AMN Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor

AMN Healthcare Reviews

Updated August 19, 2017
340 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

340 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Once you find your place in the company it is a great place to be (in 20 reviews)

  • Find team members that will support you and you will grow in your career (in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • Minimal room for advancement and low pay (in 19 reviews)

  • In San Diego that is hard to do unless you have a partner or another income (in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Credentialing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AMN Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Decent people to work with. nice building and remodeled cafeteria.okay job to start with. decent work amenities.

    Cons

    They act like they care for their employees but they never really take action upon it. The cafeteria is nice but the food isn't that great. The growth opportunity isn't there and is very political. They like the suck ups not the hard workers.

    AMN Healthcare Response

    May 18, 2017 – AMN Healthcare Response Team

    Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. It is important to us that team members have support from their leaders, and I’d like to hear more about your experience. If you’re open... More


  2. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior, Sales and Staffing Manager in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Senior, Sales and Staffing Manager in San Diego, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AMN Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Lots of data and independence

    Cons

    Pay, benefits and leadership. Actions don't match their words.

    Advice to Management

    customer service should be a priority
    Pay employees at market rates to increase retention
    Focus on leadership not management

    AMN Healthcare Response

    Apr 19, 2017 – AMN Healthcare Response Team

    Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. It’s great to see that you enjoy the independence of your position. I’d like to discuss your concerns with you in more detail. If you’d... More

  3. "Good first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMN Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Nice office location, hardworking people, opportunities to move around if you do your best and work with your supervisor

    Cons

    The workload and stress levels can be high especially in certain departments

    Advice to Management

    Continue working to address turnover

    AMN Healthcare Response

    Apr 4, 2017 – AMN Healthcare Response Team

    Thanks so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We truly value what our team members have to say!


  4. "Former employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    My department was supportive as far a work related. Social if you don't fit in, you'll be miserable. I believe the CEO cares about it's employees. Not much else to say.

    Cons

    If you are an introvert, you'll not like it. Company is a bit like 'Glee' with the extra work day events. Too damn many, frankly. Participation isn't mandatory but you'll be shunned if you don't. Some people just want to work, be cordial and go home. Mostly young people so it's very high schoolish. No I don't want to go to happy hour nor do I wish to have a weekly alcohol toast and with a speech on how I appreciated my coworker for the week who hasn't kind . Very corny and fake.

    Advice to Management

    Accept everyone's personality. Management can be passive aggressive. Stop making others feel uncomfortable just because they are not bubbly and don't laugh at your jokes. We come here to work not for your entertainment. Not all fit into a cookie cutter personality. Learn to be tolerant.

    AMN Healthcare Response

    Apr 19, 2017 – AMN Healthcare Response Team

    Thank you for your comments. We’re glad to see that your department was supportive, and do understand that not everyone wants to participate in all of the events offered at AMN. We value your... More


  5. "Operations Team Member - San Diego"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMN Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Team environment, promote hard work, create your own career path if you are willing to put in the effort, good benefits, strong leaders. They value strong work ethic and will push you to do your best. Challenging work and can learn a lot from the experience of upper managements work experience. Can be high workload at times but understand nature of the business.

    Cons

    Corporate so can feel a bit large at times but overall do their best to not make you feel like a number. Opportunity to help team members understand more how other departments work. Lots of work to do but sometimes can get it all done in a workday.

    Advice to Management

    Stay involved and remain transparent.

    AMN Healthcare Response

    Apr 4, 2017 – AMN Healthcare Response Team

    Thank you for your candid feedback! We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and are glad to hear you enjoy working at AMN.


  6. "Okay to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credentialing Analyst in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Credentialing Analyst in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AMN Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Nice people for the most part

    Cons

    low pay for industry

    Advice to Management

    they have no idea what is going on in the day to day of their employees, they continually let production throw analyst under the bus

    AMN Healthcare Response

    May 8, 2017 – AMN Healthcare Response Team

    Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I am glad to hear that you like your colleagues. If you’d like to set up a time to talk through your concerns in more detail, please... More


  7. Helpful (7)

    "You are just a number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Manager in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Recruiting Manager in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AMN Healthcare full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Nice co-workers, cafe & small gym in the building.

    Cons

    Micro Management, they treat you like a number all the way up to the CEO & HR. The pay is also really low for recruitment. High turn over (new recruiters are starting every 5-6wks!)

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees like humans and keep the management style consistent. Please hire people into management & director roles that actually have the experience. Not someone that worked retail prior to being a recruiter for a year.

    AMN Healthcare Response

    Apr 26, 2017 – AMN Healthcare Response Team

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. I want all team members to know that they are valued and would like to discuss this with you. Please reach out to me directly at Landry.Seedig@AMNHealthcare.com... More

  8. Helpful (13)

    "Credentialing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Analyst in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Credit Analyst in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AMN Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good amenities like gym, cafe, free lunches, all of which you could do with out though....Very good CEO but technically poor

    Cons

    Upper management not aware of the growing abrasive culture of other departments due to rapid company growth

    Advice to Management

    CEO should go undercover to see the inconsistencies happening in her company. AMN has lost a lot of very good people broken by ignorant leaders but masters of politics.

    AMN Healthcare Response

    Mar 28, 2017 – AMN Healthcare Response Team

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments about working at AMN and are disappointed to hear that you are unhappy. We do not take your concerns lightly and I would like to speak with... More


  9. Helpful (15)

    "Hospital Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hospital Account Manager in Del Mar, CA
    Former Employee - Hospital Account Manager in Del Mar, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AMN Healthcare full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The only good thing I have to say now is I am thankful for the amazing friendships I have made over the last 10 years while working at AMN. There's a few good ones left but they too are looking to get out now.

    Cons

    Once upon a time this company truly cared about their employees. Not anymore. I gave my life to this company for 10 years and they completely chewed me up and spit me out. I am not a disgruntled employee. I am broken hearted over the undeserved treatment I received. I'm not the only one. It seems AMN is finding any excuse to "get rid" of a lot of women over 40 who are at the top of their pay scale and who have been with the company 10 or more years. It happened to me and many others in the last year, over and over. Then they claim "we're an At Will company, we can do what we want". Oh, then they will deny your unemployment but don't worry, you will have a hearing and the judge will rule in your favor as AMN's reason for denial will be unfounded. They are getting to greedy and too big for their britches. Also, HR is also not for you, but management only.

    Advice to Management

    Stop the arrogance and favoritism. It's revolting. Top leadership, starting wth the CEO, start paying attention to those you have put into top leadership roles. You have some pretty nasty, mean and awful people working for you and people are afraid to speak up because those who do, eventually get the axe and that is a fact. I used to think my life wouldn't be complete without AMN. I have since learned there is a much bigger world outside of you and you, AMN, are not very well liked or respected in the business community.
    Wake up, slow down and start treating your employees with respect again.

    AMN Healthcare Response

    Apr 3, 2017 – AMN Healthcare Response Team

    We take your concerns very seriously and will review your comments with management. If you would like to share more information, please reach out to me directly at Julie.Fletcher@AMNHealthcare.com... More


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Recruiter - RPO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter RPO in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Recruiter RPO in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AMN Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    AMN offers a great culture, leadership, vertical/horizontal mobility among other things. This is an excellent place to cultivate ones own aspirations.

    Cons

    The cons are likely associated more to volatility in the market more than anything else. Much of the earning potential as a recruiter are functioned solely around the sales teams ability to acquire clientele.

    Advice to Management

    Level the commission structure further and invest more into the sales team to grow our client base more in RPO.

    AMN Healthcare Response

    Apr 4, 2017 – AMN Healthcare Response Team

    We appreciate your feedback and are glad you like the culture and the career opportunities available at AMN. We will be sure to share your comments with management.


Showing 340 of 380 reviews
Reset Filters