and you will see how corrupt they are.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    DRAIN THE SWAMP. Very corrupt. New management for a successful peogram.

    AMIkids2018-12-08
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great intentions, PoorLeadership/Execution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AMIkids full-time

    Pros

    The kids I worked with weren’t as bad as the staff often pushed them to be. They need boundaries and honest conversations but they will respect those adults they are able to build a relationship with.

    Cons

    Staff are too often negative about the kids and it creates a cycle of toxicity. Leadership makes promises they have no way of keeping and no plan of action to follow through, which takes a toll on staff trying to figure out how to meet unrealistic and unsustainable expectations.

    Advice to Management

    Plan the how, gather the resources, THEN advertise and implement.

    AMIkids2018-11-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Masters Level Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL

    I worked at AMIkids full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team environment Great Pay Compensation for going back to school Retirement benefits

    Cons

    Short Staff Lack of Communication Lack of funding

    AMIkids2018-08-03
  10. "Support Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Staff in Bennettsville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMIkids part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management handles all situations very professional

    Cons

    There are no cons about this company

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    AMIkids2018-08-01
Found 66 reviews