AMN Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor

AMN Healthcare Reviews

Updated October 17, 2018
471 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
AMN Healthcare President, CEO, and Director Susan R. Salka
Susan R. Salka
280 Ratings

471 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "This is also a really great place for women" (in 23 reviews)

  • "Great work life balance/ Competitive salary / great" (in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance is absolutely non existent" (in 11 reviews)

  • "Relatively low pay and benefits are pricey" (in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Respiratory Therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at AMN Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Fast and efficient with employment placement.

    Cons

    Sometimes pay versus cost of living in certain areas weren’t negotiable when it needed to be.

    AMN Healthcare Response

    Oct 18, 2018 – AMN Healthcare Response Team

    We are glad to know that you have enjoyed working with AMN Healthcare and we have read your feedback about negotiating compensation. Your comments will be shared with leadership.


  2. "Talented, Caring Team!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMN Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Great opportunity to build your resume and work with some of the most talented, innovative and caring team members in the industry. Contributing to healthcare delivery solutions makes me feel that my job has purpose & reward beyond all the tangible benefits that come with the role.

    Cons

    The pace is not for everyone. Pay scale could be higher.

    Advice to Management

    Keep growing the internal talent pool and continue to invest in your talented employees You have a lot of loyal team members who want to keep contributing and growing their careers. Balance that with more support staff and you'll super charge your current team even more!

    AMN Healthcare Response

    Oct 18, 2018 – AMN Healthcare Response Team

    At AMN, we absolutely strive for team member empowerment and career growth. Thank you for your valuable feedback!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Account Representative (CAR)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AMN Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    -Located in beautiful Del Mar
    -work with very talented people
    -work/life balance
    -people are proud and happy to be there
    -easy to move around company

    Cons

    -pay is lower compared to other companies
    -old technology
    -slow to adapt/move

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay according to industry average

    AMN Healthcare Response

    Oct 8, 2018 – AMN Healthcare Response Team

    Thank you for sharing about your experience as a team member with AMN! We are thrilled that you enjoy our culture of professional development, and your comments on pay will be shared with leadership.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMN Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flexibility, atmosphere, benefits, culture, management

    Cons

    Compensation, advancement, margin expectations, cold calling

    AMN Healthcare Response

    Sep 19, 2018 – AMN Healthcare Response Team

    Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your experience at AMN!


  5. Helpful (4)

    "The Best Corporate Environment for Passionate Hard Working Individuals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Supervisor in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMN Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Amazing, Philanthropic, Relatable CEO
    Passionate, Talented Team Members and Leaders
    Culture Based Company (It’s not just what you do, but how you do it that matters.)
    A lot of investment in continuous improvements from process and procedures, to technology and talent
    Warm Inviting (Corporate) Close-knit Team Environment
    Infinite Opportunities for Growth and Development
    Beautiful Building in Carmel Valley with Parking Structure, Onsite Cafe, Starbucks, Complimentary Fresh Fruits, Coffee and Tea
    Supervisors are seated amongst team members to foster connection and constant communication
    Business Casual Work Attire and Jeans on Friday's, Your Birthday, and Your AMN Anniversary :)
    Recent opportunities to telecommute one day a week (criteria varies by department/team)
    It’s never boring, there's always something new to learn and no day is the same as any other. Expectations are VERY HIGH so when you’re recognized for doing well it’s more meaningful and rewarding. When you don’t meet expectations you’re given guidance and resources on how to improve. If you ask for feedback/support/guidance/mentorship you’ll get it, and like most things, you’ll get out of your experience here what you put in to it. If you invest your time, effort and dedication, the company will reciprocate.

    Cons

    The Commute. Unless you live in the immediate vicinity, traffic is painful. The recent option to work one day a week from home is the BEST incentive of all time! (Thank you, Susan and team!)
    Not a Con, but rather a candid word to future applicants: This Company isn’t for everyone. If compensation is your primary motivator, you don’t adapt well to change and you prefer to manage tasks vs. lead people—you won’t be happy here and you won’t be successful.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for the telecommuting option once a week; the immediate improvement to Life/Work balance has been phenomenal.
    Please continue the efforts to strengthen our leadership teams, particularly at the Supervisor level. We are always looking for new tools and ways to improve; workshops like LEAD, Leaders Lounge and Leading Performance have proved very valuable and appreciated. The AMN difference is positively palpable—the efforts, energy, resources and integrity that fuel AMN are a welcomed change from other Corporate environments. And for those who think the grass is greener elsewhere, I challenge them to spend a year in someone else’s lawn and report back, or rather come back, since they always do!

    AMN Healthcare Response

    Sep 19, 2018 – AMN Healthcare Response Team

    We absolutely strive for team member empowerment and engagement with our culture! Thank you for sharing about your experience at AMN Healthcare.


  6. "Recruitment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Hands down the best culture a large company could support. People love their jobs.

    Smart, hard working, committed team members that you enjoy working with so much that they become true friends. That coupled with a meaningful purpose, and the ability to flex the business and hear employee ideas that support the purpose.

    Cons

    Really none except the traffic and thus requires that you write 20 words. Maybe the possibility of a 4, 10 hr shift option?

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support your teams members and innovate consistently. Thank you for being great!

    AMN Healthcare Response

    Sep 19, 2018 – AMN Healthcare Response Team

    We are glad to know that you enjoy AMN Healthcare's culture and have made meaningful friendships during your time here!


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Account manager/Avantas LLC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at AMN Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    There isn't a lot of pros. See cons

    Cons

    There is a very toxic culture of this is how we always have done it. An intolerance to change or to see others point of view is stunting the growth. The leaders are unprofessional and caddy. If you don't fit their mold you are cast as an outsider. Leaders don't know how to lead.

    Advice to Management

    Replace your leadership.

  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMN Healthcare full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Extremely good at attracting awesome individuals; getting them in the right place. Leader in the industry

    Cons

    if only they could be Extremely good at attracting awesome individuals; getting them in the right place. Leader in the industry - oh wait, they are

    Advice to Management

    be Extremely good at attracting awesome individuals; getting them in the right place. Leader in the industry

    AMN Healthcare Response

    Sep 19, 2018 – AMN Healthcare Response Team

    Thank you for the 5 star review!


  9. Helpful (3)

    "Hypocrisy through and through"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Staff
    Former Employee - IT Staff
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AMN Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I can't come up with one

    Cons

    It's hard to get an honest answer to a question. Appearances matter more than reality.

    Advice to Management

    So, why does a company with a code of ethics valuing respect use humiliating and onerous performance improvement plans to drive people out? Humiliating someone politely isn't respectful.


  10. Helpful (5)

    "Dear Susan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Talent Acquisition in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Talent Acquisition in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AMN Healthcare (Less than a year)

    Pros

    A caring CEO who truly cares about others and AMN's impact on their Clients and society at large.

    Cons

    Very dishonest leadership within HR who are willing to destroy the careers of those they dislike because of candid feedback about tactics that have a negative impact on current employees.

    Advice to Management

    Susan, if you would like to confidentially hear my story please reply. If not I am willing to leave my opinion in this forum and go my own way!

    AMN Healthcare Response

    Oct 8, 2018 – AMN Healthcare Response Team

    Our CEO Susan Salka always welcomes direct feedback from our team members. We have forwarded your message to her, and she would like to invite you to reach out to her directly so she can hear your... More


Showing 471 of 522 reviews
Reset Filters