Cover image for APCO Worldwide
Logo

APCO Worldwide

Engaged Employer

APCO Worldwide

Add a Review

APCO Worldwide Reviews

Updated Nov 27, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 318 of over 456 reviews
4.1
82% Recommend to a Friend
91% Approve of CEO

Found 312 of over 456 reviews

4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
APCO Worldwide Chief Executive Officer Brad Staples (no image)
Brad Staples
124 Ratings

The latest conversations about Consulting

Join the conversation on

Consulting

1y

works at 

McKinsey & Company

Consultants of Fishbowl, I'm 31 and have ~$2m. No kids, student loans, etc... I'm also getting CTL'd. If you were in my position, would you scramble to get a new position or retire early?

399

132 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Gender

This rating reflects the overall rating of APCO Worldwide and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Love APCO

    Nov 17, 2022 - Project Assistant in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People are great and I love the working environment

    Cons

    Remote work can cause communication issues

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Incredible culture

    Nov 3, 2022 - Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Collaborative space where you are able to engage with different levels of the company, they pay their interns and provide mentoring.

    Cons

    You get out what you put in , in the hybrid world we live in and with an international company there is work to be done outside the 9-5 timeframe.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the APCO Worldwide team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    smart people and good culture

    Oct 7, 2022 - Senior Consultant in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    overall very smart people and intellectually challenging. Opportunities for interesting client work on wide range of issues

    Cons

    nothing really, it's generally a good firm

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    APCO Worldwide Response

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us! Best wishes, Semhar Tesfay, Talent Director, North America

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company to work for

    Sep 15, 2022 - Senior Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work culture. A lot of freedom to be staffed on projects that interest you. Fully remote with option to come into office. Fridays and Mondays off for holidays (four-day weekends).

    Cons

    Lower salaries than other firms in industry.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    APCO Worldwide Response

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback with us. Glad to hear you are enjoying your time with us! Best, Semhar Tesfay, Talent Director, North America

  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    A place of camaraderie and growth

    Sep 9, 2022 - Senior Associate Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked at APCO for three years and recently left to pursue a pretty major opportunity and career jump in a different business sector. As I'm reflecting on my time at APCO, I realized a few very special things about working there. 1. The depth of professional experience you can get at APCO is uncommon. It is a small to medium size global firm that actually operates as such, opening the doors to working with people across the network on projects that are interesting and challenging. It's a pretty lean organization, which means that there are ample opportunities to step up and stretch your skills. It wasn't always comfortable or easy, but working there helped me realized how much I was actually capable of and led me in directions that never occurred to me as possibilities. 2. If you want to make friends, this is an excellent place to work. Colleagues are smart, welcoming, and willing to build relationships. I worked in both the Washington DC and New York offices, and there are different vibes depending on where you work, but you can definitely build strong social and professional networks. I have met some of my best friends and mentors through APCO and I realize that you're not always guaranteed to have that in your job. If that isn't what you are looking for at work, that is also okay and you can still succeed, but for me it was a major benefit. 3. When I joined APCO, it took me a while to find my footing and establish myself as a trusted voice and thought partner. By the time I left, I found myself in the driver's seat of some major global projects and was able to have discussions with global and regional leadership about the work and strategy. I gravitate towards the entrepreneurial aspect of the culture and found ways to make it work for me, but also felt consistently supported by my manager. I had the space to try new things, iterate and go back to the drawing board if ideas didn't pan out as originally intended. So much of a person's experience at work is based on their manager, and I was very fortunate with mine. Did I always get what I wanted? Not a chance, but I always felt like I had an advocate.

    Cons

    1. Time is money and it is the one thing there will never be enough of. Agencies run on accounting for people's time, which creates operational stress for those doing the work. Burnout is real and there aren't always effective strategies for dealing with the workload. If you are on projects that have difficult clients, that can lead to additional time pressures and expectations that are difficult to push back on. I'm not sure that is a problem unique to APCO, but it is a reality of working in client service. 2. It seems like there is a 18 month-2 year window for major projects during which it is easy to get the attention and resources of the firm. After that time, focus shifts and it becomes difficult to keep once-important initiatives going. Yes, priorities shift, but it'd be great to see the long-term business strategy remain constant in some areas. 3. Teach people how to manage. Direct manager relationships are so important for the employee experience and there's tons of resources but no guidance on how to be good in the role. I think the performance management system has room for improvements, and adding metrics for management and development would be a game changer.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    APCO Worldwide Response

    Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts and feedback with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for all of your contributions. Wishing you all the best with this exciting new career move. Best, Semhar Tesfay, Talent Director, North America

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Place to Grow!

    Sep 1, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Strong Culture - Amazing colleagues - Exciting client work - Each day is different - Through review process, great place to grow as a professional

    Cons

    - Very fast pace - Lack of clear structure at times - Over communication but this is expected working at a communications company

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    APCO Worldwide Response

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts and feedback with us and we are glad to hear you are enjoying APCO life. It is greatly appreciated. Best, Semhar Tesfay, Talent Director, North America

  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great work

    Aug 28, 2022 - Senior Associate Director in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great client work, flexible, great coworkers

    Cons

    A lot of fully virtual workers

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    APCO Worldwide Response

    Thanks so much for your great feedback and for your contributions over these many years and we hope many more to come. Best, Semhar Tesfay, Talent Director, North America

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Still going strong

    Jul 31, 2022 - Senior Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Strategic focus Important client assignments Ability to craft your own career Smart and caring colleagues

    Cons

    Significant recent departures Thin mid-ranks

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    APCO Worldwide Response

    Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and feedback with us and for your contribution to our firm. Best, Semhar Tesfay, Talent Director, North America.

  10. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great place to work

    Jul 20, 2022 - Associate Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nicest, most collaborative colleagues and really impactful projects!

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    APCO Worldwide Response

    Thank you so much for sharing your feedback! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time at APCO. Best wishes, Alison Chisnell, Senior Director, Global Talent.

  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Culture, Endless Opportunities, Global Reach

    Jul 13, 2022 - Director in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Empowering and positive culture, appropriately resourced staff with emphasis on diversity and inclusivity, intentional investment by senior leadership in your growth personally and professionally

    Cons

    Impressive growth of the firm can result in temporary challenges with capacity

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    APCO Worldwide Response

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate it. Best, Semhar Tesfay, Talent Director, North America.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 312 Reviews
</>Embed

APCO Worldwide Reviews FAQs

APCO Worldwide has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5, based on over 456 reviews left anonymously by employees. 82% of employees would recommend working at APCO Worldwide to a friend and 81% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 13% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, APCO Worldwide employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.5 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at APCO Worldwide. This rating has improved by 6% over the last 12 months.

82% of APCO Worldwide employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated APCO Worldwide 3.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.2 for culture and values and 4.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at APCO Worldwide to be benefits, culture, career development and the cons to be senior leadership, management, compensation.

Popular Careers with APCO Worldwide Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at APCO Worldwide? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

APCO Worldwide Photos

+ Add Photo
APCO Worldwide photo of: Chicago Happy Hour
APCO Worldwide photo of: Greater China team Retreat
APCO Worldwide photo of: NY get together
APCO Worldwide photo of: NY get together
APCO Worldwide photo of: NY get together
APCO Worldwide photo of: NY get together
APCO Worldwide photo of: NY get together
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

APCO Worldwide Job Seekers Also Viewed

Edelman Logo
Edelman

3.5

3,289 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 456 APCO Worldwide reviews submitted anonymously by APCO Worldwide employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if APCO Worldwide is right for you.