AREVA Reviews | Glassdoor

AREVA Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 302 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
AREVA CEO Philippe Knoche
Philippe Knoche
68 Ratings
Pros
  • "De nombreux avantages et un bon cadre de travail(in 26 reviews)

  • "(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "The nuclear industry faces mortal threat from renewables (verrrrry low marginal cost)(in 20 reviews)

  • "(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Enjoyed my time with this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at AREVA full-time

    Pros

    Laid back environment Flexible schedules Great benefits (3 weeks vacation plus Christmas week) Approachable management Wonderful people

    Cons

    Top-heavy management structure Very little- to no growth opportunity Nuclear industry (dying industry)

    AREVA2018-07-23
  2. "Good Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Controller in Meriden, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AREVA full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Competitive Package, good overall benefits

    Cons

    work life balance is a challenge

    Advice to Management

    Consider work life balance

    AREVA2019-01-29
  3. "Great compensation, but large company issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Lynchburg, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AREVA full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    The pay and benefits were great. Great training and structure for young engineers.

    Cons

    Big, global company issues to deal with. It was hard to get anything done quickly due to paperwork required. Sometimes SAFETY requirements weren't created with common sense. They are now required to back in to all parking spaces.

    Advice to Management

    None, really. Too much direction is coming from Europe.

    AREVA2018-11-05
  4. "Used to be great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AREVA full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Good communication, training and employee support

    Cons

    Nuclear Industry suffering since Fukushima disaster

    AREVA2018-10-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good company, but the industry has challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Lynchburg, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AREVA full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Company takes care of its high performance employees. I have been fairly treated for the ~30 years I have been here

    Cons

    The leadership seems blinded to market realities. The nuclear industry faces mortal threat from renewables (verrrrry low marginal cost). We desperately need disruptive innovation beyond the blue sky stuff of academia and DOE.

    Advice to Management

    See cons

    AREVA2018-04-17
  6. "Civil Structural Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in Naperville, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AREVA for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Interesting work in the power industry. Office had a very friendly atmosphere.

    Cons

    Nuclear market is under financial stress and company was downsizing the organization after many years.

    Advice to Management

    Naperville office is now closed. I believe the Lynchburg headquarters is be mainly a fuels and services supplier.

    AREVA2018-04-30
  7. "Slow and ponderous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Mountain View, CA

    I worked at AREVA full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Smart and motivated coworkers were great to work with

    Cons

    Takes forever to complete projects and lots of red tape due to working at a nuclear

    AREVA2018-02-26
  8. "Alliance Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Glen Allen, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AREVA full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I was allowed to use my people/team building skills to Manage a number of Fleet wide contracts that we had with Dominion Energy

    Cons

    I didn't have any, I throughly enjoyed all 16.5 years I spent with AREVA

    Advice to Management

    You really need to put a full time person back at the office I worked in. It would pay huge dividends

    AREVA2018-01-27
  9. "Areva review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AREVA full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work at

    Cons

    I do not have any downsides to mention

    AREVA2018-01-22
  10. "AREVA Richland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AREVA full-time

    Pros

    Great employees and mid-level managers

    Cons

    Poor plant manager and employee concerns process

    AREVA2017-12-13
Found 302 reviews