KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

AMRI

Engaged Employer

AMRI

Add a Review

AMRI Reviews

Updated May 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
44%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
AMRI CEO John Ratliff
John Ratliff
30 Ratings
Pros
  • "You work with great people who care about you(in 20 reviews)

  • "benefits day one, easy going culture, good people(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Too busy; less work-life balance(in 17 reviews)

  • "long hours, lots of evening work(in 15 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee
      Featured Review

      Excellent Place to Work

      Sep 24, 2020 - Research Scientist I 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great People, Good pay, and a friendly work environment

      Cons

      Long hours are required in most research positions

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fast pace environment with good growth opportunities

      Nov 16, 2020 - Quality Control in Burlington, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people at AMRI are great with work with, the team all have the same drive to ensure we deliver high-quality drug product to our client and their patients.

      Cons

      sometimes the environment maybe to fast-paced

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A rewarding start in in industrial science

      May 13, 2021 - Research Scientist II in Buffalo, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Co-workers. 3 weeks vacation time. Excellent supervisors

      Cons

      Emphasis on raw productivity rather than meeting customer needs.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      AMRI Response

      Community Manager

      Thank you for your review. We are passionate about creating a communicative and supportive work environment and are happy to hear of your experience. We appreciate your feedback and all the work that you do for AMRI.

    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Genuinely Legit Especially for the Area

      Mar 1, 2021 - Microbiologist I in Albuquerque, NM
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working at AMRI changed my life for the better, no joke. They payed quite well and offered experience that would be impossible to get otherwise in the region. I met some wonderful people, some even became friends outside of work. The job taught me things about life as well as about working in the pharma industry. Had fun, made bank.

      Cons

      Long hours and the work can really grind you down physically and perhaps emotionally too. You need to have fortitude. Some rather difficult personalities exist here as they do everywhere. Again fortitude. Honestly cons are minimal and common to most places you might find yourself.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      AMRI Response

      Community Manager

      Thank you for your review. As a CMDO, it is the nature of our business to give our team members many opportunities to work on new types of projects to help broaden their experience and further their careers. We are heightening our focus on leadership development with seminars, focus groups, and training, and we will continue to do so moving forward. Again, thank you for your feedback.

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Would give 0 stars if I could

      Feb 15, 2021 - Research Scientist in Buffalo, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Peers are great, helpful and friendly. Good place to gain some experience right out of college.

      Cons

      After AMRI was purchase by Private Equity everything went down hill fast. The culture changed almost overnight. Employees went from enjoying their work and feeling appreciated to not. When employees would bring up issues or concerns they are told that they are not true and not to talk about them. AMRI Buffalo, handled COVID19 terribly in my opinion. They forced 9am-5pm employees to either work 6am-2pm or 3-pm-11pm and many were not given a choice which shift to work. They told us to be thankful we still had jobs and our only option was to work our assigned shift or quit. Buffalo location acts as a revolving door, which puts a lot of stress and additional burden on the employees who are constantly training new people and still expected to put out the same amount work as if they are not training. Poor leadership at Buffalo, NY Not a place to build a career Company lacks direction Salary is low considering all the extra hours worked.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good pay. Unorganized management

      Mar 18, 2021 - Production Technician in Albuquerque, NM
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay was good. It was cool knowing that I was a part of helping sick people

      Cons

      Management was very unorganized and was reactivate rather then proactive about fixing issues

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      AMRI Response

      Community Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your experience. As a CMDO, it is the nature of our business to give our team members many opportunities to work on new types of projects to further their experience and career. We have heightened our focus on leadership development with seminars, focus groups, and training, and we will continue to do so moving forward. Again, thank you for your review.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Exciting Times

      Jan 25, 2021 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company and leadership has completely changed in the last few years, all for the positive. The level of integration, organization, focus on employee engagement and development and capitalizing on our core strengths has set AMRI in a great spot for a strong future and rapid growth. Exciting time to be a part of it.

      Cons

      The CDMO space is naturally very fast paced and with COVID related therapies and vaccines, it's even busier. However, all worthwhile being a part of supporting the world in tackling COVID along with all the other life saving and enhancing pharmaceuticals we develop and manufacture.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Worked with some very smart people but it will consume your life

      Feb 3, 2021 - Production Manager in Springfield, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with cool chemistry, making unique products, working with some very smart people, people in middle management smart and great to work with

      Cons

      Local upper management belittles ground floor employees, constant yelling, threats of being replaced, its all your fault even if it happened on a different shift, we are doing it this way because this is how its always been done...

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to start career

      Mar 15, 2021 - Senior Research Scientist in Albany, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Will get a lot of experience. Good place to start off

      Cons

      Work life balance, expected to work a lot of hours. Work culture geared towards working many many hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      AMRI Response

      Community Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is always our goal to try to balance the needs of our employees with business goals, and we are sorry to hear this was not your reality. We will also keep in mind the experience you have shared as we continue to grow and evolve. Again, thank you for your review.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Nice place to work

      Mar 16, 2021 - Global Procurement 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They offer advancement within the organization

      Cons

      We have started to lose sight of the employee as a person and focus on the $$

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      AMRI Response

      Community Manager

      Thank you for your review. As a CMDO, it is our goal to provide our team members many opportunities to work on new types of projects to further their experience and career. We understand that strong leaders are at the foundation of any successful organization and in an effort to rectify less than positive sentiments, we have taken a heightened focus on evolving our leaders and we will continue to do so moving forward. Thank you, again, for sharing.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 306 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with AMRI Job Seekers

    Research Scientist I
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Senior Director of Operations
    Learn About the Job

    Work at AMRI? Share Your Experiences

    AMRI logo
    or