ASM International NV Reviews | Glassdoor

ASM International NV Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 81 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
ASM International NV CEO Chuck del Prado
Chuck del Prado
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "ASM has a lot of great people to work with and work for(in 7 reviews)

  • "Some very smart technical people work at ASM(in 4 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "ASM - Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Engineer in Phoenix, AZ

    I have been working at ASM International NV full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent health benefit plan, good compensation. Challenging work at leading edge of semiconductor process technology.

    Cons

    Projects can sometimes require long hours, as is the case with most tech companies. Management helps direct employees when priorities change.

    Advice to Management

    Keep data management systems up-to-date.

    ASM International NV2019-05-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Decent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Mechanical Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ASM International NV full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent salary and perks, location ideal, travel depends on group

    Cons

    Too much to handle /work, less work life balance, people keep leaving n coming back

    Advice to Management

    ease up the ramping

    ASM International NV2019-06-20
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Don't join this bad one"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ASM International NV full-time

    Pros

    Not much to say about Pros, nothing

    Cons

    ASM has turned into a hostile work environment and has laid off good people as a scare tactic for those that remain. Until changes are made, ASM is a sinking ship.

    ASM International NV2019-07-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Installation Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Installation Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ASM International NV full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Potential over time as needed on installation projects.

    Cons

    Limited pay raises due to future bonus programs

    ASM International NV2019-06-11
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Toxic working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Asia, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ASM International NV full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Tried to upgrade skill with hiring top mgmt from direct competitor with high pay

    Cons

    Very political working environment No standard SOPs, customer request priority Lots of quality issue not settled No engagement from senior mgmt Hire and fire is a norm

    Advice to Management

    Those at the top is not always right, employee just don't dare to speak up.

    ASM International NV2019-07-02
  6. Helpful (2)

    "The truth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ASM International NV full-time

    Pros

    Great people and the pay is good

    Cons

    Favoritisms, management is poor, hours required to work is unreasonable. So happy I moved on

    ASM International NV2019-05-21
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Not a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ASM International NV full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is decent. Healthcare benefits are above standard. Employees and dependents are provided a discount each year providing you have an annual exam. Quarterly fitness reimbursement up to $300 per year. There are some good employees that care about doing what is best for ASM.

    Cons

    Professional development is non-existent. Incumbent employees overlooked for promotions to management. To attract employees from their competitors, all promos and management positions are given to new employees even if they've never managed people directly before. Very lean organization means you are working very long hours Lack of diversity especially in Executive, Sr. and middle management positions The attrition...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take the time to listen to your employees. Develop a corporate strategy and communicate to all employees. Using the same generic corporate goals each year is not a robust strategy. Take the time to understand what will work and what doesn't work. Just because your best-known method worked at a 10,000 plus size company doesn't mean you can apply the same blanket approach to a mid-size company.

    ASM International NV2019-05-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting and Rewarding Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Cave Creek, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ASM International NV full-time

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and salary compensation. Senior management is focused on key strategic customers in the marketplace which are beginning to take hold. ASM is the market leader in ALD semiconductor equipment and continues to grow in this sector

    Cons

    High expectations which can lead to a struggle with maintaining a good life work balance given the fast pace expectation on the marketplace and the semiconductor industry.

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing and striving to be #1 in the semiconductor capital equipment industry

    ASM International NV2019-04-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Work at ASM America, Inc."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ASM International NV full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people work with other. Help can be found by reaching out and talking to one another.

    Cons

    Executive levels believe ASM is a large multi-national corporation but the staffing and business tools/systems remain as a mid-level regionally divided company.

    Advice to Management

    Continuous monitoring and adjustments to pay & compensations to retain key talent, size support according to development goals.

    ASM International NV2019-04-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Vacation is not what you expect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Current Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ASM International NV full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing positive to say about ASM's vacation policy.

    Cons

    As a new employee, ASM gave me what I thought was a generous 2 weeks of vacation with an additional 1 week of flex time. Little did I know the company has mandatory plant closings 14 days out of the year. Either you use your vacation and flex time during these times, or you are not paid. This leaves me 1 whole day to use when I want. Ridiculous. On top of that, I have heard from others that you can plan vacation months...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop making employees take our vacation when it is convenient to ASM. And honor employees vacation plans, because after 60-70 hour work weeks, we deserve the time off.

    ASM International NV2019-05-13
Found 81 reviews