AMN Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor

AMN Healthcare Reviews

Updated December 11, 2018
481 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
AMN Healthcare President, CEO, and Director Susan R. Salka
Susan R. Salka
289 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "This is also a really great place for women" (in 23 reviews)

  • "Great work life balance/ Competitive salary / great" (in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance is absolutely non existent" (in 12 reviews)

  • "Relatively low pay and benefits are pricey" (in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Respiratory Therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at AMN Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Fast and efficient with employment placement.

    Cons

    Sometimes pay versus cost of living in certain areas weren’t negotiable when it needed to be.

    AMN Healthcare Response

    Oct 18, 2018 – AMN Healthcare Response Team

    We are glad to know that you have enjoyed working with AMN Healthcare and we have read your feedback about negotiating compensation. Your comments will be shared with leadership.


  2. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Review Analyst in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Clinical Review Analyst in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMN Healthcare full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Pays well, incredible leadership, healthy environment, good benefits, great community outreach.

    Cons

    N/A -- There isn't a lot of room for promotion, but there is a lot of career growth opportunity.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for everything you do!

  3. "Liked my colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AMN Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    I pretty much liked most of my colleagues.

    Cons

    It can be a fairly fast paced culture. Additionally, employee experience seems dependent on how good a leader your direct manager is. The leadership quality is hit or miss.

    Advice to Management

    More leadership training for consistent leader quality across departments

    AMN Healthcare Response

    Dec 5, 2018 – AMN Healthcare Response Team

    We are glad to know that you enjoyed your colleagues at AMN, and agree that team member enrichment is dependent on leadership quality. Thank you for sharing feedback with our team.


  4. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AMN Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Great corporate culture and a nice cafeteria

    Cons

    Not great for ladder climbers
    Often work 10-12 hour days during the winter

    AMN Healthcare Response

    Dec 5, 2018 – AMN Healthcare Response Team

    Thank you sharing about your positive experience with AMN Healthcare's culture and amenities in the San Diego office! Our goal is to foster team member growth and work-life balance, and your comments... More


  5. "Too conservative to keep good employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruiter in San Diego, CA
    Former Employee - Senior Recruiter in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AMN Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    coworkers and leaders Are cool but that doesn’t pay the bills

    Cons

    They use the excuse that having 35 travelers on assignment is very hard to do at other companies which is why they pay less. They justify paying a lot less for the same revenue as another company it’s bull. Employees feel used and overworked. Having 35 travelers is hard even at AMN. In addition to that they tax all commission as a bonus instead of commission.

    Advice to Management

    Advice to CFO, pay employees more. Top performers should be getting top performing money.


  6. "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMN Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced, Culture is amazing

    Cons

    Dealing with nurses and their problems can be draining

    AMN Healthcare Response

    Dec 5, 2018 – AMN Healthcare Response Team

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear that you enjoy AMN Healthcare's innovative culture.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Recruiter in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Recruiter in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMN Healthcare full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great leadership. They understand work- family balance. Lots of jobs for nurses and allied health to choose from. I like the contests they offer recruiters to earn additional money.!

    Cons

    Commissions are the lowest in the industry. Unless you have over 60 nurses, you can make good money. Most of companies pay weekly commissions in what I make in a month.

    Advice to Management

    Stay more competitive in the market. Health insurance for family coverage is on the higher end.

    AMN Healthcare Response

    Dec 5, 2018 – AMN Healthcare Response Team

    We are thrilled that you are having a great experience with leadership, work-life balance, and career satisfaction at AMN! We have noted your comments on recruiter commissions, and will share these... More

  8. Helpful (2)

    "AMN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AMN Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Fun place to work and meet young people
    Everyone gets paid the same
    Collaborative environment

    Cons

    Management tries to sugar coat the crappy job opportunities
    C suite makes all the money

    AMN Healthcare Response

    Dec 5, 2018 – AMN Healthcare Response Team

    Our goal is to foster team member growth and collaboration at AMN. We are happy to know that you can rely on your team members, and we have noted your feedback on job opportunities.


  9. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMN Healthcare full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    People are wonderful, never a dull day, learn a lot

    Cons

    run very lean, have to do more with less.

    AMN Healthcare Response

    Dec 5, 2018 – AMN Healthcare Response Team

    Thank you for dedicating more than 10 years to the organization! We are hopeful that you will continue to choose AMN as you develop your career.


  10. "Talented, Caring Team!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMN Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Great opportunity to build your resume and work with some of the most talented, innovative and caring team members in the industry. Contributing to healthcare delivery solutions makes me feel that my job has purpose & reward beyond all the tangible benefits that come with the role.

    Cons

    The pace is not for everyone. Pay scale could be higher.

    Advice to Management

    Keep growing the internal talent pool and continue to invest in your talented employees You have a lot of loyal team members who want to keep contributing and growing their careers. Balance that with more support staff and you'll super charge your current team even more!

    AMN Healthcare Response

    Oct 18, 2018 – AMN Healthcare Response Team

    At AMN, we absolutely strive for team member empowerment and career growth. Thank you for your valuable feedback!