AMLI Residential Community Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

AMLI Residential Community Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

4.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
AMLI Residential CEO Greg Mutz
Greg Mutz
18 Ratings
  1. "Community Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Manager in Broomfield, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AMLI Residential full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    AMLI is focused on promoting from within and truly care about their employees. They really listen to the employees and make changes based on their feedback. They take the time to develop each employee and act with a high level of integrity.

    Cons

    Not many cons. They have very high expectations which is not a bad thing.

    Advice to Management

    Continue doing what you are doing. It is working and people enjoy working for AMLI.

    AMLI Residential2017-01-22

    AMLI Residential Response

    January 25, 2017Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a terrific review. We are thrilled that you had such a positive experience at AMLI. Your comment that we act with a high level of integrity is the best compliment that we ask for. Thank you for your dedication, commitment and contributions ...

    Show More
  2. "Return (Boomerang) Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Englewood, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMLI Residential full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked for AMLI for just under two years when I left for a promotion opportunity at another property management company (was recruited by a former manager). I really had no intention of leaving, except that I live a good distance from the Denver market and therefore only certain properties are really feasible for me (and this other company had a potential opening coming available a short distance from my home).... Day 1 at the new company I knew I preferred AMLI, regardless of commute time. The onboarding process is far superior to what I have seen in this industry as well as the compensation package (including leasing bonuses, etc.). Luckily for me, an opportunity came available that worked for me with regards to commuting and I jumped at the opportunity to interview. I was welcomed back with open arms two months ago and am unbelievably happy to be back. Even my family says that my overall demeanor is night and day better. From the turn process of the apartments to the application process to our 48-hour service guarantee and beyond, AMLI is at the head of the pack.

    Show More

    Cons

    Honestly, there really aren't any. No company is perfect, and the standards for excellence that AMLI has could potentially take some getting used to for someone who is not used to working at luxury communities, but they allow us to continually provide outstanding customer service and maintain the properties at the highest level.

    Advice to Management

    Keep promoting the AMLI fAMLI concept. The recognition/compensation programs (i.e. million dollar club) are fantastic and help to promote longevity and a desire to excel.

    AMLI Residential2016-06-22

    AMLI Residential Response

    June 23, 2016HR-Employment Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to share such positive feedback on the AMLI culture and work environment. As you may know, our tag line is “AMLI’s Grass is Greener”. We celebrate our boomerang employees and are excited you rejoined the fAMLI. Best wishes for your continued success.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great for Most..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Community Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMLI Residential

    Pros

    This is a good company. The people in Upper Management positions are, for the most part, very sensible individuals. Pay is decent, not above or below market. Though there are grievances to be had let me be clear in saying that this is a good company who cares about its employees.

    Cons

    Matrix Management. If you like having several people to answer to who may not all want the same things from you and may not even have the same goals for your property, this is the company for you. I personally find it very difficult to operate in an environment where goals are unclear, leadership is not well defined, responsibility is laid directly on your shoulders but the ability to act is given to several... different departments. It is the only company that I know of that will trust an individual with the management of a $50m property but it requires a written approval from the Senior Vice President to waive a $10 late fee.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Define the line of leadership. Allow your Managers to make decisions in the field. Respond to market changes at the property level quicker. Allow your manager's to make decisions in the field. Unify the message from the top so that the humpteen different people we answer to are all on the same page. Allow your managers to make decisions in the field. Stop with the 3 AM emails Allow your managers to make... decisions in the field... Really... its what you pay us to do... and its why you gave us the keys to a $50m asset.

    Show More
    AMLI Residential2016-05-23

    AMLI Residential Response

    May 27, 2016HR-Employment Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and suggestions. We do have many support functions and resources at AMLI involved in running our business. Ultimately, we all have the same goals for our residents, our employees, our communities and profitability for our investors. ...

    Show More
  4. "Best I've worked for thus far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMLI Residential full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    AMLI has truly been the best company I have worked for within the multi family housing industry. They have an excellent company culture and truly care about their employee's well being while still maintaining a high expectation. You do not have to worry about a lack of resources... They always do the right thing and truly want to upkeep the assets. The pay is great with a fair bonus potential. And best of all, the... upper management team is approachable, very knowledgable, and they truly care about the onsite teams.

    Show More

    Cons

    The marketing department could use a little help (seem short staffed) but there truly aren't any cons! They are always making changes for the better!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work and you will attract great people.

    AMLI Residential2016-03-02

    AMLI Residential Response

    March 7, 2016HR-Employment Representative

    Thank you for the wonderful review and feedback. It is so rewarding to have leaders like you share your passion and commitment to AMLI’s culture, compensation programs and overall work environment. We agree that we are the top in the multifamily housing industry. We hope you will ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AMLI Residential full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Everything as long as you are one of the popular employees.

    Cons

    Political from the CEO down. Backstabbing and they will smile to your face while bad mouth you from behind. In a management position I see HR and senior management do this as well.

    AMLI Residential2015-08-07

    AMLI Residential Response

    August 13, 2015HR-Employment Representative

    We are disappointed to read you are unhappy working at AMLI. As you are in a leadership role, AMLI may not be the best place for you to work. We hope you will reach out to someone you feel comfortable with to discuss your concerns and /or options for moving forward.

  6. Helpful (3)

    "Awesome Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Community Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMLI Residential

    Pros

    AMLI is a great company with an amazing array of higher ups. The founders, CEOs, VPs are all present, involved, and friendly. Sales commissions are good.

    Cons

    Base pay is not much, at all, for the responsibilities were required to do.

    AMLI Residential2015-01-14

    AMLI Residential Response

    January 23, 2015SVP Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. it is always a pleasure to read that AMLI employees are engaged and value the work culture we are creating together. We do review salary ranges regularly and participate in industry compensation surveys, so to ensure we are ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Red Queen Theory: Run fast but get nowhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMLI Residential full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Compensation is above industry average. Great training department. Awards programs create a healthy competition. Majority of communities are quality assets.

    Cons

    One thing the Red Queen loves is red tape, and at AMLI you will a lot. There is a significant disconnect between senior management and onsite operations staff. A lot of time is wasted on unimportant details. National Property Tours are an absolute joke. Senior management should just show up. Even some of the VPs refer to it as a dog and pony show.

    Advice to Management

    In business there exists is a thing called the “Red Queen Theory.” This theory is based off of the queen from “Through the Looking Glass,” where the queen runs as fast as she can, not to get ahead, but merely to keep up with the world around her. That is what it felt like to work at AMLI, as if we were constantly working and fighting to keep up with our competition, yet never finding ways to pass them. When I... discussed this fact with a few peers who are also former AMLI alums, we sadly realized that the best description of this was a “culture of mediocrity.” After five years of working with AMLI, I will say that there were some pros and cons to working with this company. At times, I felt like I learned more about how not to lead people than how to lead people. There was a constant disconnect between senior management and onsite operations. I’ve read that this seems to be a consistent theme on reviews of all management companies, so maybe AMLI is just keeping up with the dysfunction of their industry peers. At the same time, I felt that AMLI failed to address the key issue, how do we be the best? That answer which escaped them was simple. Take care of your people. One of the strengths of AMLI is their ability to squeeze water out of a rock. Their processes and programs, policies and procedures, turned innovative new hire’s into black and white automatons. Every property, regardless of resident demographic, must market, manage and execute exactly the same way, down to the same black and white uniforms that every employee must wear. The high turnover that we saw was, in my opinion, directly related to the fact that this company would push people to their limits, using extreme expectations and a strict structure. In theory, squeezing that rock should produce a diamond, but in most cases it just produced unhappy coal. Having said that, AMLI is doing a few things very well. Their training program, particularly the Peer Trainer Program, has improved the team’s ability to attract the right talent. Top talent in the market place is concerned whether a new company will give them the tools to succeed. In this respect, AMLI markets their education program well. It’s not a perfect education system, but if I were to pick a department that impressed me, it would be the Education Department. The VP is phenomenal and her team is solid. From a compensation perspective, I would also say that AMLI does well. It is not the highest paying company in the market, but on a scale of 1 to 10, I’d say their compensation packages would rank an 8. I was very pleased with mine, and the bonus structure was above industry average. As a service manager, they did offer free apartments so that they could have a 24 hour maintenance emergency presence. This is a benefit that has almost entirely disappeared from our industry, which makes it a strong point. AMLI is aware that there are far too many levels of red tape. I’ve been in strategy meetings and conferences where the top brass discussed the need to improve in this area. I know it’s a focus, but it felt as though it was a problem they were afraid to fix. As if loosening the shackles to allow the prisoner movement might result in full-fledged riot in the prison. My argument was simply this, “you trust me to manage a $100,000,000 piece of real estate but not to make a $100 decision?” If you want to feel like a number, AMLI is your company. Before I joined AMLI, a former VP for AMLI called me to talk me out of it. This VP said, “I was a vice president there and I felt like a number. AMLI just doesn’t know how to treat people.” I quickly saw what the VP meant. AMLI put so much focus on achieving results but not enough into determining are these the right results? In life nothing is more valuable than a person’s time. AMLI focused on so many things that wasted their employees time, that it was hard to achieve the right results. I can’t even begin to count the number of tasks that even VPs and regional managers said were pointless, but needed to be done anyway. The biggest insult you can give a man is to waste his time. Here is my advice to AMLI: The founders of AMLI are great men. I’ve personally had the pleasure of talking shop, rehashing about the military, and just chatting with these gentlemen on a number of occasions. They had a great vision that turned into a thriving and profitable company. Maybe it’s the difference between the baby boomers and the X & Y generations, but somewhere along the line there became a disconnect. Maybe it’s that the people in senior management roles lost touch with what it means to be on the ground? You have the body for greatness and mind for success, but the brain isn’t listening to the signals coming from the arms and legs. AMLI deserves so much more than mediocre. I truly hope that AMLI becomes the type of employer that keeps top talent. More than anything, I hope that AMLI refocuses on the most valuable asset, their people. AMLI deserves to be the pace setter, but as the saying goes, “the pace of the leader sets the pace of the pack.”

    Show More
    AMLI Residential2014-01-25
  8. "Very happy employee with AMLI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMLI Residential full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Open door policy with all upper management up to president. Everyone cares about your opinion and wants you to contribute your ideas Very happy, fair work and team environment

    Cons

    Not really anything negative in my opinion besides the stress that sometimes comes with the job

    AMLI Residential2013-03-03
  9. Helpful (2)

    "AMLI is the best company I have ever worked for. AMLI seems to be a very organized and honest operation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Community Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMLI Residential

    Pros

    I always get a feeling of open and honest information that is received from Senior Management, they never talk down to anyone and seem sincere when speaking to employees, one on one.

    Cons

    I have never found a downside working for this company, everyone seems to get along and AMLI has always been supportive.

    Advice to Management

    AMLI needs to reach out more to employees who work hard and feel that they should be able to make more money and get higher raises the longer they work for the company.

    AMLI Residential2009-05-25
Found 19 reviews