AREVA "nuclear industry" Reviews | Glassdoor

AREVA Employee Reviews about "nuclear industry"

Updated Oct 15, 2018

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
AREVA CEO Philippe Knoche
Philippe Knoche
83 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 28 reviews)

  • "ticket restaurant et salaire et conditions de travail(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "The nuclear industry faces mortal threat from renewables (verrrrry low marginal cost)(in 21 reviews)

  • "We are French owned and always seem to play second fiddle to the main facilities in the mother land(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "nuclear industry"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Procurement Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AREVA

    Pros

    -Very positive working environment where everyone wants to help each other out. -Great internship program that prevents from boredom of not being assigned enough day-to-day tasks. -Challenging projects and presentations that make you step outside of your comfort zone.

    Cons

    The overall forecast of the Nuclear Industry is not very bright. Not very positive foreseeable future in this

    Continue reading
    AREVA2017-11-16
  2. "Used to be great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AREVA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good communication, training and employee support

    Cons

    Nuclear Industry suffering since Fukushima disaster

    AREVA2018-10-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good company, but the industry has challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Lynchburg, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AREVA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company takes care of its high performance employees. I have been fairly treated for the ~30 years I have been here

    Cons

    The leadership seems blinded to market realities. The nuclear industry faces mortal threat from renewables (verrrrry low marginal cost). We desperately need disruptive innovation beyond the blue sky stuff of academia and DOE.

    Continue reading
    AREVA2018-04-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Principal Mechanical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at AREVA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pretty good compensation. Highly safety conscious culture.

    Cons

    Nuclear industry is in downward spiral and company constantly shrinking.

    AREVA2017-11-29
  5. "Mechanical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AREVA full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work. People are friendly and have become a great big family. Pay is good and job security is great.

    Cons

    Within the nuclear industry there is always a belt tightening going on. We are French owned and always seem to play second fiddle to the main facilities in the mother land.

    Continue reading
    AREVA2017-10-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "It was great while it lasted!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Improvement in Marlborough, MA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AREVA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I had been there a long time and I'd developed some really nice relationships. I had five weeks of vacation along with one week off at Christmas time. I do miss that.

    Cons

    The nuclear industry is really not doing well right now, therefore, the company isn't doing really well in the United States.

    Continue reading
    AREVA2017-06-08
  7. "Mechanical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AREVA

    Pros

    AREVA is an excellent company, and depending on the division, a stable position. Salary is comparable to the rest of the industry

    Cons

    The nuclear industry has been waiting to hit it's renaissance for many decades. Growth in nuclear is a major concern

    Continue reading
    AREVA2016-08-31
  8. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at AREVA full-time

    Pros

    For the most part the company tries to do what is in the best interest of the employees. There is extensive breadth and depth of positions.

    Cons

    The nuclear industry as a whole is facing difficult times. The company is hampered by the extensive oversight by the parent company.

    AREVA2016-07-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Been here awhile"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AREVA

    Pros

    The people here are great!

    Cons

    The nuclear industry is readjusting... and AREVA is going through a difficult time trying to realign with it.

    Continue reading
    AREVA2016-02-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Engineer in Wilmington, NC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AREVA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for. Good place to learn and provide innovative solutions to help customers.

    Cons

    Bad economics for the nuclear industry hurt the company. Management lost its vision. Uncertainty in the market place forced good employees to leave. Management not doing a good job at raising the morals of the employees.

    AREVA2016-02-11
Found 21 reviews